Customer Reviews for

Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More Than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You

Average Rating 3.5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A Cookbook Winner for You and the Planet!

I eat mostly vegetarian/vegan--but I often find it hard and tedious because of bland and boring recipes. I have read the entire Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You and am very impressed ...
I eat mostly vegetarian/vegan--but I often find it hard and tedious because of bland and boring recipes. I have read the entire Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You and am very impressed and excited! (I made a recipe last night--more on that later.)

There are lots of exciting ingredients that interest me, an experienced cook. I love the layout of the book with one recipe per page in attractive but easy to read graphics. Beautifully done!

I also love the seasonal approach to cooking. I have been cooking seasonally for quite awhile now, and there is something that just feels so good about going to my local farmer's market, and buying and preparing that food.

Last night I prepared quinoa and black bean salad with apricot lime vinaigrette and it was delicious and flavorful, as well as easy to make.

I will report back soon, as I intend to make several more recipes.

If you are serious about cleaning up your diet for the health of the planet and yourself, consider cleaning up your home, too. As an eco-friendly designer, I must impress how important it is to remove all toxins from your life. Here are favorites:

HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET Show how to live in a clean, non-toxic sanctuary.

IN DEFENSE OF FOOD: all about the food in our country and how to eat healthily.

HOW TO GROW FRESH AIR: Shows how houseplants can remove toxins from your home

posted by DavidaHarp on September 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Gimicky

The title leads one to believe that there might be more here than the average food book. The illustration is nice, the cover divine. The pages lack insight, depth and the obvious expectation of the reader looking for something NEW. Same old, same old. Don't buy it; ...
The title leads one to believe that there might be more here than the average food book. The illustration is nice, the cover divine. The pages lack insight, depth and the obvious expectation of the reader looking for something NEW. Same old, same old. Don't buy it; I'll give you mine!

posted by goldkisses on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cookbook Winner for You and the Planet!

    I eat mostly vegetarian/vegan--but I often find it hard and tedious because of bland and boring recipes. I have read the entire Clean Food: A Seasonal Guide to Eating Close to the Source with More than 200 Recipes for a Healthy and Sustainable You and am very impressed and excited! (I made a recipe last night--more on that later.)

    There are lots of exciting ingredients that interest me, an experienced cook. I love the layout of the book with one recipe per page in attractive but easy to read graphics. Beautifully done!

    I also love the seasonal approach to cooking. I have been cooking seasonally for quite awhile now, and there is something that just feels so good about going to my local farmer's market, and buying and preparing that food.

    Last night I prepared quinoa and black bean salad with apricot lime vinaigrette and it was delicious and flavorful, as well as easy to make.

    I will report back soon, as I intend to make several more recipes.

    If you are serious about cleaning up your diet for the health of the planet and yourself, consider cleaning up your home, too. As an eco-friendly designer, I must impress how important it is to remove all toxins from your life. Here are favorites:

    HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET Show how to live in a clean, non-toxic sanctuary.

    IN DEFENSE OF FOOD: all about the food in our country and how to eat healthily.

    HOW TO GROW FRESH AIR: Shows how houseplants can remove toxins from your home

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    easy, great tasting recipes and visually beautiful

    Thoughtful and beautiful book. Easy recipes, easy to find ingredients, and easy to understand.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lowered LDL Cholesterol 42 points after three months of cooking from this cookbook!

