Customer Reviews for

Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile, Egypt, 57 B. C.

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    In six grade my friends showed me this book and i thought nothing of it. But i started to read it and it was amazing!! I DONT like to read books and im normally the kind of person to procrastinate summer reading but this book kept me on my toes. It was suspenceful and truly the best book i have ever come across.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    A suspensful and exciting book! One of my favorites!

    Cleopatra, daughter of the Nile, written by Kristiana Gregory and published by Scholastic in 1999 has 218 pages. After reading the first entry I felt like somone had taken me and placed me beside the cool waters of the Nile in Egypt, Alexandria,57 B.C. The picutre looks so lifelike. You can almost see the rushes swaying in the breeze and feel the cool evening gusts against your face. Cleopatra herself seems almost lifelike, gazing at you through haughty eyes, almost daring you to read her story, which begins with her sitting in her favorite room in the palace overlooking the sea. Her father, Ptolemy the XII, has misgoverned the country of Egypt to corruption, and the people blame him and Cleopatra, because she is his favorite daughter. They have more then once tried to kill him, so he hides himself as the turmoil grows. Determined not to let her country go to ruin, Cleopatra desperately seeks a way to save her people, but her father has other plans. He leaves for Rome to plead with Julias Ceasar to send troops and force the rebelling people into submission that he may once again rule Egypt. Cleopatra knows that once the greedy Romans set foot upon Egyptian soil, they will never leave till Egypt belongs to the Roman province. Nevertheless, she steals aboard the boat and sails with her father to Rome. But convincing the Roman Senate to aid Egypt becomes more complicated then the princess imagines, and it is three years before she can return to her beloved Egypt. Kristiana Gregory vividly potrays Rome as a stinking, vile, uncouth city and expresses Cleopatra's yearning to return to Egypt. I loved reading about ancient Egypt and being so close to one of the most famous Egyptian princess in history. It felt impressive, being one on one with Cleopatra, espeshely since I knew I could never take as many responsibilities as she did at her age. One of the best books, if not the best in the royal diaries series, and one of the thickest, I have thouroughly enjoyed reading this diary. A must have for all readers of the royal diaries series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First Royal Diaries book I ever read......

    This book is second in line of my favorite Royal Diaries books. WHen I first picked it up, I was like, "Okay, this book is about some Egyptian girl from a couple thousand years ago. How boring!" But then something in the first few pages kinda made me go, "Wow. THis is really interesting!"<BR/>I think that everyone should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    POWER TO CLEOPATRA!

    I enjoyed this book greatly but I couldn't believe all the killing! The epilogue was interesting about how Cleopatra was the only one to live the longest but she only lived to age 39!Still it was a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very good

    this book is so good! It gives so much description on what life was like back then and it makes history interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Very good vocabulary and explaining. This author proved that people can write history in a fun and exiting way. i couldn't stop reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Great Book!!!

    This was a really interesting book that gave me a glimpse into what Cleopatra's earlier life might have been like. It was really interesting to read about her maturity at such a young age and her intelligence and wisdom. I have always had an interest in Egyptian rule but this taught me a lot more and I am even more interested in it. I also have a new-found respect for Cleopatra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    wow!

    ceopatra was the most interesting tense amazing book ever but i recomend for kids 9 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Cleopatra VII Fanatic

    I really enjoyed reading the book. I liked everything. Though I wish it had been a bit longer, but other than that it was a great book to read. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Very Good!

    I really recommend this book to all history lovers-and not! This book is amazingly enchanting, and will leave your eyes glued to the page until the last letter. Awesome, awesome book. Also great for teaching history lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    From a child fan

    This is a spedtacular boook about young Cleopatras life. With her father in hiding and Tryphaena taking over the throne. Life can't get any more confusing, she then flees to rome with her father and spends two years there. I recomand this book to anyone who enjoys suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    I will never stop reading!

    This is the second book i have read from the series and i say i was amzing but they should have added more at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    pretty good..

    this is a pretty good story, but there is more history in it than story. it also stopped to soon. her life was just getting interesting! i would still recomend it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    One of the Best!

    Very Different from the others I've read but Wonderful still the same. A great journey of cleopatra dealing with her sisters, her father and the kingdom. Truly Brilliant!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    not what I think of Cleopatra

    I enjoyed this novel, but it was supposed to be about History, and this is not what I have been learning for years, but if you like histor fluff up, this is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Totally awesome

    This book not only included a vast amount of historical evidence, but gave Cleopatra a personality. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile, Egypt, 57 B. C.

    This was the first book I read in the royal diaries series and I loved it! This was the book that got me hooked into the royal books. It's so dramatic the way she has to face the terrible Romans in order to save Egypt. It's absolutly wonderful! Thrilling! Amazing!!!! Everyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    I was dissapointed

    This book is about cleopatra when she was 12. The book is about how her contry is falling apart and how she is dealing with her sister, Tryphaena is taking the throne from her father, king Ptolemy Auletes while he is in hiding but now he wants to reclaim his throne and teamed up with the roman forces to go and reclaim Egypt but will he succeed? This book is for any history freak or somebody that is very intrested in Egypt otherwise I would not get it. This book reminded me of a textbook more than something I would read to enjoy. Over all I did not like the book I thought it was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    I used to like this book more...

    ...but then I read Karen Essex's Kleopatra, and it was way more accurate. This book just fluffs everything up. Oh, and she looks nothing like she did on the cover of this book as she was explained in Essex's book. She was shorter and less beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7