Customer Reviews for

Cliffs AP Biology

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    best book ever purchased

    i didn't take the AP Bio class, just read/skimmed this book as well as little bit of a bio textbook and got a five. It shows you everything you need to know, plus more details to keep it interesting. Very complete and easy to read! Way better than princeton review -Lyla

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Buy this book

    I would highly recommend this book. I used it the week before the test, and I got a 5. It makes the test simple.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Really Good Book

    I think this is a really good book because it brings in the concepts needed for the AP test and gives it to you in plain English. I used it before the test and I was so nervous but after using this, I felt much more confident. It's a must buy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    Greatest book ever

    This book saved my life 3 times. Freshman year I passed biology by reading this book. At the end of the year I scored a 720 on my SAT II Biology because of this book. Junior year in AP Biology, this book was so useful that I read this book instead of my textbook. A must have if you plan to do well in Biology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Evie

    She tries to grab Night but misses "Night!" Tears stream done her face....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    The best review book for the subject

    I used this book last year to study for the AP exam and found it to be helpful and concise. I got a 5 on the exam and had self- studied. I recommend it to all my friends taking the exam and know that my friend, who also used this book, liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Butterfly

    Butterfly drags herself back to the house. "I advise you to check on me every 30 seconds."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    N

    "STOP TWILIGHT!!!", kaitlyn marches in, "You DO have something to live for! Are you forgetting that you have two other kits to look after!? If you die they will too, and they will be no better than Leaf! Do you really want to live in the cat house in the sky thinking that!? That you killed your other two kits for just one? Do not jump, not just for me, but for your other kits. You do have something to live for, WE ARE YOUR FAMILY!!!! Do. Not. Die!" She finished, tears bubbling up in her eyes, but her words hit her with the strength of a bull.
    Love, Kaitlyn

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Shadowfur

    A beutiful shecat walks in her black fur glinting and her green eyes shinning* hi as u can see i already have plenty of muscles but im looking for true warriors not warriors wanna bes any way go to the lights to join its not exactly a clan we fight evil

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Brilliant

    This book is great for all those taking AP Biology. The course is so broad that this is great to fill in holes in your knowledge, as many classes are not able to get to every single little detail. There is a review of the labs in the back, which is somewhat helpful, and the tests are okay (though I recommend using actual AP test questions, most AP Biology teachers have, from the College Board, actual past AP tests they will let students use to study). I do recommend however, reading through this book a little before the test, and then use it as a study guide. It's not a replacement for a textbook, but it manages to, in a small book, keep a good balance between detail and breadth. If you have AP Biology and are nervous about the AP test, or don't have time to reread the entire textbook (and really who can do that if they have multiple AP's?), BUY THIS BOOK, it is a lifesaver. Thanks to it, I got a 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    GET THIS BOOK

    I studied this the weekend before the AP Bio test and got a 5. This is THE book for procrastinators.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    AMAZING

    this is 100% the book to buy for AP bio. the practice questions are a little easy, but it covers the notes AND the labs which is great. my teacher even used the notes sometimes as our class notes - the notes are totally awesome. whenever i needed to study a lot for a test i just pulled out this book and reviewed for a bit and was successful. you won't be dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Definitely THE book to get

    I got this book a week before I took the AP exam sophmore year. The info was great, and it wasn't bogged down with extraneous details. I thought it was especially good review for the free-response because it outlined the process & details. Its chapters on photosynthesis and respiraion are really worth studying. Although it used some unfamiliar terms, I thought it was IMMENSELY helpful for the actual exam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Best AP Biology Test Prep Book

    Cliff Notes is the best of the best in AP Biology test prep. It has very detailed information, although not as detailed as Barron's, but unlike Barron's (6th Edition), Cliff Notes organized the endless information with effective bullets, lists, charts, and most importantly, BOLDED key words. With a combination of Barron's and Cliff's you can't go wrong. Use Barron's as a 'reference' book for anything you don't understand in Cliff's. Whatever you do, don't get Princeton 2002-2003.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    This will simplify your life

    This book is written so that the material can actually be comprehended. It is so much easier than just reading the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2002

    Buy this book NOW!

    With the help of this amazing book, I got a 5 on the AP Biology test- no problem at all. This book was a lifesaver. The textbook we used for the class was horrible (Keeton and Gould's Biological Science), I read like one chapter the whole year. I stuck to my awesome teacher's lectures/notes (I love you Mr. Van Loo!) and this book. It provides such a great review of everything you need to know for the test and for your class. The mini-quizzes are a great help, and they come with explanations for every question. EVERYONE in my class had the Cliff's, and for good reason. Near AP cram time, all you would see is big, bright yellow books! The only other book people had was Princeton Review, and there were many complaints that it expects you to know everything already and that there were some MAJOR errors. I think almost EVERYONE in my class passed the AP test, most of them with 5's! I highly suggest getting the Cliff's over any others- you'll be on your way to that 4 or 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Forget the text book, you need one of this...

    This makes AP Biology a little less hectic, Especially if your school uses the Audesirk Biology on Earth book or other complicated book. This is all you need and be sure to get it in September so you can use all through out the year. Oh yeah this book is great, but don't buy the Cliff's Chemistry book cause it's a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    good for review

    I had a really good and experienced AP Bio teacher who recommended Cliff Notes AP Bio. I used them beginning one month before the AP Exam during my teacher's afterschool review sessions. The explanations are concise and organized. (However, some of the diagrams like for photosynthesis were kinda bizarre.) With this book, don't be afraid to mark it up with notes on the side or put labels in it (unless you wish to sell it later). Although I did get a 5 on the AP Exam, it wasn't just through Cliff Notes. You have study with your AP Bio class throughout the year. Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    A life saver!

    I actually just got this book today. I read the whole section that coordinated with what I am currently doing in my AP Biology class. Then I took the self-quiz for the chapter in the Neil Campbell 4th edition Biology book. For the first time ever I got every single question right! I feel very confident for the upcoming test!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    This is a very good book.

    I like this book because it is easy to understand it. You can use this book not only for studying for the last AP test but for all other tests from your AP Biology class. I am in high school and it is really hard to understand the college books that we are given. This book understands all the things I did not understand. I am getting good grades in my AP class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2