Customer Reviews for

The Client

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

One of my favorite books. Has a great storyline that keeps you reading.

posted by 13301168 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

New favorite book

Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawye...
Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawyer and then Mark's told the secret. I've heard of John Grisham and his books like the Firm for example. The Client's now one of my favorites and is an easy read. Mark is a brave character including Reggie Love. The book has more details concerning the characters. Like how it goes from Mark than to the other characters and you get an idea on what they're like and etc. This book is more towards the kind of reader that likes murder mysteries and suspense. Overall a good read and recommend the movie.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Good Book!!

    Very good book first John Grishaam book I ever read and now I am hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham delivers again!!

    John Grisham has succeeded here in writing a heartwarming tale involving an eleven year old kid in trouble, his messed up family, and his possibly more messed up lawyer. I really enjoyed the main character despite him seeming much older than his age at times, but I guess that's the point. While the "thriller" element of the book wasn't high it was charged with emotion. Missing here was Grisham's usual ability to take you into whatever southern city his book takes place in. I never really got that here. Overall though, a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Great Book- must read!

    The Client by John Grisham puts you in the perspective of an eleven year old boy named Mark, who witnesses the suicide of a lawyer who works for the mafia. This lawyer knows and told a secret to Mark about the death of a Louisiana Senator and where the body might be. Unfortunately Mark's little brother Ricky is suffering from a state of shock that he cannot break without proper medical attention. From there the Mafia and the FBI go on a search to find this kid and see what he knows. Luckily, Mark finds a lawyer named Reggie who will stop at nothing to help Mark and his family. After much discussion of the FBI trying to get Mark to tell them where the body is, Mark and Reggie leave to the location of where the lawyer said the body was. Mark finds the body in the boathouse, but the Mafia meets them there and it is up to Reggie and Mark to outsmart them to make it out alive. They do just that by sounding off an alarm of the neighbors who then shoots at the Mafia making a perfect distraction for them to escape. Mark then tells the FBI where the body is and the Mafia is busted. At the very end, Mark and his family head off into a private plane to get Ricky proper medical attention and no one wants to kill or find Mark. One of the major themes in the book is family first. Mark is always thinking about getting Ricky to a hospital and how he needs to stick with his family. Mark also tries to tell them info if they can help his brother and his family. I really liked this book but I personally think that it took too long to get to the action. The beginning was great and really kept me turning the page but it was the middle that kept dragging out. But the ending made up for it. It kept my heart beating fast and I didn't want to stop reading. People should read this book because it is an easy and quick read, and it can really get your heart pumping. I give it 4 out of 5 stars because it was good, but didn't keep me turning the page throughout the whole book and I was tempted to skip to the end multiple times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. It's about a boy who wittenes a murder and the person told him where a senaters dead body is. Then the Mafia starts a 11 year old kid. This is a heart pounding book that you don't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    The Client By John Grisham

    The Story centers around a boy and his family, after the boy and his brother witness a lawyer's suicide. When his brother falls into a comatose state he is left with a deadly secret which he can neither keep nor tell. He is caught in between the FBI questioning him and the only thing keeping him secure his lawyer, Reggie Love. With the Mafia chasing him and the FBI breathing down his neck this story with keep readers begging for more.This is a very well written book and very easy to read. I was caught up in the suspense and action throughout the book. I would recommend this book to anyone over the age of 13. Younger persons may not understand some of the material.With the Mafia chasing him and the FBI breathing down his neck this story will keep readers begging for more. You will want to read every other Grisham book out there.Amazingly gripping and perfectly suspenseful Grisham delivers a hit that will amaze any reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    John Grisham is an amazing writer and he once again captures raeders on an amazing journey in The Client. I am 14 but I still enjoye dthis book. It was suspenseful and very well written. It switches between the point of view of an 11 year old nad other adult characters so it brings in an interesting twist. Mark, an 11 year old child of a single mother who lives in a trailer aprk, and his younger broyther Ricky, witness a suicide. Not only does MArk witness it, but he tries to prevent it. In trying to prevent it, he is told a very dangerous secret. The location of one of the most wanted bodies in the U.S. If he tells where it is, the Mafia will be on him in a heartbeat, they're already threating him. If he doesn't tell, he was the United States of America on him and a lifetime in a juvinile detention facility. He and his lawyer, Reggie Love, must decide when to tell the truth, and when to lie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Book of His

    I have read quite of few of his books and this one has to be my favorite. Was well written and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Review of The Client

