Customer Reviews for

Cloaked

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book!

This story is a retaling of The Frog Prince with a twist. I really like the whole concept of the story and how Ms. Flinn modernized it. She did a great job of capturing all of the classic story while mixing in some great new drama.

Johnny works lots of hours just t...
This story is a retaling of The Frog Prince with a twist. I really like the whole concept of the story and how Ms. Flinn modernized it. She did a great job of capturing all of the classic story while mixing in some great new drama.

Johnny works lots of hours just to help support him and his mom, but when a princess comes into town with a crazy story asking him for help he is not sure what to do. She throws money at him and the promise of marriage if he helps. Knowing that the money and marriage would help his mother and their situation, he agrees to it, seeking out a prince who has turned into a frog. She gives him magically devices to help him on his journey. But what he finds on this journey is what he least expected.

I love classic tales. So when I received this book I knew I loved it. And loved it I did. Johnny was a hard working man who was desperate for money. Being so young and working so many hours just to help with bills really made me admire him. He didn't like it when his mother worried and was very mature for his age.

The classic tale of the frog prince was a good re-tailing. I enjoyed Johnny;'s adventure in seeking the prince. He ran into all crazy animals that spoke, giants, and bad witches. Accompanying on this journey was his best friend Meg, who wasn't all what she seemed. She too also has secrets up her sleeve and only one that really mattered to Johnny.

The love interest in the book was one I found myself disappointed with. While I was glad that Johnny finally realized who he loved, I was upset at the way that she acted. I felt like she was selfish and shouldn't had thrown it at his face like that. But in the end it all work out, so I was happy with that.

posted by BooksWithBite on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

it was eh....

i read this book because of kiss in time and beastly. i have to say that it was a bit dissapointing. predictable and hard to follow

posted by 6582584 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    This story is a retaling of The Frog Prince with a twist. I really like the whole concept of the story and how Ms. Flinn modernized it. She did a great job of capturing all of the classic story while mixing in some great new drama.

    Johnny works lots of hours just to help support him and his mom, but when a princess comes into town with a crazy story asking him for help he is not sure what to do. She throws money at him and the promise of marriage if he helps. Knowing that the money and marriage would help his mother and their situation, he agrees to it, seeking out a prince who has turned into a frog. She gives him magically devices to help him on his journey. But what he finds on this journey is what he least expected.

    I love classic tales. So when I received this book I knew I loved it. And loved it I did. Johnny was a hard working man who was desperate for money. Being so young and working so many hours just to help with bills really made me admire him. He didn't like it when his mother worried and was very mature for his age.

    The classic tale of the frog prince was a good re-tailing. I enjoyed Johnny;'s adventure in seeking the prince. He ran into all crazy animals that spoke, giants, and bad witches. Accompanying on this journey was his best friend Meg, who wasn't all what she seemed. She too also has secrets up her sleeve and only one that really mattered to Johnny.

    The love interest in the book was one I found myself disappointed with. While I was glad that Johnny finally realized who he loved, I was upset at the way that she acted. I felt like she was selfish and shouldn't had thrown it at his face like that. But in the end it all work out, so I was happy with that.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    I love it

    It is a good book if you like beastly you will love this one !

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    J.

    Great book. Defininitly one of the best books i've ever read and believe me i've read a lot of books.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A yummy blend of fairy tales!

    Johnny Marco works at his family's shoe repair shop in a fancy Miami hotel. It's tough work, but he has to do it to help his mom pay the bills for their apartment. Then one day famous Alorian princess Victorianna stays at the hotel and asks Johnny to repair her broken shoe. Upon returning it to her, she asks him to help her find her kidnapped brother. Johnny finds it hard to say no to the beautiful princess and agrees to help. But this is no ordinary case, and Johnny gets a lot more adventure than he bargained for! With the help of some magical items and his best friend Meg, Johnny travels all over Florida and back in search of a prince-turned-frog.

