Customer Reviews for

The Clique (Clique Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(837)

4 Star

(157)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

I J'dore The Clique

The clique is ah-mazing. Although the characters are bratty, spoiled, and selfish it is a good book because it teaches you how to deal with problems and there are stuff in this book that would probably never happen in real life such as a 12 year old girl needing the lat...
The clique is ah-mazing. Although the characters are bratty, spoiled, and selfish it is a good book because it teaches you how to deal with problems and there are stuff in this book that would probably never happen in real life such as a 12 year old girl needing the latest fashions everyday. I reccomend this book for girls that want to read about friendship, girl stuff, and last but not least cliques.

posted by KewlGirl on May 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

What a shame....

I've read bad books before, but this is just bad. I don't care if it's a popular series or if it's best-seller. Popularity doesn't tell you how good the book really is. Since almost every girl was reading this, I gave in and read it. This was one of the most shameful ex...
I've read bad books before, but this is just bad. I don't care if it's a popular series or if it's best-seller. Popularity doesn't tell you how good the book really is. Since almost every girl was reading this, I gave in and read it. This was one of the most shameful examples of our society today. These girls are seventh-graders! They act and talk like adults! The brand-name mentions, the cheesy phrases! Is this a book, or a magazine? The plot is nothing but fluff and they don't have real problems. This shows really how easy it is to write something and publish it. There are other more decent, better books out there. This book does not deserve the popularity it has. I'm ashamed to be in the age group this book is targeted to.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Terrible

    I think this book is sick!:( they are only seventh graders, my freshman sister nevet had gone on a date and neither have her friends. I think this author is grosssssss!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Repulsive

    Worst book ever

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    What happend

    WHAT HAPPEND THE WORST THING THAT EVER HEAT AMERICA!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Parents think before you make your actions!

    I had very good memories of these books.. My daughter Hannah Wilson

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    @whats the clique

    Its like an exclusive club

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Oh harder

    F*** off

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    hi

    it was good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book was not good!i found better books like the pretty little liars series.dont waste ur time.personally it was boring its like every other preppy girly manipulative book out there. if ur into that stuff u know 1 star books than this is all 4 u. i just dont recommend it. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Umm.,... What is this??

    Read a classic if you want good lititure. Read a good book. Reading this is a waste of time. Nobdy acts like Massie-- The pretty committee. If anybody actually called someone an LBR THEY would be a loser beynd repair. Read a good book-- not this! Save your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Worst Book I've Read In a While

    After reading the first two books in the Clique series,I realized that I had wasted two hours reading them. I did not like them, at all. But let me start off by saying to all the girls who didn't like it and said that the characters were shallow and mean : that's the point of the book. But, the author did a bad job of making the girl's meanness realistic. Most girls aren't straight out mean, they're sneaky about it. I also hate how all these books basiclly say that if you have money, and friends, you're just about the meanest girl on the planet. That's not how it's really like. All in all, I thought this book was a waste of paper, and won't be reading any more of The Clique books, haha.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    not good

    I used to really like these books, but the plots now seem soooo unrealistic. And even though it might not seem like it, the characters are all really dorky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    *THE* most shallow book I have ever read

    I can't believe that I actually used to like The Clique series. Most of the characters are some of the most shallow, self- centered, materialistic, and meanest girls I have ever read about. Why would anyone want to read this inane writing completely escapes me, especially when there are so many better books out there. And to anyone who claims your life is exactly like the series, I suggest you step back and take a good look at your friends and your own way of thinking. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Clique (Clique Series #1)

    These books are shallow, badly written and absolutely a waste of money and time. If I wanted to, I could finish this in less than a day, but I wouldn't pick it up for a thousand dollars. Reading this underminds the important values, and says that being smart isn't as important as being pretty (or even MORE important) being popular.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    a reviewer

    The Clique was just about the worst book I ever read! What do you people see in it anyway? Who wants to learn to be mean??? And anyway, Massie just makes people feel bad about themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Gives preteen girls a terrible name

    After several of my friends reccommended this book to me, I was tempted to buy the first book. But when I finished reading The Clique, I was disgusted. The Clique zooms in on the many social issues girls about age eleven and up face - the cool people, fashion, what's in and out, and whether you're 'worthy' of being considered even a half-decent person. But instead of going against these issues that cause many girls tears and stress, the book promotes them. Yes - it promotes picking on unfashionable people, being a reckless spendthrift, and practically living for spending time with your friends trying to become beautiful. Some might argue with me, saying that the book doesn't straight-out declare that these things are good, but the fact that all the main characters do these things and easily handle them could inspire any girl to do the same thing. There's already too many things in the media saying that you must be beautiful to be a decent person without a book series saying the same thing. And the story is just like those annoying advertisements on television. The most beautiful, most fashionable girls live in the most lovely houses, while the least fashionable girl is forced to live in one of their guest houses. Why should we make more people think that by spending all your money, you'll become rich? In conclusion, if you're one of the minority of the preteen-teen female population that thinks beauty, wealth, attitude, bullying and vanity aren't the ideal qualities in a girl (are they even 'qualities' in themselves?), then stay away from The Clique. Chances are, you'll be grateful for doing so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    ANNOYING PRETEENS!!

    I think this series is a really bad rip-off of 'Gossip Girl' and 'The A-List'. I definitely don't recommend this series for teenagers who aren't squealing Hilary Duff preteen fans. The insults and jokes (if you can call those pathetic things jokes and insults) are really immature and corny. This author does a really poor job in describing what the characters are wearing. Her descriptions of the clothes and accessories are mediocre compared to those in 'Gossip Girl' and 'The A-list'. I can't believe I even bought and read this pathetic book in the first place. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    ANNOYING

    i live in westchester county, and who really cares about the lives of annoying rich girls? I mean, really, who cares about louis vuitton and prada. I do have a designer craze and things but that doesn't make a good book. i love shopping for brands at the westchester mall and bloomingdales and i was drawn into this book because it's from my hometown. A clique is what you all go through in some point of your lives and there are so many books out there right now that discuss the cliques and the money$$$. Come on, people. Get OVER it. These things doesn't make a good plot or storyline.Yes, westchester is very exclusive and i go to a private school here but i think there's no substance at all. it's a book you'll read, love, and quickly forget and move on to the gossip girl series or the a-list. that kind of thing. ANNOYING is a perfect word, especially is when it's all marketing brands and how 'exclusive' westchester county is and how rich they all are. People who are rich don't gloat about it. When you brag about being rich you are being so cheap. POOR. BAD. AND DISSAPOINTING, but most of all, ANNOYING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    NOT GOOD!

    I didn't enjoy reading this book. I thought it was some what slow at times. There were also so content and grammar errors. I don't recommend this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3