BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic book - my tiddler's love it!

I have 2-year old twin boys and we all absolutely love this book! The writing flows well and is easy to read aloud, the illustrations hold their interest, and the storyline is fun enough that I love reading it over and over. A must-have for any child!

posted by HMKrebs on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

will never read to my children again

A not so thinly veiled pro union agenda is the overall theme of the book. The farmer is made out to be a bad guy and that the only way to get ahead is to unite. I would not mind so much except there are lesson plans for continued education on the subject and nowhere is ...
A not so thinly veiled pro union agenda is the overall theme of the book. The farmer is made out to be a bad guy and that the only way to get ahead is to unite. I would not mind so much except there are lesson plans for continued education on the subject and nowhere is the other side represented. So I think I will go back to Dr Suess.

posted by fairandbalanced_please on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Click , Clack,Moo is a great book

    Click, Clack, Moo, Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin is a great book. I love this book. The story is about Farmer Brown, cows, hens¿ and., ducks.They live in a farm. Farmer Brown has a barn with cow, hen, and duck. The cow and the hen want electric blankets. The farmer Brower said no!!! So the cow and the hen went on strike. The cow and the hen did lot of stuff for example no milk, also no eggs .Famer Brown got frustrated. If you want to find out what happens, read the book. You should read the book because it is funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    a reviewer

    In this funny story, 'Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type', by: Doreen Crown, the cows are typing letters to the farmer to ask for blankets. The farmer types back to him and says no. Thw cows keep typing and then the farmer decides to give them blankets and put them next to the door. I feel sorry for the farmer because he keeps on getting angrier and angrier! My favorite part was that the cows were making the farmers crazy. Sometimes I make my mom crazy! In the end I felt happy because they got what they wanted. 'Click, Clack, Moo, Click, Clack, Moo, Clickety, Clack, Moo!', the cows type. They typer forever until they get what they want! I recommend this book to first graders because it is the funniest book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    HOOKED

    My 2 year old son loves the click clack moo book and the other 2 books in the series. They are well illustrated and we have gotten a lot of reading out of them. I first saw this book on Between the Lions on PBS... great place for little ones to learn about books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Ingenious

    I love this book, it is creative and unique. I don't mind reading it over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Click clack moo- Doreen Cronin

    Farmer Brown has a huge problem he has cows that like to type. All day he hears 'click clack, moo. Click, clack moo. Clickety, clack, moo.' What is a farmer to do? But it gets worse. The cows start demanding that they have electric blankets since it gets so cold at night. When the farmer decides not to give them any, the cows do not give Farmer Brown any milk. What is a Farmer to do? Will they ever reach a compromise. Will the cows ever stop typing? Read and you will find out. This book is wonderful for ages 5-8. The illustartions are wonderful. It also could be used as a teaching method for writing letters. Cronin grew up in New York with her parents, 2 brothers and a sister. She went to law school and the worked for a publishing company. She still lives in New York city with her husband and her daughter. Cronin, Doreen. CLICK CLACK MOO COWS THAT TYPE. New York: Simon &Schuster Books for young readers, 2000

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Caldecott Medal Winner!

    Farmer Brown has a problem because his cows know how to type. Farmer Brown soon receives a note from the cows. They want electric blankets and when refused the cows quit giving milk. Soon the chickens, who also wanted electric blankets quit laying eggs. The duck was the neutral party and tried to help work things out between Framer Brown, the cow, and the hens. Do you think they eventually work things out? Read to find out. The reading level age is for ages between 4-8. Fantasy Fiction. Cronin, Doreen. Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type. NY: Simon & Schuster. 2000.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    My Review

    Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type is a delightful story about farm animals who share an amazing talent. This funny book by Doreen Cronin, tells the story of an old farmer named Farmer Brown. One day, he hears sounds coming from the barn, ¿Click, clack, moo. Clickety, clack, moo.¿ Farmer Brown knows that he has an old typewriter in the barn, but cows that type? No way! Farmer Brown then finds a typed note from the cows, ¿Dear Farmer Brown, The barn is very cold at night. We'd like some electric blankets. Sincerely, The Cows.¿ Is the note really from the cows? Will Farmer Brown give them blankets? You¿ll have to read it to find out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Great book, very funny!

    This is a great book. It was delivered to a friend as requested. There were 2 books on my order though, and as of 3 weeks later, it has not been shipped, and I keep getting requests to delay the order. I am extremely dissatisfied with Barnes & Nobel service on this order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    This is one of my favorite children's books.  Not only is it a d

    This is one of my favorite children's books.  Not only is it a delightful story, but it gives children a glimpse at the art of negotiation.  It is illustrated nicely and gets the attention of young readers through it's brilliant artistry.  This is a "must read" for any child and parent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Read it all in one night!

    Clever story of solidarity and the power of the many when faced with oppression. Take it to any Union meeting--an instant hit!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    A Classic Childrens Book!

    Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type is a great book for parents and teachers to read to children ages 2-5. This book is great for begining readers because its funny how the cows are made to be like humans and are able to type, which makes the story enjoyable and hilarious. I like how the cows and later on the other animals use the typewriter to negociate with the Farmer Brown for things they want. Also, this book has great pictures that fit well with the text. The ending was a surprise as well! This book is a wonderful addition to any library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type

    Farmer Brown¿s cows are not your ordinary cows, they like to type, ¿Click, clack, moo. Click, clack, moo. Clickety, clack, moo.¿ As if the typing cows were not strange enough, one day Farmer Brown found a typed note from the cows demanding electric blankets. He told them no, and they went on strike saying, ¿Sorry. We¿re closed. No milk today.¿ Soon, the hens joined the cows in their strike saying, ¿No eggs,¿ for they were denied electric blankets as well. Farmer Brown didn¿t know what to do. With no milk and no eggs, how could he run his farm? Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type is a great story with a great lesson for children of all ages. The cows in the story are determined to get electric blankets from the farmer because they are cold, and even though he says no, they don¿t just give up they are persistent about getting what they want. This story teaches children that while sometimes getting what you want may seem impossible, if you are persistent and do not give up, you just might get what you want. Doreen Cronin lives in New York City with her husband, Andrew, and their daughter, Julia. Growing up in Long Island, New York, her father was a police officer and he always brought home funny stories to tell to his family. He influenced her to want to become a police officer or an FBI agent. However, she changed her mind and decided to go to law school. While she was there, her father died, and she became too sad to go to law school any longer. And a few weeks later, she woke up in the middle night and wrote her very first book, Click Clack Moo, Cows that Type. She eventually finished law school and became an attorney. Cronin, Doreen. Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type. New York: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2000. RL: Ages 5-8, Grades K-3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Review for class

    Can cows type? Can they go on strike? If you want to find out read Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type. This is a story about Farmer Brown and his typing cows. One day Farmer Brown heard a noise 'clickety clack moo.' then he began finding notes 'Sorry. We're closed. No milk today.' Why were the cows closed? Read the book to find out. Doreen Cronin is the author of this book. She is from Long Island, NY and is an attorney. Cronin, Doreen. Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2000.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Click, Clack, Moo Review

    CALDECOTT: The book, Click, Clack, Moo Cows That Type, is a very enjoyable book. I thought it was really cute and entertaining. Children would like this book for sure. I like the fact that the animals started the negotiating and they would not give up. This book has a lot of imagination in it. The ending of story was very cute too. The cows did what they said they would do if they got what they wanted. But, the twist was the ducks took over trying negotiating. I really liked this book. Doreen Cronin was born and raised in New York. She lived with her mom, dad, two brothers and sister in a red house on a busy street in Merrick, Long Island. Her dad was a police officer and he was very, very funny. Even though being a police officer is dangerous work, her dad always had a hilarious story to tell. After listening to her father's wild tales, she decided she wanted to be a police officer or an FBI agent. She is not brave enough to be a police officer or an FBI agent! Doreen was brave enough to work in publishing (which she did for a few years). Then she decided to go to law school. You do not have to be very brave to go to law school, either (although it can be a little scarey!) Her father then got very, very sick and passed away. She was too sad to go to law school. A few weeks later, she woke up in the middle of the night and she wrote Click Clack Moo, Cows that Type. It made her laugh, just like her father used to do. She went to law school and got a job! Then Click Clack Moo was published. The book was in all the stores. It even won an award. Doreen lives in New York City with her husband, Andrew, and their daughter, Julia. They make her laugh as much as her father did! Click, Clack Moo Cows That Type, book is about typing cows on a farm. The farmer an hear them typing all day long. The cows requested electric blankets. The farmer refused to fill their request, so the cows decided to go on strike and not give milk. The farmer was very angry by their decision. The hens decide they want blankets too because it is cold. Once again the farmer refuses, so both the cows and hens are on strikes. The farmer refuses to give them what they want and demands them to begin working again. The cows then decide they will give up the typewriter if they get blankets. They will give the typewriter to the duck to take to the farmer. The farmer agrees, so the cows and hens get their blankets. However, the duck does not take the typewriter to the farmer. He takes it to the pond to start their own negotiating. ¿Farmer Brown has a problem. His cows like to type. All day long he hears Click, clack, moo. Click, clack, moo. Click, clack, moo¿. This is the part of the story where the book begins to tell about the cows typing and the problem it is for the farmer. ¿The next morning he got a note: Dear Farmer Brown, The pond is quite boring. We¿d like a diving board. Sincerely, The Ducks¿. This is the end of the book where the ducks now have the typewriter. They start asking for requests like the cows and hens did hoping to receive what they are wanting. Cronin, Doreen. Click, Clack, Moo Cows That Type. New York: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers, 2000. Grade Level: 2nd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Fun Book

    I think I enjoy this book even more than my children! Everyone I've shared this book with loves it! Very well done...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    howdy this here is the best book ever

    HI i am 16 yrs old and i love this book i read this book for a speech project and my other class mates loved it and i recomend that everyone get's it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Tons of Laughter and Quality Time with My Children

    I truly enjoy this book, the pictures are funny and the storyline is hilarious. This book gives me more laughter than a funny sitcom on TV. More importantly, it allows me to share the fun with my beloved twins and at the same time spending quality time with them. I always enjoy reading but I never realized reading children books could be so relax and rewarding until couple months ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    I think this is the best book I have ever read in my whole life. Its about cows that want electric blankets. Its really funny.

    My favorite character is Co because he is funny . I liked the time my character typed a letter to the farmer Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    I loved this book

    I thought this book was great I laughed out lound in the book store when I read it. I knew I just had to have it. Although the price is a little high I think it is worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Laughed so hard I had tears!

    I'm not sure if my son thought this book was a funny as I did, but I laughed so hard I was crying, he got impatient with me because he wanted me to read but all I could do was laugh. Very funny!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4