Customer Reviews for

The Clique (Clique Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(839)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

I J'dore The Clique

The clique is ah-mazing. Although the characters are bratty, spoiled, and selfish it is a good book because it teaches you how to deal with problems and there are stuff in this book that would probably never happen in real life such as a 12 year old girl needing the lat...
The clique is ah-mazing. Although the characters are bratty, spoiled, and selfish it is a good book because it teaches you how to deal with problems and there are stuff in this book that would probably never happen in real life such as a 12 year old girl needing the latest fashions everyday. I reccomend this book for girls that want to read about friendship, girl stuff, and last but not least cliques.

posted by KewlGirl on May 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

What a shame....

I've read bad books before, but this is just bad. I don't care if it's a popular series or if it's best-seller. Popularity doesn't tell you how good the book really is. Since almost every girl was reading this, I gave in and read it. This was one of the most shameful ex...
I've read bad books before, but this is just bad. I don't care if it's a popular series or if it's best-seller. Popularity doesn't tell you how good the book really is. Since almost every girl was reading this, I gave in and read it. This was one of the most shameful examples of our society today. These girls are seventh-graders! They act and talk like adults! The brand-name mentions, the cheesy phrases! Is this a book, or a magazine? The plot is nothing but fluff and they don't have real problems. This shows really how easy it is to write something and publish it. There are other more decent, better books out there. This book does not deserve the popularity it has. I'm ashamed to be in the age group this book is targeted to.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Good

    So far so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Who u talkin too

    Why u be sayin "i feel bad for u"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    By Natalie Ann- Gre By Natalie Ann- great read

    Really good book! Definetly worth reading- I enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Answer to your question...

    I have seen the movie manybtimes and i think it stays very true to the book and i woukd definitaly recommend it fir fans of The Clique

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    I also loved the movie so the book was good!

    Great! Deffinetly recommened it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    :D

    Really good :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Ah-mazing

    I can't wait 2 read the rest of them:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    A Guilty Pleasure

    I read this book when I was younger and I really got hooked it it (and I still read the series today). I understand a lot of people don't like this book because the girls are shallow and are spoiled brats etc, etc, and I admit the girls in this book are shallow and have a terrible impression for the real world, but I guess I read it because it's well...interesting and funny at some parts. I sort of enjoy the mean girls vs. the good girl stuff, but hey, that's me. The writing is okay. And the text talk, Ive gotten used to it since I've nearly read all the books. But overall I don't recommend it to anyone who is looking for a real good book they will really enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    GOOD BOOK

    Massie Block is the uncontested alpha at Octavian Country Day, an exclusive private school in the lux town of Westchester, New York. Massie is a glossy-haired brunette living in a humungous mansion with her ah-dorable black pug, Bean. She has the best friends- Alicia Rivera, Dylan Marvil and Kristen Gregory. However, her world is shattered when her parents tell her the Jay Lyons, her dad's old college friend, is moving into their guesthouse with his family. She is forced to meet Claire, the overall-slash-Keds wearing daughter of Jay Lyons, straight from Orlando, Florida. Massie constantly works to ditch her during the first day, and tells her friend that "they" don't like Claire. As a result, Claire is forced to sit in the back of the Block's Range Rover to school and their chauffeur, Isaac, almost drives away from school without her. Massie proves cold to Claire, and Alicia spills red paint on Claire's pants during Art class. The teacher tells her to go to the nurse, and unaware as to where it is at, she gets directions from Kristen, who leads her to the basement. Frustrated, Claire finds her way to the nurse office and Nurse Adele tells her that her "friend" must have come on. Shocked, Claire realizes Alicia must have staged it to look like she got her period. Nurse Adele, who quickly becomes her friend, gives her designer clothing to wear. At lunch, though, Claire is unsure as where to sit. She befriends Layne "Layme" Abeley, and the two become quick friends as they both share a love for photography. Massie, however, secretly befriends Layne, who is the sister of her crush, Chris. They met on a horse trail, and as he is a ninth grader, she considers him a great catch. She attempts to fake-friend Layne in order to win his affection. Claire pretends to be her friend to impress the absent Layne, but also impersonates Massie on IM when she talks with the rest of the Pretty Committee, as Massie and her friends are called. Her friends become angry with the things "Massie" said on IM, but soon realize it was Claire and torment her to the day of a field trip. Promoting their homemade makeup line, the PC hands out lipgloss to almost every girl on the bus, except Claire and Layne, both who are teased by them. Layne and Claire talk bitterly before making up, and when the girls on the bus start to develop allergic reactions to the peanut butter in the lipgloss, an anonymous person (a.k.a. Massie) sends Claire a message (during their short friendship, Alicia gave Claire a cell phone) that tells Layne's oatmeal will stop the burning. The girls are dropped off at the hospital, and while Claire is tying her shoe, Kristen thanks her for not telling her most personal secret, that her parents are actually middle-class and she is on scholarship at OCD. Claire says your welcome and Kristen walks away, not bothering to hear her response. In the end, Massie and Claire bond a bit when they are banished to the bushes when their drunken fathers embarrass them at the OCD annual benefit auction. The two learn much about each other, and realize they are much alike. At the end of the day, on her blog, Massie, unsure whether she likes Claire or not, puts her under a W.A.S. category- for Wait and See.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    very good

    but sometimes the gurliess gets on my nerves and i feel like they need some mud in tha face i love mud every softball gurl duz when slidin either get butt scratched from dirt and rox or have soft dirty mud trust me MUD!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    The Clique

    The Clique was extremily worthy of four or more stars, the plot was set at a perfect pace and helped me get a 'hitch' on fasion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    amazing!!!!!!

