Customer Reviews for

Classified as Murder (Cat in the Stacks Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Charlie and Diesel on the Case Again!

    Readers who enjoyed the first book in this series, Murder Past Due, which introduced Charlie Harris, retired librarian who is a volunteer at the Athena, Mississipi library, and who has adopted a talkative Maine Coon Cat by the name of Diesel, and their sleuthing adventures, will also find this book engaging as well. Charlie has his hands full this time, with his son Sean abruptly showing up at Charlie's, but remaining tight-lipped about why he's suddenly decided to take a hiatus from his job in Houston, and an eccentric library patron asking him to take on the daunting task of cataloging a rare books collection,with the patron, Mr. Delacorte, certain that valuable books have been stolen. Charlie is chagrined when his son and cook, Azalea, both indicate misgivings about dealing with members of the Delacorte clan, and after he finds James Delacorte dead shortly afterwards, Charlie's head is swimming. There's also encounters with Kanesha, the Chief detective who was introduced in the first book, and a father/daughter legal team, the Pendergrasts, to complete a cast of interesting characters. Once again, Charlie's relationship with Diesel provides humor, as the plot takes twists and turns that keep the reader turning the pages until the satisfying conclusion. Cat lovers and those who enjoy well-written cozy mysteries will no doubt find this book an engaging read.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Purrfect Book To "Escape" Into!!

    I just have to say I LOVED THIS BOOK!! as much or more than the last.

    Miranda says the Delacorte family "eccentric", I call that an understatement, a few could come right out the same line as members of the Addams Family as they were "creepy, kooky, mysterious and spooky". Their butler really started to remind me of Lurch. These characters were spectacular!!

    The author also hits your heart with the relationship of Charlie and his son. I too love the way Diesel relates to Dante, the dog entering his feline domicile, but the way this cat reacts to other people and situations, using his cat sense, I wouldn't have expected any less. This cat is truly special in many ways.


    The book was a pure joy to read, extremely entertaining and filled with intrigue. This reviewer proclaims it the "purrfect" book to "escape into" as soon as possible. You will be "chirping" about this series to all your friends.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Berkley Prime Crime, a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging whodunit

    In Athena, Mississippi elderly eccentric James Delacorte hires librarian Charlie Harris to catalogue his prized rare book collection. He explains to Harris that he has supported his extended family even allowing them residence in his vast mansion though they show little respect to him from the heart. However, he is upset as he believes one of his relatives is stealing his valuable books.

    Harris begins his inventory while listening to the taunts of boorish family members. When one of them kills Delacorte, Charlie assumes the stolen books are the clue to who the culprit is. With the help of Diesel his Maine Coon Cat in the Stacks partner, Charlie seeks to uncover the identity of the ungrateful murderer.

    The second Cat-in-the-Stacks amateur sleuth who-done it (see Murder Past Due) is an engaging whodunit due to the male lead whose detecting is suspect (and fun). However, Charlie's relationships with his paw partner and with his adult son Sean make him seem real even with a sort of anthropomorphic dialogue between the two sleuths. Readers will enjoy this entertaining regional whodunit as the librarian and the cat work the case.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Excellent!!!

    Very enjoyable book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Completely enjoyable

    For anyone that loves cats and light hearted mysteries, this is a great series. I could not put it down, read this when you don't have to stop to go to work or do laundry. I have read 3 from this series and want to start #4.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Good cozy mystery

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Great new series. If you love cats you will love these books.

    Great new series. If you love cats you will love these books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Charlie Harris and his beloved Maine Coon Cat Diesel are up to


    Charlie Harris and his beloved Maine Coon Cat Diesel are up to the stacks in murder when a local resident is found poisoned in his library full of rare collection books. It’s up to Charlie and Diesel to sniff out the murderer. Also along for the ride is Charlie’s son Sean. Early on all we know is Sean quit his job and is living with his father. He doesn’t speak about what happened in Texas and Charlie is cautious not to push it too hard. The family Charlie is investigating via the Chief Deputy Barry’s request is the most eccentric family, everything from women dressed as Scarlett O’Hara to conniving ones that are the rudest Charlie has encountered. She has him working on the collection of rare books and collecting silent information he may over hear along with his son Sean and Sean’s pet Dante a french poodle.

