Customer Reviews for

The Client

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

One of my favorite books. Has a great storyline that keeps you reading.

posted by 13301168 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

New favorite book

Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawye...
Really liked the movie and wondered if the book was good or not. So I read it and kept turning page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. Would Mark talk or not? What will happen to his family? It all started when Mark and Ricky saw the car and the lawyer and then Mark's told the secret. I've heard of John Grisham and his books like the Firm for example. The Client's now one of my favorites and is an easy read. Mark is a brave character including Reggie Love. The book has more details concerning the characters. Like how it goes from Mark than to the other characters and you get an idea on what they're like and etc. This book is more towards the kind of reader that likes murder mysteries and suspense. Overall a good read and recommend the movie.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    A Novel only Grisham could Write!

    This book was one of the best ones I have ever read. I thought the plot and the many turns that twisted in were excellent. My favorite part of this book was Reggie Love. Her character was one I would have liked to know more about but this not distract me as the reader. Read it, it won't be a wasted of your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    What a good book

    it was good, really

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Cool RHS Students!

    The Client is an extraordinary exhibit of a mob affiliated novel. Grisham provides a smooth transition through settings and character viewpoints, though certain areas of dialogue seem to put a damper on the quick pace of the story. The Client is a quick and satisfying read with very few dull moments. We would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys being forced to the edge of their seat by an irresistible novel, and happens to be interested in court oriented literature. We give it a double WOW! Em, Be, Co

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    wow what a great book

    This book is addicting. It keeps you on the edge of your seat all the way to the last page. Whether you have read several of John Grisham's books or if this is your first, it will be enjoyable. I really liked how descriptive his writing is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Brilliant

    The first book from Joh Grisham that I've read and it's awesome. Absolutely great! I was very impressed with the author. I love the character of Mark Sway. I love the flow of the story, actually I love everything about this book. It's very vivid in details and the story keeps pouring in I can't help on turning the pages, I was really amazed that I finished reading it in a day. John Grisham is one of the best and I'll be reading more of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    R.A.Long High school

    This was one of the best books i have ever read in this genre. It expressed great detail in every situation and had brought the characters to feel real. i would easily recomend this book to anyone, even those not sure about this type of genre would like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    wonderful! wonderful!

    My first John Grisham novel and not the last. I really loved this book!it had pace and it really grabbed me!some parts i thought it was unbelievable...but sometimes unbelievable things happen in real life...5 star.i read it in one week and two days...the fastest book i have read...makes me really get interested in the LAW!!! so cool,by the way i live in Zimbabwe...bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2004

    grisham at his best

    The best grisham book i've read so far... the plot is awesome and the story captures u the moment u start reading the book... can't get any better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    The best ever...

    The client is without doubt the most exquisite book that i have ever read by John Grisham. It is a fascinating book that just goes to show what a great author John Grisham is! He is simply the best. Even after reading lots of books by Grisham, 'The Client' still remains my all time favourite. I love everything about the book...especially the character of Mark Sway! He is a great kid who even at 11 happens to be very bright and cunning! It was kinda funny to see him annoying the FBI! John Grisham really outdone himself with 'The Client'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    I loved this book!!

    This book was my favorites of John Grisham's! He is an awesome writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Perhaps the best so far

    Words cannot express the slendor and genius of 'The Client'. I have tried in vain to find a John Grisham novel that surpasses this; hasn't happened yet. This is a great edge of your seat thriller. If you are new to the world of John Grisham novels, perhaps the best place to start is with 'The Client'. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    My personal favorite

    I read this book 10 years ago and to this very day this is still my favorite John Grisham book. I've read the most recent books and it doesn't have the 'edge of your seat feel' that this book has. If you haven't read a John Grisham book...this is the ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    FBI/MOB THRILLER

    ALTHOUGH I LOVE EVERYONE OF JOHN GRISHAMS BOOKS 'THE CLIENT' HAS GOT TO BE MY ALL TIME FAVORITE OF HIS BOOKS BECAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT AND THE ENDING WILL REALLY SURPRISE YOU. 2 YOUNG CHILDREN ARE OUT IN THE WOODS AND BY ACCIDENT FIND OUT SOME INFORMATION THEY SHOULD NOT KNOW. THE MOB, THE POLICE, AND THE FBI ALL SUSPECT THESE 2 CHILDREN KNOW THIS. HOWEVER THE ONLY THING THAT STANDS BETWEEN THESE 2 CHILDREN AND THE MOB AND THE FBI AND THE POLICE IS A VERY SMART LAWYER. JOHN GRISHAM HAS THE PERFECT CHARATERS AND A VERY DETAILED PLOT. YOU WONT BE ABLE TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    It is the best book ever!