    I purchased this book after my husband found out that he had ridiculously high cholesterol and the doctor recommended that he start taking medication immediately to manage it. Concerned that the statins would have negative side-effects (which they do!) and that he would be taking them for the rest of his life, I suggested trying a vegan diet for three months and then getting re-tested. He agreed, and I purchased a few cookbooks that fit that lifestyle. Clean Food is one of those books. One of the things I love is that it organizes the recipes by season, so you know when to look for fruits and vegetables that should be at their prime. I will note that some of the ingredients are not as readily available if you do not have access to a supermarket such as Whole Foods. That being said, the ingredients tend to usually be minor in the recipe and can be replaced with something more readily available. After cooking dinners from this cookbook, and sticking to a primarily vegan (80% of the time - still had turkey for Thanksgiving!) diet for three months, my husband had his cholesterol re-tested. His "bad" LDL cholesterol had dropped 42 points and he was no longer in the range of needing medication. The doctor couldn't believe it, since he said that your genes are 80% responsible for your cholesterol levels and diet alone is only 20% -- obviously that is not always true!!
    If you are struggling with high cholesterol and you are open to trying a vegan diet, this is the cookbook I would recommend. Keep in mind, in order to maintain the low levels of cholesterol, you need to pretty much stick to this lifestyle going forward. One of the biggest reasons that the diet worked is that the recipes actually create meals that taste great! There have been one or two that I wouldn't necessarily do again, but the majority of them are great. You don't feel like you are eating "diet food", rather you feel like you are eating fresh ingredients that are just plain healthy for you! For those of you that like chocolate, try the Chocolate Lover's Tart (p.195). It is so darn easy to make and tastes amazing. I hope you give the book (and the lifestyle) a try -- especially if you are one of those people thinking about committing yourself to medication that you most likely will be dependent on the rest of your life!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Fabulous!

    Although there aren't any pictures of food in this book, the layout is clear and visually appealing. I found the content informative and inspiring, and I love that it is organized by season, emphasizing the fresh foods available at certain times of the year. As a vegetarian, I find the recipes to be both diverse (not too many salads or pasta dishes) and approachable (many vegetarian recipes can involve scary/obscure ingredients). The "What's That?" section describes offbeat foods in a way that provides the reader with a brief description of seemingly daunting but healthy edibles (sucanat, kudzu, kombu, etc.). Great buy!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    DELICIOUS

    NOT ONLY GREAT RECIPES, BUT ACTUAL FACTS & INFO ABOUT EATING VEGAN. GREAT FOR THOSE OF US WHO NEED MORE VARIETY EVEN WITH THE SAME INGREDIENTS WE ALREADY HAVE IN OUR FRIDGE &PANTRY. I HAVE BEEN STUDYING NUTRITION FOR DECADES & I LOVE MAKING RECIPES FROM THIS BOOK. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cookbook That Is Worth Buying, Reading, AND Using!

    Terry Walters really provides a great resource. As a fitness professional, I try to read as many new books on diet and fitness, as I can. I also try to expand my culinary abilities by picking up new cookbooks. Terry Walters' book caught my interest by focusing on both healthy meals, and locally grown options! Will this book make you thin or healthy? NO. However, if YOU choose to pursue a healthier lifestyle, then THIS book is for you!!

    I also HIGHLY recommend: 'Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". I give all my fitness and nutrition clients a copy of this book. It is, in my opinion, a MUST HAVE.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for the person trying to change their diet for the better!

    I found this on a fluke & it has been the best cookbook I have ever bought! I love it, I really didn't think there was something out there that had all this information, something I wanted but didn't know to look for. I love that Terry not only goes through a lot of foods & their medicinal benefits & what it is, but actually puts them into recipes for a specific purpose, with delicious taste! This has opened up my kitchen in so many ways and inspired me to really change around my families diet and try new things in the kitchen. I do have to pass on that these are changes that I wanted to make but my farm raised husband likes his meat, potatoes, butter, & Little Debbie. I was ecstatic that there are numerous recipes in this book that he actually loves!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for Serious Healthy Living!

    If you take healthy living seriously at all, this is the book for you! It's extremely comprehensive when it comes to ingredients, explaining what each one is and the benefits to the body. The ingredient list is presented alphabetically for ease of use, which is nice. The only drawback I've found is that the recipes are listed in a strange order,according to season and ingredient.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Recipes

    These are great recipes to follow and are actually good! The items are easy to find at a grocery store. My family has enjoyed trying different ones, but our favorite is the Maple Granola.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I enjoyed.