    Charlie also learns he is excutor to the will of the late Mr. James Delacorte which surprises Charlie not to mention the fact of where the rare books go once they are cataloged The Athena College, which end up in Charlie’s lap twice as he is the person in charge at the college of rare books. I love going back to this author and visiting with Charlie, Diesel and all their friends. Especially love reading about the Maine Coon cat as I have never met one but they sound adorable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Great who done it. I'm still reading the book and I can not wai

    Great who done it. I'm still reading the book and I can not wait to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    How are they against God?

    I am curious; tell me more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Great book!

    Addicting. I read the first book and now I can not get enough. Great characters. Absolutely love Diesel, the cat!
    Kept me wondering until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Lilywolf ~ Original Pact Clan Introduction

    A light gray tabby shecat pads in and settles down. "Hello everyone. First off thank you for listening. Now I want to ask you a question. Do you feel as though the nook clans are actually like the books? I mean when you think about it, there are not many wars, borders, gatherings, medicine cat meetings, or a true Starclan or Dark Forest. The problem? Too many clans. It's simply impossible for these things to occur on a regular basis when new clans are made constantly and then die soon afterward. I'm not here to preach about how we should combine clans or anything like that. It wouldn't work. But I am here to invite you to join a system of clans that will actually be like the books. Horseclan (Windclan), Sandclan (Riverclan), Ashclan (Thunderclan), Northclan (Shadowclan), and Rainclan (Skyclan) have made a pact to join together and rp only with each other. There are set dates for gatherings and medicine cat meetings (they alternate every Sunday and are all day events), borders, drama that can lead to wars, seasons (which you get to vote on), and even a Starclan and Dark Forest for only THOSE clans' ancestors! We even have our own Pact Code! Sound interesting? Well you have a chance to join us! But before I tell you how to join, let me make the following things very clear: <br>
    1. The pact clans idea was made by myself but I could not do this without the cooperation of everyone in this system. Everyone has been doing a great job making this work! There have been some other attempted pact clans. I am currently working things out with them. But Horseclan, Sandclan, Ashclan, Northclan, and Rainclan are the originals. Please be respectful of all the time we have put into making this system and either join the pact clans or leave us be (this includes Bloodclan). The pact clan's goal is to create a place where anyone can rp like the warrior books! This cannot happen if people decide to copy this idea elsewhere. So please join the oringinal system and help make it fun for everyone! <br>
    2. There are only to be 5 clans, a tribe, and a possible rogue group in the pact clans system. These positions are filled so no other groups may join. If one of the current groups dies out, then and only then, will we consider adding a new group. <br>
    3. NO ONE has the right to disrupt pact clan affairs and if you do you will first be kindly asked to leave and then ignored. This is a realistic rp and we do not accept godmodding or powers. This includes any talking creature apart from cats, wings, shapeshifting, super powers, random dumb behavior.... We are based on the books so anything impossible in the books is impossible in the pact clans. <br>
    4. Please be as active as possible and if you plan on rping more than one cat, I encourage you to rp one in each clan instead of rping mulitiple in one. <br>
    Remember these guidelines and we will get along great! Learn more important information by reading The Great Pact Code before you ask to join! Please do not post in this book. Thank you! With your help, we can make this system great! I hope to see you in one of the pact clans soon! May Starclan light your path! ~ Lilywolf, Original Pact Clan Organizer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great

    I love this book! Im only ten and i loved it! I totally reccomend tthis!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Excellent

    Highly recomend...hope there are more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Charlie & Diesel did it again!!

    Couldn't put it down. The butler did it. What seems to be isn't what it is always. Well written and very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Good mystery

    Interesting tale of family dynamics at work - and a pretty good mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    another great series started

    I happen to like reading books in series, it's comfortable to get to know the characters and know there is more story to come. I also like cats, and mysteries... so I was happy to see this new series by Miranda James. I have now read both of the books in the series, and have loved them both. Diesel is a very unusual cat, and I would adopt him in a minute, even though I have 3 of my own. This book introduced Charlie's son Sean to the story line, and a female lawyer that could become a love interest. I can't wait for the next book to be released the end of January.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2