Customer Reviews for

Clive Barker's Books of Blood 1-3

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a must read

    this book is really good each story perfectly written i see why stephen king said hes the future of horror this is such a great book if you havent read yet you must cause its just so good i couldnt put it down each story just leaves your hair on the back of your neck standing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pinheads creation

    If one put all the shorts together then one would have a pretty good idea for a movie. The stories are very thought out and have a double maybe a triple meaning. Fixated with all the twists and turns these stories provoke and yet put off at the same time. You really get opinionated and just want this stuff to stop but you also are not the kind of person just to up in up quit, but you really want to. That's exactly what this book will do to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    Classics!

    Brilliant classic short Stories from Barker that were written and published in the mid 1980's and still remain essential reading for fans of dark fantasy and horror fiction. A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    I'm Speechless

    What can I say? This guy has an interesting imagination. I mean when I first read the book I didn't know what to expect even though the cover was rather interesting (I'm talking about the thick book with all the series included). This series really make my day. Its nice to see that I'm not the only one with an interesting imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    OUTSTADING TALES

    This the first Clive Barker book that I've read and I have to say, One of the best books I've ever read. Every tale keeps you on your toes and you just can't wait to read more and more... This is what all true horror fans want in a horror book.... Read this book and you will never be the same again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2001

    Enthralling!

    Clive has always been my fav as a horror writer. His novels, stories, novellas, etc, are gripping! His artwork goes beyong mere words! Par excellence! I am not sure if I should say this here, but there is another author's work out there that rivals Clive's work! I believe he is a big fan of Clive's work. He has to be, since I can see the influence... maybe not at first glance, but it is there. After I finish reading Mark Ventimiglia, I feel the same way I feel after reading Clive: Moody, melancholy, and almost ill. It is great to have these two authors around that can druge up these intense emotions in us! I think Mark is possibly the BEST KEPT SECRET of madern horror fiction, since his books are hard to get (maybe an underground secret)! His imagination is gripping and his imagery, vivid (very much like Clive's Books of Blood, In the Flesh, and Inhuman condition)! His first novel, wasn't really a novel, but a collection of short stories that have a common thread... I believe that this kind of work is called a linked novel, yet I do not recall seeing a work like this in many years. There are many stories in this book that defy reality! There is a tale of a ring that eats its owners fingers; a story about a house that is possessed by a spirit of cockroaches and it makes a father whig out and slaughter his family using only sandpaper and a wire brush, there is an awsome Lovecraftian type of tale that vividly shows an innsmouth transformation, and a story about a declawed housecat that extracts vengence on its owner for declawing her. There are many other stories here too, and some poetry, as well as cool art work. What this author was thinking when he wrote these pieces is anyones guess! FANTASTIC! If you really like Clive Barker, buy ALL of his works! But look for Mark's work as well. I think I am going to write to their publishers and see if there isn't a way to get these two masterminds to team up and to a project together. maybe if enough fans write to the publishers we can make this happen! That would be a great asset to horror! AND NO... I am NOT that King. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Horror Gets Some Depth

    Take a genre known for slasher films and endless gore, and it's likely to be seen as subliterature. Clive Barker changes this not by completely reinventing the genre here but by embracing the mainstream and providing it with depth. The story of the monster runs amok becomes a joke about a huge phallus defeated by dominating female sexuality. This is just one example of how Clive Barker takes a simple story and creates something much more out of it. Clive Barker's early work here really embraces horror but it changed my perceptions of the entire genre. A great start for such an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1