Customer Reviews for

Clean Across Canada

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

Good recipes but wish there was recipes without using lye.

posted by 10978628 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not that easy....

Take it from an experienced soapmaker. It's not that easy. One glaringly obvious problem is the author did not recommend the use of safety glasses while working with lye and the raw soap batter. PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE!!!! Always wear your safety glasses.

The author ...
Take it from an experienced soapmaker. It's not that easy. One glaringly obvious problem is the author did not recommend the use of safety glasses while working with lye and the raw soap batter. PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE!!!! Always wear your safety glasses.

The author is seriuosly neglecting other important and key parts of information. Use this book ONLY as inspiration for your journey into the soaping world. Not as a guide. Find and research out other many other sources of information before you mix up a single batch.

Total thumbs down on this book for the lack of simple yet vital safety information. Rating it zero stars if I can. If I can't, I'll give it one just so I can get my review posted.

posted by 8013547 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Not that easy....

    Take it from an experienced soapmaker. It's not that easy. One glaringly obvious problem is the author did not recommend the use of safety glasses while working with lye and the raw soap batter. PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE!!!! Always wear your safety glasses.

    The author is seriuosly neglecting other important and key parts of information. Use this book ONLY as inspiration for your journey into the soaping world. Not as a guide. Find and research out other many other sources of information before you mix up a single batch.

    Total thumbs down on this book for the lack of simple yet vital safety information. Rating it zero stars if I can. If I can't, I'll give it one just so I can get my review posted.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    A very unsafe way to make soap!

    Please, please, please research how to make cold process soap before attempting to make the soap in this book! I am also an experienced soapmaker with my own business and this book scares me. Lye is caustic even after it is mixed with oils. It can still cause burns. Even soap batter that has saponified can still be caustic if something was measured incorrectly. Always wear safety glasses and gloves when making soap. There are some excellent sites online that will help you learn the proper way to make cold process soap. This book is not the way soap should safely be made.

    To the person that wants to make soap without lye: you have to have lye to make soap. That's what causes the oils to turn into soap. If you want to make soap without lye, you will need to use a premade soap base called "melt and pour" soap. You can do an internet search to learn more about it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good Book

    Good recipes but wish there was recipes without using lye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    easy to use

    We had a lot of fun making our own bar soap yesterday with this book. I of course did the lye part. I looked at ACE hardware and it is right next to the draino for about 4 bucks. This book will be one I keep on my nook forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Basic and to the point!

    Great for a beginner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Love it

    Easy to follow and fun to make. The oven curing is such a simple and effective way to quicken the curing process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Fun and Informative

    I had a great time reading this little book. Some books would have you so swamped with information that your bored before you begin, not this book, it gives you some fun facts and then has you making some great soaps..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Amaziiiinnnnngggggggg

    Amaziiiiiiiinnnnnnngggggggggg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Awesome

    Make it yourself, and save (-,*)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Awesomazing

    Awesome/amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    SOAP!

    I would like to try and make some of these products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    The girl wih the dragon tattop

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love to be creative!

    I have cousins who make their own soap. They love it! Someday I'd love to be able to create a new fragrance. At least now I have the basic recipes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Lovely book!

    Easy to understand directions. Very well written. Will be taking it with me for ingredient purchasing this weekend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    i cant belive

    Its free Lol :D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Pleasantly written

    Contains good soap making recipes, but the authors narration makes it a quick and pleasant read. Good reference book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2