    This book is truly a great book. I highly reccomond this book. It was well written and i loved it!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked this one a lot!<3

    Loooove the series!
    This one's really good, the second is better. This one was a little boring at parts but for the most part it was a great book. It just makes me soo mad how Claire takes all of Massie's crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    A pretty good book

    Though this book is as shallow as a puddle, it's a good book to pass the time. The characters are fairly well thought out and it's a great book if you want to read about the lives of the rich and famous but the book isn't great if you want warm fuzzies. The girls are flat out vicious! If you want a quick read without much depth, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    The Clique Shows What it is like to be a New Girl

    The Clique's main character, Claire, has moved in with the Block family and Massie Block does NOT approve. Massie and her friends, Dylan Marvil, Alicia Rivera, and Kristen Gregory, treat her like dirt. In this novel, Lisi Harrison creates a real-life drama about being with the "in" crowd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Younger Edition Of Gossip Girl

    I had lower expectations for this book. I thought it would be alright, but this was above and beyond awesome!
    As soon as I ended The Clique, I started Gossip Girl, and I must say they are both amazing. They are quite similar in the story plan, but The Clique characters are a younger version of Gossip Girl.
    As soon as I finished reading it, I gave it to my best friend, and she said she loved it as well! So yeah, this is one heck of an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting, inspirational story that can be read by all ages. Its full of jealousy, popularity, glam and an everyday life girls of all ages would love.

    Massie Block's life is as perfect as it could ever be apart of being the most beautiful, popular girl in 7th grade, comes the grand life of friends, fashion, and basically anything she could ever want. That is, until Claire Lyons comes in the picture. Just moving from Florida, her family stays in the Block's guest house, but things don't start off well or Claire when Massie immediately defines her as a nobody. Massie and her conniving and not to mention popular friends do everything in their power to make Claire's life miserable, whether its at school or the house. Just when Massie and her group become satisfied with their plan, Claire throws it right back at them. From that point in the story Massie learns who her real friends are and begins to realize that being rich, popular and beautiful isn't all that's too life itself. Claire learns that going against the crowd isn't what she has to do to fit in at OCD (Octavian Country Day school) She decides that shell do whatever it takes to be accepted by the "Pretty Committee". The story becomes sweet and sour because of the sour beginning with a sweet ending after all. By the end Massie and Claire learn to overcome their differences and accept each other.
    I definitely would recommend this book in particular to girls of all ages. Even if is about snobby teenage girls; it has a relation to the real world connecting with females whether they are in high school or thirty years old.
    This young adult read can be connected to everyday life with cliques, friends, and situation almost everyone has gone through in their life. Lessons of backstabbing friends, judgment, wealthyness and the difference between being fake and real and most of all if you aren't yourself, you become somebody elses self. Are all mentioned in the story and in real life.
    I really liked this book because of the humorous and girly story overall. Lisa Harrison creates a perfect image in your head by the use of detail to create the setting perfectly in your mind. Every time I picked up this book, it made me laugh with the humor and overdramatic acting girls. But on the other side do think this book is unrealistic and I hope girls in grade school don't read this book and actually think that's the way to act if you want to be popular and respected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good.

    i usually don't read books like the clique. i'm more into action, mystery, and fantasy. but to my suprise, i ended up enjoying this series. its all about Massie Block, Alicia Rivera, Dylan Marvil, Kristen Gregory, and claire lyons. they are the pretty committee and they rule the school. its full of backstabbing and gossip and new words like LBR (loser beyond repair) and ah-mazing and ehmagawd and Ah-bviously. i recommend this series because lisi harrison is an ah-mazing author. if you liked this i also recommend hottie, bras and broomsticks, how to ditch your fairy, airhead, and violet on the runway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Clique Series

    The Clique is an awesome series for any girl above the age of 12. The series of books may have some bad language, but only to make it more interesting. I have enjoyed the books so far and I think you will too! The Clique reminds me of Middle School and how they used to be in their own group. Claire is the new girl from Florida and her family is staying at Massie's guest house until Claire's dad can find a new home. Claire is trying to fit in, and try to be part of the Clique. But Massie is sure that she is not going to fit into their rich and popular clique. Thats all im going to say but you need to read the book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Juicy Teenage Drama

    If you like juicy teenage drama you will love the Clique. The Clique is filled with drama and it will surely keep you excited. I loved The Clique because I never got bored and I never wanted to put the book down. I couldn't stop reading it. The clique is about 4 girls: Massie, Dylan, Alicia, and Kristen, who are friends and part of a clique a.k.a. the popular girls. When a girl Claire moves into a guest house of Massie everything changes. Claire tries to be friends with Massie, but it is hard to fit in. This story is very interesting and it is very funny. I loved this book because it compares to me and many other teenagers. It relates to you and how you live. If you like easy stories to read, The Clique is a good story for you. This is a very fun book and it is easy to read. Every character had their own personality and none of them were alike. I loved that in the end you learn that people can lose friends and gain friends, but you still love yourself for who you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8