Customer Reviews for

Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Motivating & intuitive clutter clearing book

    This is one of my favorite books on clutter clearing. Very readable because it is organized in small manageable chapters and topic sections. The author's ideas about room flow, space, and energy make intuitive sense and are easy to apply. Ideas are both pragmatic and thoughtful. I learned to "see" clutter I had been missing and to think about some of the consequences of clutter that I hadn't considered before! This book also addresses the sometimes neglected topics of mental, emotional, and spiritual clutter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Clear Your Clutter!

    This is a terrific book for people who need to be motivated to clear their clutter! Clutter removal is essential to rid your home or office of unwanted negative, stagnate energies. I'm a huge proponent of clearing clutter (and organizing the rest.) Once your home or office is free from clutter, the next step--creating a sanctuary in your home and manifesting your desires--is easy. So, if you overwhelmed with clutter, allow Karen to guide you! Author of award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Feel Much Happier in Your Home & Life

    CLEAR YOUR CLUTTER WITH FENG SHUI is a delightful how-to manual that helps clear out clutter in all areas of our homes, by addressing the underlying reasons that things tend to get so cluttered in the first place. As author Karen Kingston points out, 'clutter is stuck energy,' and she shares powerful insights as to why it is that some people get so attached to junk that it can literally overflow throughout the house, threatening the health, well-being, and sanity of those who live there. While the chapters on discovering various clutter proclivities is fascinating reading, my favorite part of CLEAR YOUR CLUTTER is using the feng shui bagua to determine which sections of the living area are most cluttered. Kingston explains that those most highly cluttered areas indicate which parts of one's life is being most sabotaged. Rather than baldly stating such potentially controversial points without supporting evidence, Kingston encourages us to see for ourselves what a difference the presence or absence of clutter has on our well-being. She suggests we pick an area in our lives that is not going as well as we would desire, and clear out the clutter in the corresponding part of the house in order to witness the positive results of this clearing for ourselves. From realistically assessing the clutter situation, to noting what effect the clutter is having, to finding the underlying clutter causes, to clearing the clutter away, I can think of no better single resource than CLEAR YOUR CLUTTER. Anyone wishing to find an inexpensive way to bring about radical, positive change in their life will benefit from reading CLEAR YOUR CLUTTER I give this book my highest recommendation!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Best nonfiction book I have ever read

    You truly get to the root of the why of clutter, and then you just know what to do about it. I reread this every 6 months or so for inspiration.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Awesome!

    This book is wonderful. I have about 10 books on organzing and de-cluttering, however this book has a different approach that is unlike any other. It has a lot of valuable information and insight in this area. I highly reccommend it. Just recently my husband has started reading it, which is a big surprise to me. So, don't hesitate, buy it.I just ordered Karen Kingston's earlier book on Sacred Spaces and I look forward to reading this book as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    WONDERFUL BOOK!

    I highly recommend this book. It is one of those books that you devour in one sitting. I cannot stop cleaning and clearing the clutter in my home (and office)....it is amazing. I have a ton of energy and just feel great. This book has made a tremendous impact on my life....my environment is so much prettier now and I just feel better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2001

    Will change your life!

    This book is amazing. It delves into your inner psyche and explains why we hold on to our possessions. No other 'motivational' or feng shui book I've read has ever inspired me to actually act and 'practice what is preached', and immediately at that! This book is unique in that it relates feng shui and clutter-clearing not just to your home, but all aspects of your life (work, relationships, health, your physical and mental state, etc.) A worthwhile investment of just $10 that will change your life forever...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Great book!

    This book was short and to the point about a lot of things concerning clutter & the clearing of it....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    Absolutely loved this book!!!!

    This is my first book on Feng Shui and since then I've been hooked on to it:-) The book is absolutely amazing,motivating and extremely realistic!! I would recommend everyone to have a copy of this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Can't slow down...

    .....after reading this book, all I want to do now is clear up my clutter including other books on the same subject. While there are some aspects of the book that may not relate to you, most of the book is worth the money.So far, I've rid myself of enough clutter to hold two successful garage sales, cut my frivilous shopping by 75% and stopped being a slave to my house. I've shared this book with several friends and co-workers who ALL ended up buying the book..let the energy flow!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    Easy read and very motivational!! Great gift book.

    Have read other books about getting rid of clutter (by Don Aslet) which were humorous and very motivating but this one is very different. I am completely devoted to the principles of Feng Shui now that I can better understand how my environment and energy really interconnect. I have gone through many great changes in my life by making minor adjustments in different parts of my house. I'm fairly conservative and not a new age kind of person, never a devoted fan of 'off the mainstream' way of thinking (at least not since growing up in the 60's)but I can't believe how well this philosophy works. Slowly abandoning my packrat days and starting to enjoy a house free of clutter! So hard to believe with a 4 year old underfoot and with both myself and my husband working full time. Feng Shui and clearing clutter has impacted so many aspects of my life. This book is a keeper! I highly recommend you get it now and get control of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Motivates you to start de-cluttering

    I didn't actually read the book, BUT I listened to the audio tape and all I can say, is it is just fantastic. Karen's voice is very soothing and relaxing, I listened to it while I was doing my daily chores and before I knew it, I was also decluttering. I just might use this tape while I drift off to sleep to store it more into my sub-conscious!! A must to listen to and read, now I WILL get the book!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2002

    Something for everyone

    I found that I became motivated to 'Feng Shui' every space in my house. It is a quick and very interesting read. If you are interested in becoming more organized and at peace with your surroundings, you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    Motivational

    This book was just what I needed. As I read, I couldn't believe it. Everything she said was true. Everything seemed to make more sense. Clutter around your house clutters your mind and weighs you down. It really was making me tired and unmotivated. After I read the book, I started in right away and I feel so much better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2001

    great book! Stretches out one basic premise a bit long though. But overall more useful than 99.9% of the books out there!

    Those of you in recovery should get this book, especially if you aren't able to do an inventory. After reading this book, you'll be 'cleaning house' real good, and for good reason. I'd personally have liked this book better if it had been condensed to half its length, which it easily could have been. Still, its message is profoundly simple, and truly works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    Motivating!

    This book so motivated us that we're giving a talk on de-cluttering at our retreat house! Clutter can affect us spiritually as well as materially. Karen Kingston's book provides motivation, awareness and methods to de-clutter. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2000

    Life Altering

    The most inspirational book I have ever read about something so simple as clutter. After reading the first chapter I was immediately energized to begin clearing my clutter. As soon as I cleared my home of clutter, good things began happening. I had a brighter, fresher outlook on each day because I did not feel weighed down by unimportant objects. This book helped me get organized and feel in control of everything. Such a wonderful and helpful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    Energizing!!!

    I loved this book - so inspired me that I'm buying copies for some of my favorite clutter collectors. I am clearing out spaces I have ignored for years! And it feels so GOOD! I can honestly tell that there is information in this book you can't get anywhere else (not to be vulgar but who else describes the perfect poop?!? Really.).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    HABIT FORMING

    Little did I know that a friend passing this book on to me because it was 'interesting' that I would become so involved. I have cleared my clutter again and again and read 3 more books on the art of Feng Shui. What a great way to introduce this art of living and benefit at the same time by activating the elements in your home. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is 'stuck' in their lives for whatever reason. I have personally launched 3 people into Feng Shui since reading this book. I love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2