BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile, Egypt, 57 B. C.

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    An explicit and fascinating book!

    I think its awesome that there are books that can take us back in time, so we can find out what really happenned to the royal princesses before us. This is definitely, 'one for the books'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    'Cleopatra' Gave Reader a Love of History

    'Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile' is one of the first books I ever read that introduced me to ancient cultures. When I read it, I was in the fifth grade and was reading purely for pleasure. Before I knew it, I was captivated! 'Cleopatra' gave me a fascination with ancient history. After I finished it, I read everything else I could get my hands on about her, about ancient Egypt, about ancient civilizations, etc. - and I still do! Today, I am a high school student studying ancient history, and I have found that the author of 'Cleopatra' researched her book very, very well and portrayed the cultures of ancient Egypt and Rome vividly and accurately. I can thank her for my love of ancient history today. I am even seriously considering a career in history, all thanks to that book! I think that this is a good book for most children to read, but I recommend it with reservations because some certain parts (most of them involving Marc Antony) are uncalled for in a children's book, in my opinion. But there is nothing openly (shall I say) wrong, and those incidents can be expected considering Cleopatra's reputation as a adult. So, for the most part, I would say, 'This is a really good book and YOU SHOULD READ IT!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    This a great book.

    I loved this book. It is my favorite of the Princess diaries. I liked how it seems as if Cleopatra really did write it. It is interesting to seehow she reacts to different situations. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    One of the best books I've ever read!!

    This is definetly my favorite book from the Royal Diaries series! It was so good! it was suspensful, funny and exciting!I totally loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    It Hit the Spot!

    I really liked Cleopatra VII. I think it's the best Royal Diaries book. However, I think the relationship between Cleopatra and Marc Antony is a little weak. I enjoyed the suspense throughout the book, but I thought Cleopatra's father, King Ptolemy XII, displayed cruelty scattered throughout the story. But overall, I thought this was a great book, and all fans of Dear America or the Royal Diaries series MUST read this!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile

    This book is written in first person by Cleopatra. It is a fictional book, and takes place in Egypt for the most part. During 57 B.C. Cleopatra is the main character, and in this book is basically trying to get power over her dad's (Who she loves dearly) throne. Although she loves her father greatly, she knows that he is not a good leader at all. He is always drunk and he just isn't very organized, but Cleopatra will have trouble getting the throne because she also has two older sisters. Tryphaena is her oldest sister and is very well motivated to take over her fathers throne. She is a very mean and careless person, and Cleopatra knows that she would be a horrible ruler. She even put a serpent in the palace to try and kill her father. Berenice is between Cleopatra and Tryphaena, and she is a very sweet, but self-indulged person. She is very preoccupied with her looks and pleasing herself. Cleopatra knows that she will never be a good ruler, but she doesn't have to worry to much about her because she isn't to interested in getting the throne anyways. Cleopatra has a very close pet tiger named Arrow. She is very close to him. She is also very good friends with two of the peasant boys named Olympus and Theophilus. She confides in them very much, and Olympus even taught her how so speake different languages fluently. Neva is Cleopatra's favorite maid, and is always with her. Puzo is one of her guards who protects her, becasue she saved is live by making him her protector instead of being a gladiator where he had a strong chance of being killed.This book is mainly about her father and how he gets into some trouble with the people and some people want to kill him so he has to go into hiding, and no one knows where he went, not even his own daughters. So Cleopatra's goal is to find him, which she does, and to get everything straightened out. They go to Rome and try to get Alexander the Great, Julius Ceasar, Antony Cicero and such men on their side to help them out. While they are gone doing this for over a year, Tryphaena, and Bernice both take over. But that doesn't last for long. While in Rome Cleopatra becomes very close to Cicero, and eventually it is said that they got married...! So Cleopatra had to grow up very quick becasue through this all she was 12 and 13 years old and had to take care of many of the problems because her dad was a drunk and didn't ever really know what was going on. So it was tough for Cleopatra, but it definitely helped her to become a better queen of Egypt. I really enjoyed this book and thought that the author did a great job of making it interesting and easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    Cleopatra Vll Daughter of the Nile

    Cleopatra Vll The Royal Diaries series, 1999, 221pgs, $10.95 Kristiana Gregory ISBN 0-590-8195-5 Cleopatra a very adventurous twelve-year-old girl, who sets off on a journey with her father King Ptolmey Xll, the king of Alexandria, Egypt. Cleopatra and her father have to set off on this journey because she needs to protect them from the citizens of Egypt who want them dead. Cleopatra soon gets a letter from her sister Tryphanea who says that if she and her father ever set foot in Egypt again they shall be prosecuted, because she does not want them interfering with her being queen of Egypt. Soon after visiting Julius Caesar, Cleopatra writes a letter telling her sister that they will come back and not interfere with her reign over Egypt. A few months later they arrive in Egypt. When they arrive at the palace, they find Tryphanea dead. The reader can¿t wait to find out who the next queen of Egypt will be! This book is fantastic for anyone who loves a good mystery and excitement with just a hint of surprises and love. This story really makes you feel like you¿re inside the story. The best part is you get to read someone¿s diary! A sixth grader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    It was a good book

    THe over all book was good in some places hard to follow but everything wrapped up in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    This was a terrific book!!

    This Book was great. You are really there with the story. You can feel what she is going through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1