Customer Reviews for

Clean

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book

I absolutely love this book. It's addicting...lol.

posted by Anonymous on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just okay.

This book was okay. I like teen fiction and I watch shows like Intervention on A&E so I was excited to read this book. I like the idea that the story is told from each character's point of view; however, the character Eva's chapters, stereotypical "emo" poetry, are conf...
This book was okay. I like teen fiction and I watch shows like Intervention on A&E so I was excited to read this book. I like the idea that the story is told from each character's point of view; however, the character Eva's chapters, stereotypical "emo" poetry, are confusing, annoying, and too drawn out to say the least. The book was too short for me. I would recommend it to be checked out of the library for a weekend, but for me it was a waste of money.

posted by LovelyDreamer08 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Amazing book

    I absolutely love this book. It's addicting...lol.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Changed my thoughts

    This is an absolutely great book and i would recommend it to any troubled teen with drug problems. I am one of those teens & after reading this book it helped me realize that i can change because i have the ability to and i deserve to . My family does not deserve all of the hurt i have caused for them as wel and this book made me realize that. Thank you Amy Reed. DESTINEE

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty & Emotional

    Clean is a hard hitting contemporary novel that deals with the struggles of a group of teens in recovery. It's not a happy book by any means, but it is a hopeful one.

    At the start of the novel you are introduced to all 5 main characters very quickly. Its a bit confusing at first trying to figure out who is who, but that doesn't last long due to each characters distinct voice. There's Kelly (the popular, party girl), Olivia (the new, rich girl), Christopher (the quite, weird boy), Eva (the rude, punk girl) and Jason (the loud, pretty boy). Most of the novel is told from Christopher and Kelly's POV, which is both a blessing and a curse since you get to know these two characters very well but also get a limited view of Eva, Jason and Olivia.

    I really enjoyed Eva's characters the most because I really felt all her sadness and vulnerability hiding beneath all her anger. However, I think everyone will be able to identify with at least one of the characters since they're all so vastly different. Even if you can't relate to the substance or recovery issue, all of these teens have gone through a personal crises that have lead them down the road to addiction.

    Clean is a very quick read due to the stories short time frame and essay like structure. Plus with the intense subject matter its nearly impossible to put down. I found the various different storytelling devices (narrative, dialogue, essay, questionnaire & group sessions) to be a really unique way to get to know all the characters. It also helped to create a more secluded and intensely emotional atmosphere within the rehab center forcing the 5 teens into relying and confiding in each other, something which they all are hesitate to do.

    I really appreciated author Amy Reed's ability to create a gritty emotional journey into the lives of these teen addicts. There is nothing glamorous about what these characters have gone or are going through. I also appreciated the honest, unapologetic and often brutal language and interaction between the teens. Was it hard to read sometimes? Yes. Was it always necessary? I think so, because I needed to feel that all 5 of these teens had hit rock bottom, which I did. That if they didn't get their lives together they were all going to end up dead or in jail.

    Towards the end of the novel we get a glimpse into how far these characters have come, but also how far they still have to go. I love the hopefulness of it because in my opinion, that's what this novel is about. That no matter what you've done to yourself or to others, things can always get better and their is always hope.

    Clean is not a book everyone is going to enjoy as there's sex, drugs, drinking, and foul language throughout. With that being said, I think that its an important novel that deals with a very delicate subject matter in a mature, realistic and hopeful way. I would definitely recommend Clean to older teens or adults who enjoy contemporary novels dealing with social and family issues.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Just okay.

