Customer Reviews for

Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful series!

The Confessions of April Grace series are delightful! I am ready for Chocolate Covered Baloney. Can't wait to get started on it.

posted by cmc-123 on December 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was okay.

This book was cute and would be great for a 13 year old girl. Perhaps the thing I liked least about it was that it was written in 1st person perspective, yet the main character April Grace seemed almost too perfect. Yes, she had a lot going on in her life that wasn't ...
This book was cute and would be great for a 13 year old girl. Perhaps the thing I liked least about it was that it was written in 1st person perspective, yet the main character April Grace seemed almost too perfect. Yes, she had a lot going on in her life that wasn't perfect, but she had a great attitude the entire time and coming from a first person perspective it seemed unreal that she didn't even "think" secret complaints about her situation.

Still, it was a cute story. It had a lot of similarities to the classic tale "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" and many other books I used to love reading as a child. The characters are enjoyable. There are perhaps a few themes that might not be suitable for younger children (Grandma is sneaking around with two boyfriends! The behaviour is not encouraged though and of course she gets caught!)

posted by Cehsja on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    After reading book one, I had to have two. April Grace is amazin

    After reading book one, I had to have two. April Grace is amazing! Spunky and smart! Time for me to buy book three. Jeaniel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    ??????????????????????????????????????

    i got this for christmas is it any good? and does it have AR points if so how many? is it okay for an eleven year old

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Wonderful series!

    The Confessions of April Grace series are delightful! I am ready for Chocolate Covered Baloney. Can't wait to get started on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Handles life with Grace

    Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks, by K.D. Mc Crite is the second in the Confessions of April Grace series about a middle-school girl traversing the difficult years between elementary and high school. She must deal with a variety of challenges, including a snooty neighbor who moves in with April’s family, an old friend who is now the queen of the popular girls, a Christmas play she wants nothing to do with, and the coming of a new sibling. Oh brother, as if middle school wasn’t hard enough.
    Yet April Grace does it with … well … grace. No, she is not some little Stepford child who behaves and never complains, but when the chips are down, those who know her best know they can count on her.
    What I like best about this story is the main character, April Grace. I can relate to someone who wants to do what’s best. And yet, maybe complains a little along the way. The supporting cast is real and relatable, too. I recognize them in my own life.
    My only wish it that there were more of a united theme to latch onto that carried throughout the story. But maybe that’s just how middle school life is, just a girl trying to make sense of it all.
    I received this book for free from the Thomas Nelson Booksneeze program in return for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    It was okay.

    This book was cute and would be great for a 13 year old girl. Perhaps the thing I liked least about it was that it was written in 1st person perspective, yet the main character April Grace seemed almost too perfect. Yes, she had a lot going on in her life that wasn't perfect, but she had a great attitude the entire time and coming from a first person perspective it seemed unreal that she didn't even "think" secret complaints about her situation.

    Still, it was a cute story. It had a lot of similarities to the classic tale "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" and many other books I used to love reading as a child. The characters are enjoyable. There are perhaps a few themes that might not be suitable for younger children (Grandma is sneaking around with two boyfriends! The behaviour is not encouraged though and of course she gets caught!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Ok

    This was a pretty good book, but wasn't it kind of repetitive?Oris that just me?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks is about April Grace and her life

    Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks is about April Grace and her life. April’s life was full of action – or problems. Her family was helping a couple – Isabel and Ian – and letting them stay at their house. Isabel was overly dramatic and problematic in general. After the accident, things were bound to be messier. On top of that, her mother was acting weird and looking really sick. Her sister, Myra Sue was obsessed with Isabel. Middle Grade wasn’t exactly how April thought it would be.

    The beginning of the novel was a bit slow for me. I would’ve wanted to dive into the novel right away. I think it would have been better if the author started with April first. The transition from elementary school to middle grade was not as smooth as she would like it to be. Suddenly, everyone she knew transformed into total strangers. Her classmates from elementary started acting strange (for her,) trying to be cool. One of her friends, Lottie, leader of the mean girl clique, acted as if they’ve never been friends. Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks presented common issues and problems that tweens and teens will be able to relate to.

    April’s voice was distinct throughout the novel. I felt a sense of familiarity as I read the novel, as if I was just watching a TV Show. I noticed that some readers find ‘preachy’ novels awkward to read. Don’t worry, this isn’t one of them. At times I found myself stopping, disengaged from the story but all in all, Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks is a light read injected with drama and humor. I recommend this to tweens, teens and people who like realistic fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Funny adventures with a very big heart!

