BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More Than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You

Average Rating 3.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A Cookbook Winner for You and the Planet!

I eat mostly vegetarian/vegan--but I often find it hard and tedious because of bland and boring recipes. I have read the entire Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You and am very impressed ...
I eat mostly vegetarian/vegan--but I often find it hard and tedious because of bland and boring recipes. I have read the entire Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You and am very impressed and excited! (I made a recipe last night--more on that later.)

There are lots of exciting ingredients that interest me, an experienced cook. I love the layout of the book with one recipe per page in attractive but easy to read graphics. Beautifully done!

I also love the seasonal approach to cooking. I have been cooking seasonally for quite awhile now, and there is something that just feels so good about going to my local farmer's market, and buying and preparing that food.

Last night I prepared quinoa and black bean salad with apricot lime vinaigrette and it was delicious and flavorful, as well as easy to make.

I will report back soon, as I intend to make several more recipes.

If you are serious about cleaning up your diet for the health of the planet and yourself, consider cleaning up your home, too. As an eco-friendly designer, I must impress how important it is to remove all toxins from your life. Here are favorites:

HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET Show how to live in a clean, non-toxic sanctuary.

IN DEFENSE OF FOOD: all about the food in our country and how to eat healthily.

HOW TO GROW FRESH AIR: Shows how houseplants can remove toxins from your home

posted by DavidaHarp on September 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Gimicky

The title leads one to believe that there might be more here than the average food book. The illustration is nice, the cover divine. The pages lack insight, depth and the obvious expectation of the reader looking for something NEW. Same old, same old. Don't buy it; ...
The title leads one to believe that there might be more here than the average food book. The illustration is nice, the cover divine. The pages lack insight, depth and the obvious expectation of the reader looking for something NEW. Same old, same old. Don't buy it; I'll give you mine!

posted by goldkisses on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    Loved this cookbook!

    I have been using this cookbook for a month now, have tried several recipes and have been very pleased with the results. I really like how it is divided into seasons, so you can use produce more available at that time. It does introduce many non-mainstream foods and I have enjoyed stepping out of the box and enticing my palette with some new tastes. Some recipes do require some advance planning and different ingredients, but I think once I get stocked up on the foods Terry uses frequently it will become easier. My only wish, is that there were pictures of the prepared foods. If you are interested in cleaning up your diet, eating great tasting food and don't mind spending a bit of time preparing it, give this book a try.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    Recipes are so-so, real value lies in dietary information

    Many of the recipes featured here are a little too exotic for the average palate. I felt I would only very rarely be interested in preparing them. The real value of this book is for the seasonal fruit/vegetable information, and dietary information and discussion of vitamins, acids, and pesticides.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Clean Food

    Nice book with some great recipes. Apparently I am already a pretty "clean eater" because I found that I already live buy most of these rules, which is nice. Guess I could have saved myself some money!

    For someone trying to get back to basics and "clean up" this provides some great practical information and recipes. Nice design and east to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A must for anyone who likes healthy living and delicious food

    This book is a wonderful way to move into the world of eating healthier. The writing is simple, as are the recipes. The book provided the tools to explore new ingredients, and add new items to my staples list. The recipes I have tried are easy to follow, and are candy for the eyes and mouth. The only initial challenge was frequent trips to my health food store to purchase new ingredients. Quinoa and Millet are now staples in our house. An additional bonus is the recipes are sorted by season! I have already given this book as a gift!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    First book

    I just purchased my nook and I love this book very informitive and a easy read, here's to good health

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great cook book

    Finally, a cookbook that leans towards macrobiotics with recipes that work. Every recipe I have tried in this book is delicious.
    However, some of the ingredients are rather unknown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Clean Foods- new ideas

    Provides new ways of looking at natural foods and provides recipes for using local produce. Index is set up by food names instead of recipe names.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots of good information

    Beautifully bound book with gorgeous pictures and easy-to-follow format. It is a book I would have loved to received and I intend to give this book to friends and family this Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    My wife really liked it!

    My wife said it was a pretty good cook book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    interesting, informative

    Did not tell you this was the only way to eat; but gave information that is very useful in making healthy choices for family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Great resources for us CSA members.

    This was a great addition to a handbook that I have as a CSA (community supported agriculture) member. I love getting my vegetables from a local farm, but at times it is hard to come up with great ideas to utilize all of the produce that I get. I would recommend this book for anyone wanting to eat fresh and local.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Clean Eating

    Overall good cookbook. I have really been focusing on clean eating, which is hard to do without things getting boring and bland. This book really shows what you can do with all those foods that have crazy names that you have never heard of. The recipes are easy to follow and the ones I have tried are good. It has also helped me in branching out on which foods will please my palate and keep me away from the twinkies and pizza. If you have access to a variety of vegetables, grains and herbs a la Whole Foods market and Farmer's markets, it definitely makes it easier. I do love how it's divided into seasons, so you can prepare foods that are available in whatever season you are in, that makes shopping a lot easier and there is a glossary that defines those crazy foods that you have never heard of and tells you where you can get them. For anyone looking to clean up their diet and stick to it, or for those who eat clean and are looking for new ways to prepare your food, this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    A Must-Have Cookbook

    For anyone looking to cook healthier and smarter this is the cookbook to start with. I consider myself to be a somewhat conscientious-eater (by no means vegan), and am always "battling" with eating right and eating what's good. This cookbook is a great way to start to look at what foods you are cooking with and what types of food you are putting into your system. The best part is that the book is categorized by seasons. It tells you what foods are naturally in season based on the time of year. That is my favorite part because it does the "thinking/researching" for me, and ingredients are easy to find in the produce sections and at farmer's markets.
    I don't consider this a diet cookbook, but more of a cookbook to get me into an eating/cooking lifestyle that I want to have in order to maintain my health/weight. Recipes include more vegetables, grains, legumes (which are always recommended in order to lose/maintain weight). I find it helpful because I needed to learn how to cook those foods in a more flavorful way in order to want to eat them.
    My only dislike about the cookbook is there are not pictorials of the finished product(s), however, as I started using the recipes I found that I didn't even notice that the pictures were missing. It is not a deterrent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clean Food

    Nice hard cover book, full of yummy recipes, using ingredients closest to it's natural source. Wonderful book for gift giving to the cookbook collector.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Excellant book to help anyone get healthy

    Easy to read, informative, with dozens of easy to make recipes for anyone who wants to get healthy. And it is not all "health food store" or hard to find ingredients...just fresh, healthy food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3