    I thought the overall plot of the story was very good. In this story Grisham successfully combines the mafia, law, and suspense. This is a story of a boy who is a witness to a suicide and is left with a deadly secret which he can neither keep nor tell. He is caught in between the FBI questioning him and the only thing keeping him secure his lawyer, Reggie Love. This is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat for most of the story. At some points it got a little confusing, but then something happened that had you begging to know more. The idea of having two kids stumble on a man committing suicide was very intriguing. I have no idea what I would have done in this situation but throughout the book I was thinking about this. The whole story really makes you think of what you would have done. Would you have tried to save the man and would you have told everybody the true story or lied just as eleven year old Mark Sway did. I recommend this book for most people especially fans of Grisham. Although this is only the second book I have read by John Grisham I think I will read alot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    awesome

    I thought this book was awesome.This book got me liking John Grisham's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    The Client

    The Client is a good book to read if you like drama. The book starts with a bang, with Mark and Ricky witnessing the suicide of Clifford, who is the lawyer of Barry ¿the blade¿ Muldano. Barry is being accused of killing Senator Boyd Boyette. People believed that Clifford told Mark where the body of Boyette was, but he is not telling anyone except for his lawyer, Reggie Love. Mark has some mob members threaten him, and they also burn his trailer down. I like this book because John Grisham keeps it interesting by adding sudden violence, threats, or catastrophes. He also use¿s Ricky¿s situation to keep people wondering. He uses Reggie to keep it calm, but she starts to conflict with Mark in court. I also enjoy the hit men that scare Ricky, which allow the story to keep going. I give this book a five star because of its easy ability to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I like The firm, The Pelican brief, The Chamber and A time to kill much better. I will, however, give The client five starts because the story in itself - the secrecy behind the whereabouts of the DB etc. - is very entertaining. The weakness of the story lies in the character of Mark Sway, who's just too smart for an 11-year-old. Very unrealistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    BAD BAD BAD

    I've been reading book since I was a child.I read two books a week and let me tell u that this book was one of the worst.A couple of weeks ago I read 'time to kill' and I loved it.I could not put it down.Then I got 'the painted house' which i didn't like it,although,it was very well written.So,I figured that with all those great reviews and a successfull movie 'the client'was supposed to be a masterpiece. This book was a wasting of time.It was very boring.It had a million of names and characters.The story wasn't credible at all but the worst part was when the lawyer ran away with the kid,(whom by the way talks like a 40 year old man),to go look for the senator body.It left me speechless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    A Novel only Grisham could Write!

    This book was one of the best ones I have ever read. I thought the plot and the many turns that twisted in were excellent. My favorite part of this book was Reggie Love. Her character was one I would have liked to know more about but this not distract me as the reader. Read it, it won't be a wasted of your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    What a good book

    it was good, really

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Cool RHS Students!

    The Client is an extraordinary exhibit of a mob affiliated novel. Grisham provides a smooth transition through settings and character viewpoints, though certain areas of dialogue seem to put a damper on the quick pace of the story. The Client is a quick and satisfying read with very few dull moments. We would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys being forced to the edge of their seat by an irresistible novel, and happens to be interested in court oriented literature. We give it a double WOW! Em, Be, Co

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    counter-point

    It has been a long time since I read this book, but I felt like I needed to get my two cents in when I saw all the glowing reviews this book has gotten. This is one of the worst books I have ever read -- when I finished it, I not only wanted my money back, I wanted my time back, and I wanted to erase it from my brain. The plot has a decent set-up, with a young boy witnessing events that put his life in jeopardy. Unfortunately, the story quickly devolves into formula, with Grisham's usual dimension-less characters and trite dialogue. I actually laughed out loud at many parts, due to the sheer nonsense Grisham had concocted. This book was so bad, it made me quit reading Grisham altogether, although I admit I did enjoy the Firm and the Pelican Brief (two plots that ape each other, and the Client borrows heavily from both) as guilty pleasures. Grisham is a hack that only Harriet Klausner should love. Don't read this book, and if you do, don't say I didn't warn you....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    wow what a great book

    This book is addicting. It keeps you on the edge of your seat all the way to the last page. Whether you have read several of John Grisham's books or if this is your first, it will be enjoyable. I really liked how descriptive his writing is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Brilliant

    The first book from Joh Grisham that I've read and it's awesome. Absolutely great! I was very impressed with the author. I love the character of Mark Sway. I love the flow of the story, actually I love everything about this book. It's very vivid in details and the story keeps pouring in I can't help on turning the pages, I was really amazed that I finished reading it in a day. John Grisham is one of the best and I'll be reading more of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Graudate student

    I really enjoy reading John Grisham books. My first book was 'A Painted House, which I loved. He is a terrific storyteller, one of a kind. This novel in particular was great, although it was a bit slow at times, but still great. The characters are rich and vivid. I highly recommend this book not just to Grisham fans, but to anybody who likes to read a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    R.A.Long High school

    This was one of the best books i have ever read in this genre. It expressed great detail in every situation and had brought the characters to feel real. i would easily recomend this book to anyone, even those not sure about this type of genre would like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12