Customer Reviews for

The Clique (Clique Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(838)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

I J'dore The Clique

The clique is ah-mazing. Although the characters are bratty, spoiled, and selfish it is a good book because it teaches you how to deal with problems and there are stuff in this book that would probably never happen in real life such as a 12 year old girl needing the lat...
The clique is ah-mazing. Although the characters are bratty, spoiled, and selfish it is a good book because it teaches you how to deal with problems and there are stuff in this book that would probably never happen in real life such as a 12 year old girl needing the latest fashions everyday. I reccomend this book for girls that want to read about friendship, girl stuff, and last but not least cliques.

posted by KewlGirl on May 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

What a shame....

I've read bad books before, but this is just bad. I don't care if it's a popular series or if it's best-seller. Popularity doesn't tell you how good the book really is. Since almost every girl was reading this, I gave in and read it. This was one of the most shameful ex...
I've read bad books before, but this is just bad. I don't care if it's a popular series or if it's best-seller. Popularity doesn't tell you how good the book really is. Since almost every girl was reading this, I gave in and read it. This was one of the most shameful examples of our society today. These girls are seventh-graders! They act and talk like adults! The brand-name mentions, the cheesy phrases! Is this a book, or a magazine? The plot is nothing but fluff and they don't have real problems. This shows really how easy it is to write something and publish it. There are other more decent, better books out there. This book does not deserve the popularity it has. I'm ashamed to be in the age group this book is targeted to.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    'Stupid Girls'

    This book makes Gossip Girls look like an intelligent, indepth book series. This book is more then just your typical,shallow, adolscent novel, its also horribly written. I actually enjoy reading books like this, usually.I'm beginning to feel like these types of novels are an epidemic! Everyone I know is reading them, and there so stupid & shallow! I get we live in cultrue where Paris Hilton is a role model and all that matters is clothes but for godsakes, its now infecting books! Look I'm not saying go out and read Jane Austen but these books are beneath teenagers. I would recommend this book to any one into the O.C. but if you have a brain, this pathetic excuse for literture is not for you.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wouldnt recommend

    I honestly feel like these books are for 4th-7th graders.not for the mature crowd.u will easily get bored with this series.i dont like the fact that the author makes these little 7th graders seem so spoiled !hate it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Honest rating

    I have read the entire series, and this is my honest opinion on the books. When I started reading the Clique books about 5 years ago, when I was 12, I really liked them. Then, as I, along with my taste in literature, matured, I began to realize that the books aren't nearly as good as I thought. The moral of the story is decent, but the overall plot is shallow, and the writing style is subpar. The characters are all exaggerated stereotypes - Massie is the "mean girl", Alicia is the "spanish beauty", Dylan the "tomboy", Kristen is the "smart one", and Claire is the "nervous new girl". Not very realistic, either. The most frequently used word in the series is "Ehmagawd!". Geared for girls ages 11-14. Overall, this series is strikingly unremarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Bad!

    These girls are in 12 for crying out loud! They are hard to like because they are shallow and just soo stupid! They are in 7th grade and act like they are 17. Stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    CATTY!

    IT SUCKS!! I hate books about stupid rich girls! All they talk about is designer clothes and plastic surgery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Ify

    I started reading this book, but not on my nook. I thought i wad going to love this book. I thought wrong:(. I tried to read this book , but it just didnt work out.:(:(:(:(:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    H The Clique

    I have the movie of this book and i thought the book sample i got was really boring the movie was more intrsting than the book i give the book a 2 just cuz it was ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I was sooo dissapointed

    I thought since my friends said it was a good book I would read it, I started it in seventh grade ended it in eighth I am now in 10th, I really wish I hadnt wasted all that time on these books! I didnt like the bullying or how childish it was made to be. I didnt even finish all the books I had like one or two left to go but I was just fed up. Would not recomend for people who want a mature setting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Parents Beware

    Oh do I have good memories of these books...my daughter started reading them when she was 13 years old in the seventh grade (She's seventeen now and a junior in high school) and she absolutely adored them. While I liked seeing her reading rather than browsing the internet or watching mindless television, I realized that these books were just as bad. The book centers around a middle school clique called "The Pretty Committee" where each girl is spoiled, snobby, greedy, and incredibly cruel. My daughter was very impressionable so these girls and their lifestyles definitely had an impact on her; suddenly she wanted all these designer things because they had them. I can remember my daughter asking me to buy her a Chanel purse when she was just 13 or 14 years old. Of course I said no, and my daughter began to develop a very snotty attitude. Suddenly nothing was good enough for her; she wanted all designer makeup, designer clothes, perfumes, jewelry, etc. The characters in these books make young girls feel like they aren't good enough if they don't have the things they do, and that can't be seriously damaging to a young girls self esteem. Although my daughter is grown now and sees just how ridiculous these books are, I still don't recommend any young girl reading these. Stick to Harry Potter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for me.

    I'm not going to lie, I bought this book because I heard there was a movie coming out. It's not a bad book, just not for me. I think it would be a great read for people under the age of 15. Which I am not. But hey, you can be 40 and really like this book. Who knows? But I think it's more aimed at younger girls. If I was one then I honestly would probably be running to get the next book. Good writing, but like I said, it's just not for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    blah....

    i used to love this series. i've read them all so when i waswaiting for the next book to come out i decided to read twilight because a friend reccomended it to me.... twilight- best series ever! i tried to read the next clique book after that and just couldn't get through it. it was boring, dumb, and i guess maybe too childish for me. maybe thats why i just don't like them anymore. i would reccomend this to girls in 5 and 6 grade maybe. i suggest you put this book down and go pick twilight. but thats just my opinion. a lot of kids like this book but i'm just not one of them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Terrible!!!!

    I thought this book would be good, but i got disappointed....this book is so un-mature and really just bad...i could barely finish it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    Not What It's Built Up To Be

    I know I'm about to get slammed for saying this, but I expected way more from these books. The characters are so superficial. I think that's the point, but they're all too 'typical'. I don't get the point of the book. Like, Massie's all queen bee one minute, and the next minute, she wants to play nice girl. Well, I'm not saying Lisi Harrison isn't a good writer, because she does know how to move a story along, but this book isn't what I expected it to be after all the buzz about it. And it could do without the SUPERFICIAL-ness and clothing descriptions. Puh-lease, as Massie would say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Like every other...

    This book is so much like the A-List series except the A-List books are soooo much better. The Clique is a quick read, and it was okay but I would probably never read it again. Overall I thought that it was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2