    If you've never read Alex Flinn, but you love a good fairy tale retelling, start with this book! She has previously written Beastly, a high school version of Beauty and the Beast (and a soon-to-be-movie), and A Kiss In Time, a modernization of Sleeping Beauty. I totally loved those two books and got swept away in this one as well. Cloaked includes many fairy tales, but the big ones are The Frog Prince and The Elves and the Shoemaker. A combo that works out surprisingly well! There was plenty of whimsical magic and non-stop action. Putting the old fairy tales into modern day Miami was fantastic and well thought out. The voices for each of the characters were excellent, their accents sometimes making me laugh. I thought all of the different fairy tales would add up to be too much, but they were small and sweet and added to the adventure as a whole. Flinn ties up all loose ends into a neat little package that left me feeling feeling complete at the end of the book. A fun read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Several fairy tales rolled into one good story

    This author is awesome. Alex Finn also wrote Beastly which turned me into a fan. Well written and engaging, you won't want to put it down!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Alex Flinn is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LUV ALEX FLINN! She is an amazing author who puts a twist on fairy tales. She makes her books feel like you are there in the story. She makes fairy tales interesting for older teens instead of feeling like a 6 year old. Dont stop writing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Luv it

    This book may be the single best book I have ever read! Mystery, suspence, and aa choice of the loved one keeps the pages turning in this new age thriller!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    I+freakin+love+Alex+Flinn

    I+freakin+love+Alex+Flinn

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    This story follows the life of Johnny, a seventeen-year-old wh

    This story follows the life of Johnny, a seventeen-year-old who aspires to be a shoe designer, but what he does is help out with his family's business. They repair shoes in South Beach, Florida. It's just him and his mom, and his dad has been missing for years. Unfortunately they have a hard time making ends meet, but with some luck or fate you could say, a princess comes to town that will seem to have the key (or more like money) to make all those problems go away. The princess claims that her brother has been turned into a frog and she thinks Johnny is the right person to find him and bring him back. Johnny ends up in a whirlwind adventure, and gets a lot more out of it than he had expected.
    I'm a huge fan of fairy tale re-tellings and though I did enjoy this I have say it was a bit of an overload. The fairy tales used here aren't that commonly known by people (myself included), and it felt too stuffed. Too many events happening and too many storylines for one story. I felt like we were jumping from crisis to crisis ALL the time. But then again that was probably what the author was trying to achieve; the feeling that our character was almost literally flying by the seat of his pants. All that aside, I did appreciate the magical elements, and how they were put together in the storyline. I could see the "twists" coming most of the time, but fairytales are often that way. Meghan, who is Johnny's best friend, is a great character and I loved the relationship between them.
    What made this story good, even though I felt hurried, was Johnny. He tries hard to help his mom, and he has a vision of how things should be. But at the same time he has his faults. He's convinced the money will fix everything and he'll do almost anything so he and his mom can have a better life. How can you not like a character like that? But overall I did enjoy reading this novel. I’d give this a 4/5 star rating though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Ok

    This book was good but not alex flinns greatest

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Fantasy fiction

    I am a super reading fanatic. Believe me, when they say twelve and up, it doesnt matter. Same with Twilight and Hunger Games. Im reading them at age ten

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    it was eh....

    i read this book because of kiss in time and beastly. i have to say that it was a bit dissapointing. predictable and hard to follow

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Skip it. Alex Flinn is hit or miss for me. I adored A Kiss In

    Skip it.


    Alex Flinn is hit or miss for me. I adored A Kiss In Time, which was the right mix of cute and funny. Beastly was okay. And Towering a slightly boring read. But none of those bothered me like Cloaked. 

    I’ll start with what I enjoyed: Though the book’s a mashup of a number of fairytales—including The Elves and the Shoemaker, The Frog Prince, and The Seven Swans—Flinn wove them together into one cohesive story. I didn’t get the sense that this was overloaded with fairytales, and that’s to Flinn’s credit because it easily could have been bogged down.

    The problems, really, are with the characters, all of whom are one dimensional and boring. More than that, they’re not believable in their roles. Take Johnny and Meg, best friends since forever who work across the hall from one another. From their interactions, you’d never guess they’re best friends. Work acquaintances, I would buy. But they lack that spark you see in most best friend relationships—the challenging one another and, most importantly, the trust. Instead, the extent of their interactions revolve around talk of work, musings on the princess (of whom Meg, who is in love with Johnny, is incredibly jealous), and quotes about shoes. 

    I wanted Flinn to dig deeper and show mutual respect between them. For his part, Johnny spends the beginning of the novel using Meg (Hey, I’ll leave you in charge of my shoe shop so I can scope out the hot princess even though I admit to knowing you’re upset!) or lying to her—about kissing the princess, about the quest he’s been sent on, and so forth.