    This book was okay. I like teen fiction and I watch shows like Intervention on A&E so I was excited to read this book. I like the idea that the story is told from each character's point of view; however, the character Eva's chapters, stereotypical "emo" poetry, are confusing, annoying, and too drawn out to say the least. The book was too short for me. I would recommend it to be checked out of the library for a weekend, but for me it was a waste of money.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's book Blog

    Clean is a powerful book about teens in a rehab center. It focuses on 5 different teens, two boys and three girls. I think that it's amazing how Amy wove their tales together, how they interacted with each other, but most distinctly, I really was impressed at how she was able to give them each a unique voice. They all had different things that led them to drugs or alcohol, but I love how they are able to band together, forgetting those differences and seeing each other as real people with real needs, and forming a friendship and a road to recovery.
    I also liked Shelly the councelor, I hope that there are people like that for every recovery group. She seemed to know what each needed and pushed them to participate, share, and what is appropriate at what time for them. She told it like it was without sugarcoating, and I like that aspect. Sometimes things are skimmed over because it's YA, but this is a raw and powerful book.
    I definitely recommend that you pick this up and give it a try. It moved me and I think given a chance it will speak to everyone who reads it. I was able to see pieces of myself in the characters and it made me so thankful that I've never been down that road, but it gave me glimpse of what that road could look like.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Life changing

    No matter your opinion on the contraversial material, this book will open your eyes and change your world forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Life Changing

    This book really changed my life. It made me realize that I'm on my way there. Because of this I have becomea better person and I am recovering on my own from depression. It also made me realize that there are people with problems a lot worse than mine. I read this book in one day and plan to read it again. Amy Reed has become one of my favorite authors. I really hope she continues writing and changing lives. I have made it my life goal to really change, and improve, someome's life. I want to make a differance. Thank you, Amy Reed, for making a differance in mine. If you're on he fence about this book, buy it. It is worth so much more than $9.99. I really think it saved my life and allowed me to have a future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Amazing

    Makes you realize how important a life really is... beautiful storie!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    A SUPERB BOOK!!

    A must read! I felt like I was qatching them and yet I was right there with them! I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    AMAZING

    I couldnt stop reading! The pages had so much expresion and i read it in a matter of days

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Beautiful

    It made me think. I loved every page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great

    So I've read beautiful and clean loved them both my aunt startef me offon this and then I got hooked I can relate to these books in some of the strangest ways I'm a teen and no one really understands but didn't they feel the same way once so why don't they just put forth an effort for us l?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved how the book is in different points of view. It made it

    I loved how the book is in different points of view. It made it much more interesting.
    I also love how the chapters are different because sometimes they focus on just one of the five patients, the group session, their personal essay, or the questionnaire.

    Christopher was my favorite character, but at times I felt like she forced his story to drag on just so she could wait until the end to expose everything that he did.
    It was predictable, so to have to wait that long to hear everything, when we already knew everyone else's complete secrets, was pretty disappointing.
    My favorite story though was Jason's. I felt for him the entire time.

    For the most part, they were all teenagers I've read before. I read a lot of books like this one, so at some parts I felt like I was just rereading a different book I've read before, which was also disappointing.

    Despite that, overall I liked the book and would definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Ok then

    This reminded me that i have to clean and rearange my room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Good Read

    This book is AMAZING!
    It is realistic and takes you inside the mind of a teen addict without being all dramatic. This is probably one of the best books that I've ever read. You have to read it !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    This was/is my absolute favorite books. It's honestly a really g

    This was/is my absolute favorite books. It's honestly a really great book with lots of deep emotion. Each character in the story dealt with something different and added dept in the story. Although at the end i wish she would've added more to it to give more closure, it's an amazing book regardless. I recommend this to everyone looking for a great read that's emotional and different! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    BEST BOOK

    When u read this book your wondering ehat happened to all the kids but as it all goes on... u start to get feelings for everyone in this book. Jason the rebel, kelly the gorgeous one, christopher thr nerd, eva the goth, and olivia the newbie. Thts a crazy-good group of friends. This book make u smile an laugh. Also u get really sad and attached to the characters:) great reaaaaad:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Love it

    This book is one of the best i love it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Amazing

    Little bit a langug

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it a little while ago, but

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it a little while ago, but it came up in my suggestions & i remembered how much I absolutely loved it. The novel itself was absolutely impossible to put down, & aside from the intriguing aspect that each of the characters carry, it's so interesting trying to figure them out as you go along, discovering their past and how learn how they got where they were. 
    As soon as you pick this up you won't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4