BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Clay's Quilt

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Clay's Quilt

    I heard about this author at the recommendation of Leif Enger, who wrote PEACE LIKE A RIVER. I am so glad that I did, because I believe he is one of the best Southern authors I have ever read. He made the place so real that I feel as if I have not only been to Free Creek, Kentucky, but I have actually lived there, fallen asleep listening to its creek, smelled its coal smoke. What a beautiful novel. I can't wait for his new one, which comes out in the fall, I believe. Do youself a favor and read CLAY'S QUILT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Excellent work!!!

    Love Silas House!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    other books set in appalachia are better

    This book is an easy read, but has a pretty predictable plot. Lots of regional issues are in the book, but they are not explored very deeply. If you don't live in the area or know much about Appalachia, you won't learn much from this book. There's not much character development. Clay's a good old boy, but there's not much reason to really care about him. Most of the characters are boring and predictable. I've read tons of books from southern authors and most do a much better job exploring the cultural issues of the region.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    One of the best books I haveread in 2004

    I read every day for hours all kinds of books. 'Clay's Quilt' is one of the best books that I have read in years! It is pure poetry that takes the reader to another place. The book just sucks you in to the mountains of Kentucky and its people.You wish that you were a part of their lives. Silas House can write!! I look forward to reading more from him in the future. What a gift he has!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    Take this book and read it.

    I didn't expect much out of this book after purchasing it off of the clearance rack at a local book store for two dollars. I was SO WRONG. I actually felt like I became part of the book. I have read it a few more times just for pure enjoyment. I must-read for everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Clay's Quilt

    My favorite book of the year. So moving, so beautifully written. I want everyone to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    Vivid

    This book is wonderful. I cannot wait to read his next book. House's writing is lyrical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Real Kentucky Life Celebrated

    I first heard of Mr. House while reading a publication from Eastern Kentucky University. Because we attended the same university and I also write stories that take place in my native Kentucky, I was instantly drawn to this book. After finishing the first chapter, I knew that the characters and themes Mr. House so vividly describes not only are universal but they celebrate Kentucky life in such a way that all readers can feel bluegrass between their toes and smell tobacco hanging in the barn. Wow! Thank you Mr. House for bringing these Kentuckians to life. I want to invite Easter and Clay and Alma over for supper. They are that real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2001

    The fabric of life, stitched with style

    Vividly poetic in its description of Appalachian natural resources, heartwarming and honest in its portrayal of people linked by their love for their environs and family, Clay¿s Quilt is in the top three on my ¿re-read often¿ list. In this debut novel, Silas House deftly stitches a search for understanding and love with picturesque Appalachia. Clay Sizemore is a character any reader will quickly befriend, not only because of the tragedy of losing his mother, but because Clay is a loveable young man. House¿s prose places the reader, like a close friend, beside Clay. Whether Clay is at work in the coal mine, walking the mountainside, or partying at the local honky-tonk, we are there with him, feeling the grit of coal dust in our eyes, smelling the air on Free Mountain, or throwing down a whiskey with a beer chaser on a Saturday night. There is something to be said when a reader can feel for a story¿s rogues. Even the villains and the socially challenged characters in Clay¿s Quilt are people with whom a reader will identify. House takes us into their hearts, to the places that hurt, to those hidden areas where malice and evil ferment, torment and eventually explode with terrible consequences. Life, human and natural, pulsates through the veins of this story. Long after its first reading, ¿Clay¿s Quilt¿ will warm the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Writing the Musical Soul of Appalachia

    Clay Sizemore's poignant search for his place in his community and his search for a family are central in this wonderful debut novel. The element that moves and underscores the action is music. This is a novel with a 'soundtrack.' The soundtrack sings of Clay's search for identity, modern Appalachia, and the children of the Post-Vietnam, War on Poverty Generation. The reader will fall in love with and be haunted by the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    Great Read

    An advance reader's copy of this novel showed up at the magazine where I work as copy editor and the managing editor just picked it up to see what it was about and couldn't put it down until she had finished the book. Upon her recommendation, I read it as well and have to say that it captured me, too. The characters are so real that by novel's end, they seem like people you actually know. That's the thing that really sold me and kept me invested in the novel and what the future held for these characters. Even though I've never even been to Kentucky, now I feel as if I have and I have a better understanding for the people that live there. I am rarely moved to tears by a book, but I have to admit that this one made me mist up a bit. It's strange in that it's a book with a male lead character and very male themes, but it is also very sensitive and wonderfully lyrical. I bet it makes you cry, too. Buy this for sometime when you can just sit back and take your time enjoying it. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1