    I was hoping to find a cookbook that would not just give me recipes for vegetables, but also what would be the best ones for the seasons. I was getting into the health kick at the end of 2009 and was looking for a book of this kind. I live in Florida and can get alot of vegetables here, but was told that also eating for the season was the way to go. So far so good and I have enjoyed alot of the recipes. Its an excellent book for those who are beginning a love for veggies and want to eat the right way along with eating the right veggies at the right time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book for the health conscious

    Excellent book. Very helpful in learning whole foods and the recipe's are wonderful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Great book about garden freash cooking.

    I bought this book for healthy recipes to use from my garden. I haven't been disappointed. A great resource for cooking freash from the garden or farmers market.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    So many great recipes

    Wonderful everyday recipes and information on the basics of ingredients and cooking methods. Purchased as a gift idea, don't want to give it up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Excellent Book filled with nutritious recipes my entire family loved!

    Finally, a cookbook that leans towards macrobiotics with recipes that work. Every recipe I have tried in this book is delicious.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    Clean Food = Delicious Food

    My husband and I are not vegetarians but when I started making the summer salads in this book, we were delighted that they were so delicious and filling! My favorites are the salads with mango and the other one with avocado. I make at least three items from this cookbook every week and try out at least one new recipe each week. The recipes are easy to make and my local market carries all the items that I need. I substitute other things when it's not something I want to buy or I have something similar already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I loved the book and it is great for anyone trying to eat in balance with nature!

    I have been trying to live a "greener" life and this book hits the spot. It is organized by the four seasons and you need only to flip to the season we are currently in and start shopping for these recipes. There are a few recipes that don't require a ton of fresh ingrediants and can be made at anytime. The recipes are easy to follow, ingrediants on the left, simple, concise directions on the right.

    So are the recipes good? I have made several of the dishes and I love them. I will caution that if you don't like seasonal ingrediants, i.e. fall and winter vegetables this may not be the book for you, having said that there is a nice variety per season to keep things lively and different from meal to meal. This is probably my favorite cook book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Finally Tried a Recipe and Now I'm Hooked

    Bought this book back in 2008 and it sat unopened. Loved Giada recipes but then a friend got sick. Began to read books about a meat/dairy based diet and how it contributes to so many diseases so I thought I would try a recipe from Clean Food. It was fantastic. Great taste but with whole foods and fresh vegetables. Filling, tasty but healthy! The book has a great reference guide to ingredients that I have never heard of before.

    Highly recommend the book to those who are serious about eating better but want foods that excite your taste buds. It is going to be a Christmas present to many friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Delicious, comprehensive and user-friendly

    This is a fantastic cookbook. I recommend it to people who recognize the importance of a healthy body and a healthy planet. I have given it as a gift many times now and get rave reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for Modern Basics!

    I really love this book. I like how it is sectioned off by seasons and it is visually appealing to me despite the fact that it has no photographs. I am often drawn to a cookbook's aesthetics based in large part on the photography, but I don't miss it here at all. Anyhooo...the foods I have made have been good, and the stuff I've made has been all basic enough that I feel comfortable improvising with ingredients. I strive to eat mostly whole foods and minimal amounts of processed foods, and sometimes I get stuck in ruts with the way I prepare vegetables or grains. For instance I love Kale, but I have always just steamed it. Clean Food provides a few simple alternative ways to prepare kale that I like. I don't have the book near me right now so I can't remember the name exactly, but the Chocolate Pecan Tart was amazing. I found I needed waaaaay less chocolate to shave on top (and I am a struggling chocohaulic), but otherwise it was amazing. Good basic cookbook for simple whole unprocessed foods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Great recipes, great information

    The author provides sound principles of good nutrition. The idea of a cook book seperated by seasons is a wonderful resource. A few of the recipe's would be bit challenging for beginning cooks, but they are creative and healthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3