    And I think Flinn really missed some opportunities to build the backstory of a deep friendship between the two. For instance, when he’s kidnapped, Johnny unknowingly uses a magical ring, which bring Meg to him. He doesn’t believe it’s Meg, so he tests her:


    "I am Meg."

    "Fine. Prove it. Tell me something only Meg would know."

    "I thought of something," Meg's voice says. 

    "What?"

    "Imelda Marcos was quoted as saying, 'I don't have three thousand pairs of shoes. I had one thousand sixty.' "

    Imelda Marcos. She was the wife of Ferdinand Marcos, former dictator of the Philippines, long before I was born. The reason I know about her was she owned more than a thousand pairs of shoes. 

    Meg found that quote when we first started collecting them. She got it off a website. No one else I know would have a clue who Imelda Marcos is.


    Okay, let’s forget for one second that Johnny is an idiot and if Meg knew the quote because she found it on a website then clearly anyone else who Googled “shoe quotes” had the potential to know this. The missed opportunity here is in Johnny and Meg’s backstory. These two have been friends for a long time. Best friends. And when trying to prove she’s Meg, not an evil witch, Meg tells Johnny … a quote from a famous person? I was hoping for a story from their past that only they would know—something that would at the same time show me what friendship looks like for these two.

    But the entire novel is like that—surface details that leave you with flat characters and  relationships between Johnny and Meg (both the friendship and the romance) that feels forced and fake. And about that romance: There’s no passion. I can’t understand what either sees in the other. 

    Another thing that annoyed me about Cloaked was the main character, Johnny. Johnny who is possibly the stupidest person alive. I’m all for a hero who’s not very heroic, but Johnny is an idiot, plain and simple. He’s aware of magic, yet he’s fooled again and again and again by the most obvious ruses. 

    1. The fox tells him not to enter the inn no matter what. He’s tricked by an illusion and gets stuck in the inn.

    2. The next morning, he decides he won’t be taken by trickery, then is promptly kidnapped when an evil witch disguised as a hot girl persuades him to use his magical cloak to take her home. This is one of the most eye roll–inducing scenes in the book because:

    A. Johnny has been told never to let anyone else use his cloak because it can end disastrously.
    B. He knows magic is real, so anything is possible.
    C. He knows evil magic people are looking for him.
    D. The girl visited his room the night before and her southern accent slipped, sounding suspiciously like the German accent with which the evil witch speaks.

    And about a billion other blatantly obvious reason this girl is up to no good. But she hot, so…

    I could go on and on with the ridiculous things Idiot Johnny does, but you’d be bored. That’s because he rarely has a good idea. And when things do turn out well for him, they’re thanks to deus ex machine—not his own doing. For instance, he felled two giants not by setting up a trap that worked but because one giant clobbered the other over the head and then tripped and fell on a rock to knock himself out. Well, isn’t that lucky…

    The only one who seemed capable was Meg, who of course has magical powers that save the day. A little convenient for me, but by that point anything was better than to-stupid-to-live Johnny and lucky coincidences.

    Another thing I could have done without: various accents being spelled out for us. Because that go old very, very fast. Not sure what I mean? The princess, who’s from a French-speaking country, speaks like this: “My bruzzer is missing! Zat is who I need you to find. You can do zis?”

    The prince, when he’s back to being a man, the villains, and a mob-sounding rat also get this dialog treatment. It’s all very tiring after a few lines.

    And then there’s the ending. Of course there’s a happily ever after. And I’m okay with that. I like happily ever afters, but this was just over the top. Everyone finds love. Johnny’s dad returns (and this is so obvious that you’ll guess who his dad is at the first mention of the animal—even before you meet him). And of course Johnny becomes a famous shoe designer. It felt like the end to a cheesy Disney movie made for elementary school students.

    In all, if you’re new to Alex Flinn, skip this mess and pick up A Kiss In Time, which features a main character who actually sounds like a boy, a love-hate relationship that believably turns into more, and quite a few humorous scenes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    ~Pitch she kissed harder,tugging on your shirt

    ~Pitch
    she kissed harder,tugging on your shirt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Devastation

    A silver she padded in, her cold ember eyes were giving everyone a lethal stare. "I need to know the whereabouts of Bloodclan and Hellclan." She meowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Mynt

    Arche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Oletheroes

    Killspark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Dragonfire

    Dynamos. I want to learn fast so I can join my twin sister in ethreal clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Redd

    Kratos, at least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 236 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12