Customer Reviews for

The Cleaner (Jonathan Quinn Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a Rush

From the minute Jonathan steps through the terminal the action never stops. A fast paced, can't put this one down until the very end. WOW !! Next Jonathan Quinn novel PLEASE I am waiting.....

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The author had a great idea--start with an independent group which cleans up crimes scenes before the cops can look at the evidence. That happens in the beginning but then the book changes into a standard thriller chase story which is no more than ordinary. I'd prefer...
The author had a great idea--start with an independent group which cleans up crimes scenes before the cops can look at the evidence. That happens in the beginning but then the book changes into a standard thriller chase story which is no more than ordinary. I'd prefer more development of the new idea describing other times when the group goes to work.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    What a Rush

    From the minute Jonathan steps through the terminal the action never stops. A fast paced, can't put this one down until the very end. WOW !! Next Jonathan Quinn novel PLEASE I am waiting.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    The author had a great idea--start with an independent group which cleans up crimes scenes before the cops can look at the evidence. That happens in the beginning but then the book changes into a standard thriller chase story which is no more than ordinary. I'd prefer more development of the new idea describing other times when the group goes to work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Fast Paced and Believable Hero

    The series featuring Jonathan Quinn are must reads for fans of action packed adventure. Could not put it down before finishing! Have since read the subsequent novels in this series and they are all great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great read

    So much fun to read. If your looking for a great beach read, here you go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    This book is the reason I fell in love with Brett Battles and Jo

    This book is the reason I fell in love with Brett Battles and Johnathan Quinn! I was hooked from the beginning and eagerly await each and every book!
    Love the writing style, the stories, the characters! Highly Recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Loved this book

    Great suspense book with a really good story and had awesome action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    I don't normally read books within the 'spy' genre but in this case I made an exception. I'm glad I did! Start to finish, my interest was held in a death-grip. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a great can't-put-it-down read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    First I have to tell you that I enjoy reading Michael Connelly books because of his main character. I've read all of his books (think there were 7 so far, a new one has just been released and I chose your book instead of his to read). Anyway, your writing style reminds me of his. I enjoyed, actually that does not describe it...I thirsted for more the more I read. Sure enough, you kept me well hydrated in the story. The characters were believable and the story line was anything but bland. While it did what most good books do--leaving you wanting more. Your book did something else, it made me realize that if you follow your dream long enough and stay with it, success will follow. I do wish you lots of success. You have found your passion, don't let it escape you. Besides...your fans demand that book two be out soon. Quinn is now part of our lives, thanks to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    A can't put down read.

    Can't wait for the next installment. When you start on the Cleaner, you won't want to put it down. Battles is very good at taking you from one scene to the next without loosing your interest. He doesn't repeat himself to keep you going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Cleaning doesn't always mean a mop

    ¿The Cleaner¿ that¿s Jonathan Quinn. He cleans the mess left by clients at potential crime scenes gets rid of bodies and evidence. And he does it well. When the ¿Office¿, his government client is hit by a series of assassinations and Jonathan finds that he¿s put on someone¿s list of to-do¿s, he takes his apprentice and begins the search for the killers, those they work for, and the deeper reasons behind the deaths and bits and pieces of evidence he¿s able to find. Don¿t start reading this book until you know you have enough time to finish it, because I promise you will cancel appointments, and miss meetings, until that last page is turned and the cover closed. Brett Battles has written a winning novel, characters that you feel you can call for help, visits to countries that you may never see in reality but Mr. Battles takes you there, action that is non-stop, and a mystery with twists and turns that make a snake jealous. Great read. Review by Wanda C. Keesey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Although he goes by the name Jonathan Quinn, that is not his real name. He is a freelance operative who works for the Office, a sub rosa agency based in Washington D.C. He doesn¿t do wet work, assassinations and the like. He calls himself a cleaner because it is his job to get rid of the bodies, find out information and sanitizing sites. His latest assignment takes him to Allyson, Colorado to see if Robert who died in a fire was murdered or if it was a household accident. --- Despite evidence to the contrary, he finds proof that a murder occurred and he find a silver bracelet in the rubble that he puts in his pocket. He returns home to Los Angeles with his apprentice Nate only to discover that the operatives of the office and him are on someone¿s hit list. Nate and Quinn go to the Ho Chi Minh City where he picks up operative Orlando. The head of the office sends them to Germany where they are to find the people who nearly destroyed the office what they find instead is an operation that could mean the death of millions of people. He intends to stop them anyway he can but first he has to find Nate who was captured and Orlando¿s son who has been kidnapped. They are being held hostage so Quinn doesn¿t clean up their operation. --- It is so very hard to believe Brett Battles is new to the thriller scene because THE CLEANER is an extremely well written tale that is on a par with the works of Le Carre. The hero is a James Bond type down to the wit and provocative asides under pressure. His apprentice is comic relief in a tense tale of betrayal, double agents and terrorists who make Bin Laden look like a choir boy. The plot throws one surprise after another at the audience who finds they can¿t stop reading to find out how it all works out. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2