BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Client

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

One of my favorite books. Has a great storyline that keeps you reading.

posted by 13301168 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

New favorite book

Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawye...
Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawyer and then Mark's told the secret. I've heard of John Grisham and his books like the Firm for example. The Client's now one of my favorites and is an easy read. Mark is a brave character including Reggie Love. The book has more details concerning the characters. Like how it goes from Mark than to the other characters and you get an idea on what they're like and etc. This book is more towards the kind of reader that likes murder mysteries and suspense. Overall a good read and recommend the movie.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Love this book!

    One of my favorite books. Has a great storyline that keeps you reading.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!!!!!

    I watched the movie first and then I read the book. I am so impressed as to how much I loved the book. The movie was great but the book lets you really get into the action. If you are not sure as to if you really want to read this book, well I am here to tell you that you will not be sorry for buying it. Once you get started reading it, it is very hard to put it down. YOU WILL ENJOY READING THIS BOOK!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    New favorite book

    Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawyer and then Mark's told the secret. I've heard of John Grisham and his books like the Firm for example. The Client's now one of my favorites and is an easy read. Mark is a brave character including Reggie Love. The book has more details concerning the characters. Like how it goes from Mark than to the other characters and you get an idea on what they're like and etc. This book is more towards the kind of reader that likes murder mysteries and suspense. Overall a good read and recommend the movie.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!!!!

    Awesome read....As always, Grisham delivers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is beutifully written full of the suspense that john grisham has made us love this book goes through the traumatic experiance a poor child has gotten himself into along with his brother in a coma, an a oppressive d.a. who is hoping for a hire office, a lawyer who kills himself, and a child who knows a little too much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Enjoyed book ... Good read.

    As always hard to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Always Enjoyable

    This is the third time that I have read this book and find it enjoyable every time. I feel this is John Grisham at his best. It is a story of two young boys who witness a suicide that forever changes their lives. With the help of Attorney Reggie Love they work through the legal system. Action packed and never dull.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Yo momma

    Phat titty

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Boring.

    Nothing much happened.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    i attend West Boca Raton Community High....ive never liked readi

    i attend West Boca Raton Community High....ive never liked reading but ever since we go a NOOKS in my intensive reading clas ive fell in love with reading THE CLIENT....Jim your the best ever since we began reading your book ive never stopped reading it...i wish i could get all of your books but unfortunately i cant ....but thankss best book by the way¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Great!

    I am reading John Grisham books in order. I loved this book. I looked forward to reading it every night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    The Client

    Seemed a little long to reach the conclusion but still enjoyable. I enjoy this authors writing technigue, never to disappoint with a great ennding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A Must Read!

    I have never been disappointed with a John Grisham book! This is one of my favorites.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    ditto

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Loved the movie

    Cant wait to read the book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Looking Forward to read other Grisham's court room drama novels

    I was really interested to read Grisham books. Few of my friends recommended his work. "The Client" is the first Grisham novel that I'd read. It's neither a bad or a good piece of literature. I'd like to say that I'd also watched the film adaptation but it never gave me the satisfaction of its theme. The only thing that kept my attention is the relationship of the young boy and her lady lawyer. I think this book will catch the interest of readers who love court room dramas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    EH!

    The plot sounded fantastic but the story was just mediocre Grisham can do much much better but if you want a quick read its good for the beach or a vacation but not if you want something thought provoking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good read

    Read it in about a week with ease. The story just keeps you going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Luna

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    If your looking for a fast paced action packed book this one is for you..

    This is the first book I read from John, it wont be my last.. Action packed, heart racing thrill...I rented the movie after i read the book and as usual the book was so much better.. I just bought a time to kill highly recommend, by friends cant wait to get into it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12