    Run and get this book for someone's stocking- even if it's yours! The story takes place in a small town in Arkansas in 1986. Junior high drama, bossy older sisters, a family mystery, and a Christmas pageant that no one wants to organize add up to one hilarious story with a lot of heart! I read this book with my daughters and we all laughed together at the antics and adventures of April Grace. She is an outspoken 11 year old who tells it likes she sees it and loves with all her might. She reminds me of a preteen Junie B. Jones with better grammar and a big heart. I absolutely loved this book. The references to the 80's were such fun and I adored how April Grace, in her own special way, was able to save the day- more than once. The characters were well developed and endearing, but not perfect. Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks is the second book in a series and I have the first book on (as April Grace would say) my very own personal Wish List! Faith, family and fun are key players in this book and my daughters (ages 9 and 14) and I loved every word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for girls and moms

    April Grace is an 11-year-old girl entering her first semester of junior high. The story is set in the 80¿s. Yet April Grace, her family, and her community will remind you of a setting like that of the Little house or that of the Walton¿s and their little town. Remember Elizabeth? This is how you can sort of picture what April Grace is like. Girls will completely relate to April and love her sense of humor as she deals with siblings, boys, and the many changes that come with growing up. Along with the normal challenges of junior high, April Grace must deal with unwanted house guests who take her older sister¿s room forcing her sister to move into hers, (now I can feel sorry for her there-with an older sister myself!) Then there is her mom¿s surprise and difficult pregnancy, and her placement under protest in the church¿s Christmas play. Life is hard for this spunky, red headed girl. And she¿s very honest about and shares all of her feelings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks

    Hey, there, everyone! I just received a new book from booksneeze- ¿Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks: Confessions of April Grace #2¿ by K. D. McCrite. Before I delve into the actual review, I need to say (for legal reasons) that I received this book from the Thomas Nelson Publishing Company for free in exchange for an honest review. I am not obligated to give anything but my own thoughts, and whatever I say is my own honest opinion. So take it or leave it, folks. Anyway! So, I had also reviewed the first novel in this series, ¿In Front of God and Everybody¿, and it was adorable. When I read this, I was just as enamored with the bubbly writing style and the plain sweetness of the prose. It was¿ Innocent, would probably be the best word for it, in my own opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I will probably be giving it (and the first one- nice little gift set! ¿) to a friend of mine for Christmas. I know that she will completely enjoy the books, as much I liked them. I think this was a cute book and I hope that there are more to come! Four out of five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Funny and Entertaining!

    Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks written by KD McCrite is a great book for young adults. The book is about 11 year old April Grace, who is dealing with her first year of junior high. April Grace is also involved with her mom's pregnancy troubles, which lands her mom on bed rest, a snotty older sister, and to having to deal with overbearing drama queen in her house. She also has a wonderful grandma that adds to the excitement of the story. As the story progresses April Grace learns some valuable lessons about keeping an open mind about the people in the life and not everything is what they appear. She grows tremendously through the different experiences with the people around her.

    I really enjoyed reading this book and believe most adults will enjoy it as well. KD McCrite created April Grace as a character that many young adults can relate to. She shows the difficulties of growing up and that the issues that come with school I are not the worst things ever. She also shows how that if you take a chance you can excel in a situation that intimidates you. April Grace is great example of how be selfless and exhibits excellent morals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and touching - Recommended!

    Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks is about April Grace and her life growing up in a small town in Arkansas during 1986. April's mom announces there is going to be a new addition to the family, and she has complications that force her to take it easy. Since her mom can no longer run the church play like she usually does, Isabel St. James, drama queen, is asked to help put on the church play. When April had the idea, she had no idea she would be recruited to help Isabel. She isn't happy as it means she has to spend so much time with her older sister, Myra Sue, and Isabel. On top of all of that, she has to deal with the cliques in her new junior high. The main leader of one clique is her former friend, Lottie, who suddenly changed over the summer break.

    I really enjoyed reading this. K.D. McCrite stayed true to character and created a funny but touching story. Many of the characters are called by their first and middle names, such as April Grace, Myra Sue, Melissa Kay. This was common practice in the South back then, especially in the smaller towns. I think this is one of few books I have read that effectively shows language in the South but is still written grammatically correct. Phrases such as "lick of sense," "bought more yarn than you can shake a stick at," "like cow doodie over the vegetable garden," "happier than two pigs in slop," and "put on the dog" may not be considered proper English but they are true Southern slang. Children who are in the recommended age range will still easily relate to some of her difficulties with a new school, problems with cliques, new baby, and dealing with her older sister. I think anyone who was raised in the South will easily relate to April Grace. Anyone who wasn't should enjoy getting a glimpse of what it was like to grow up in the South.

    This book is recommended for ages 9-12, but I think it is a good read for anyone 9 and above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read!!

    I stalked Booksneeze for a free copy of this book because I love young adult books and anything with Ugly Sticks in the title is right up my alley. The reflections of this preteen had me chuckling over and over. All kids this age are overly sensitive and dramatic, but April Grace approached everything with a strong sense of self and an amazing heart for others. Not too funny and not too serious. Just awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Good Read

    Everything is changing for April Grace Reilly. She is just starting middle school, where friends from elementary school have changed into people whom she barely seems to know. At home, her family has taken in Mr. and Mrs. St. James until their house can be repaired. As if that's not enough to worry about, April's Mama just doesn't seem like herself. It's no wonder that April is just plain worried. April slowly realizes that there are some things that she can fix and other things that are simply out of her hands.The book would be a great gift for a pre-teen and some teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1