    This is an awesome book. The characters are so distinct and just by reading the book you feel a connection with them. If Mark Sway is threatened you get mad. It's amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    IT IS TOUGH USING AN 11-YEAR OLD KID AS A HERO FOR A STORY LIKE THIS, BUT GRISHAM MAKES IT WORK!

    11-year old Mark Sway is a normal kid. He lives in a traler park in memphis with his mother and his younger brother Ricky who is 8. Marks parents are devorsed and he is like an 11 year old father to Ricky. At the opaning of the novel Mark and Ricky are in the woods, Mark is trying to teach Ricky how to smoke. A car comes along, Mark and Ricky hide under the bushes. The driver steps out and removes a water hose from the trunk, stikes one end of it into the exsaust pipe and runs the other end through the window then hurries back to his door. Mark knowes that the man is trying to kill himself. He crawls to the car and tries to save the mans life by removing the hose from the exsaust pipe. But instead is grabbed by the man and dragged into the car. The man explains that he is crazy. He is a lawyer from New Orlens His name is Jerome Cliford otherwise known as Romey. He is involved in the senater boyd boyet case, his cliant is the mafia man charged with the murder. The kellers name is barry muldano. Barry had recently told his lawyer where he hid the senatars body. He hid it in romey's house in his grauge. Mark suddenly runs out of the car and Romey steps out of the car with a gun. He shoots himself. Ricky goes into shock when Romey shoots himself. Sudenly mark is no ordeanry kid playing hide and seek at the traler park. He is a pawn in a deadly game. The f.bi. will do anything to make mark talk. And the mafia will do anything to keep him quiet. Mark's only ally is a womman named Reggie Love who has been a lawyer for about 5 years. Reggie will do anything to protect mark. Even take a last minnite gamble that can win Mark his fredom or cost them both there lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    This is a good book!

    The Client is a page-turner that you just can't put down. He is a very talented author. He is very descriptive. He knows a lot about what he is writing because he is a lawyer. he makes his books lots of fun to read. In this book Romey (the lawyer who wants to die) runs away from a trial in front of a grand jury because he knows his client (a cold-blooded murderer) is guilty and also knows were the body has been disposed and it is making him go insane. One of my favorite parts is when mark tries to keep Romey from killing himself and gets caught. That whole scene is really intense and heart-pounding. Another of my favorite parts is when Mark and Reggie escape to New Orleans to see if the body is really were Romey said it was. I recomend this book to anyone who likes mysteries or law related books. You should read it because #1 It is reallyintense. #2 It is a murder mystery. #3 the main character is always on the move. #4 It's very suspenseful. #5 The characters all have thier own interesting personalites. These are only five of the many reasons that you or anyone else you know should read "The Client".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    The Best Book I've Ever Read!

    I think that this book has the best story line to it. I'm only 12 years old and I think it is one of the best I've read (and I've read a lot).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    The Client

    I think this book is incredibly vibrant and everybody who likes suspense should definitely read this. John Grisham is definitely at his best. This is by far the best book he has put out. This high suspense book is based on a horrible suicide that will haunt Mark and Danny Sway for the rest of their lives. And the worst part about it is that Mark (the older brother) has been lying to the cops the whole time. He wonders if he should tell the cops because his little brother is traumatized from the whole suicide. Now he is taking on the state, Mafia, and even the FBI. And the killer won¿t let the secret get out no matter what, and that includes killing Mark!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    very good book

    i had to read this book for my 9th grade english class and even though the length kinda scared me at first, it was definitely worth every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    I never read the book.

    My name is bob. I failed to read this book. I just really hate the fat cats at Barnes and Noble. Take that Barnes and Noble!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6