Customer Reviews for

Cleopatra's Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    An amazing piece of historical fiction and definitely a must rea

    An amazing piece of historical fiction and definitely a must read for any teen!
    Cleopatra's Moon by Vicky Alvear Shecter is a novel that follows the life of Cleopatra VII's daughter Cleopatra Selene after the death of her parents and the siege of her beloved kingdom Egypt. Now orphans, Cleopatra and her brothers are sent to Rome where they are to live under the custody of Octavian and his household. As a fourteen year old, this book is by far one of the best historical fiction books I have ever read and would recommend it to anyone. Everything in the book is described so vividly, that you almost feel that you are with Cleopatra everywhere in the story. Shecter has managed to grasp every last detail of Cleopatra's life and has obviously done her research, when it comes to the history of this time period.
    The story itself is a very sad and heartbreaking tale, but there is no doubt that beauty shines through each and every word in the book. The plot is filled with tragedy and despair, but at the same time there are glimpses of other story elements. Besides the losses, she feels for the people she cares about, young Cleopatra Selene finds herself caught in a love triangle between two different men; an Octavian's heir, Marcellus and Juba, an African prince afraid to face his past. Though Cleopatra can only choose one, both men offer her something she deeply wants; love and power.
    Everything about this book is amazing to me. I was skeptical at first about taking this book from the library that I hadn't heard about, but as soon as I started reading I was instantly hooked. I especially love the front cover and admire it for its beauty. I love all the characters in this book, especially Cleopatra Selene because she changes from a spoiled little brat to a clever and cunning adult. Everything is so accurate and it is easy to feel as if you are in Rome and Egypt as well. This book gives you so much insight on history that you can just indulge in it. There is so much emotion that you can feel while reading this, especially the chills running down your spine when you truly grasp how inhumane Octavian really was. There's everything from romance, adventure, tragedy, heart break, loss, love, treachery, and even sacrifice. I promise you, this is definitely a book that anyone will enjoy and love.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Heartbreakingly Beautiful

    Vicky Alvear Shecter paints an incredible picture of life in the time of Cleopatra both in Egypt and Rome. Her worldbuilding is extensive and detailed without ever slowing down the narrative of the story. Historical fiction lovers of all ages should have no complaints, and while I cannot promise that they will love the heartbreaking journey of Cleopatra Selene's life from childhood to adulthood (there were moments when I had to stop reading because I was so emotionally invested in the story that the tragedy was too much to bear without a breather) I can promise that the style and quality of the storytelling is exceptional!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    This book is a wonderful piece of historical fiction, and it is

    This book is a wonderful piece of historical fiction, and it is very intriguing, especially for someone like me who is interested in this specific time period. I actually met the author of this book at a Latin Convention I attended, and from what I saw, she does some very extensive research before she writes her books; the result is that the settings and time periods she portrays are very historically accurate. This book uses wonderful imagery and descriptive language, making you feel as if you are really on the Nile or in the grungy streets of Rome, right along with Cleopatra Selene. The way the book is written really makes you sympathize with the characters and their struggles, especially Cleopatra Selene and her attempts to find her rightful place in the world. It is definitely worth your time if you are interested in ancient Egyptian and Roman culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Zippin388

    I found this a VERY interesting book. If you like historical facts or mythology i would deffently reccomend it to you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    U have to read this u willl love it!! Best book ever!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!

    Loved reading this! I'm actually still mad that I finished it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Awesome!

    Im on chapter 23. Andbitsbso good! Its also realy sad. So if if u dont like sad books. Than i wouldnt recromend readin it. Other wise its the best book ever! Its goodbfor kids 12 and older. I cant wait tobfinish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Just fantastic

    Even if you are not interested in history this is still an amazing book! I loved it and couldnt put it down and it was fun talking about the story with my friend. The endings really good too!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Capricorn Cabin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    must read and amazing i want to read another story like this

    must read and amazing i want to read another story like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Different

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Beyond Compare!!!

    I am in Latin at my high school, so we learned the stories about Caesar and Marc Antony. But even though i know the true history that this story is based on, I love it!!!!! It is a fantastic twist to a tragic history! It shows the strength it takes to get past such hard times. Much of the story is based on the true history of Cleopatra Selene and what happened to her family! But the way the author created the in between part of her life is amazing! No complaints what so ever!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    The only daughter of Cleopatra VII of Egypt, Cleopatra Selene en

    The only daughter of Cleopatra VII of Egypt, Cleopatra Selene endures the deaths of her father and her mother before being dragged back to Rome by Octavianus to walk in his triumph. But her trials continue as she must survive traps set for her in Rome, and learn to become a queen in her own right.

    I love anything Egyptian (except Cleopatra VII, who just had to go and lose Egypt to the Romans), and Vicky Alvear Shecter delivers a wonderful novel with a strong heroine in Cleopatra Selene. While I knew the history regarding Selene's life, Shecter's version has many delightful twists and turns. The writing was atmospheric so I felt like I was actually trudging through the filth of the Subura in Rome, and the characters were all complicated and terribly human. And of course, being a sucker for romance, I adored the bit of a love triangle.

    This is a great book for lovers of historical fiction, especially those who enjoy the ancient world and scrappy heroines!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I¿m not sure if there has ever been a book that left me as emoti

    I’m not sure if there has ever been a book that left me as emotional and/or completely fascinated by history as Cleopatra’s Moon. I have to admit I knew nothing about Cleopatra other than her skimpy Halloween costume. After reading this story about her daughter I find myself wanting to learn even more about their lives and the society they lived in. 
    This book has a good mix of reality with fantasy. I really appreciated the list facts at the end of the book where the author let us know her story is based on the truth and certain parts she took creative liberties. Throughout the story the author slipped in ancient terminology with a brief description. If there were more books like this I may have done better in history! (Okay, so there may be, but I have yet to discover them at least).
    The characters are wonderful and even though I knew certain ones would bite the dust, I still found myself emotional over their deaths as seen through the MC’s eyes. 
    The writing is brilliant. I found myself immersed in the story and I could get a real sense of what life back then would have been like.
    I’m certainly a fan of this author now and will read anything else she publishes! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Amazing story!

    An amazingly written story! This is the second story in a week i have read about Cleopatra Selene. I love the connection she shares with her and her brothers. Juba is an amazing character as well! The characters seemed as historically accurate as possible. This is thetype of story that brought out my love for reading as a child! If you love the ancient world this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Love,history, and a happy ending

    Loved it! Slow at some points but overall is a great book. The romance is there but doesn't overpower the story line. It seems very real and throws things for a loop to keep it interesting. I loved how the history aspect was tied into the story. I got a very enjoyable history lesson out of this. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Breathtaking

    When i finished this book i just sat and was like "wow, this was the best book i ever read." Thr drama and the beauty shocked me and never had i felt so connected to book. The characters are developed with amazing detail. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Glow

    Broke my heart and built it up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Definitely!

    Loved it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Awesome!

    This was one of the best books i have ever read. I couldn't put it down. Really good if you are interested in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3