Customer Reviews for

Cloaked

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book!

This story is a retaling of The Frog Prince with a twist. I really like the whole concept of the story and how Ms. Flinn modernized it. She did a great job of capturing all of the classic story while mixing in some great new drama.

Johnny works lots of hours just t...
This story is a retaling of The Frog Prince with a twist. I really like the whole concept of the story and how Ms. Flinn modernized it. She did a great job of capturing all of the classic story while mixing in some great new drama.

Johnny works lots of hours just to help support him and his mom, but when a princess comes into town with a crazy story asking him for help he is not sure what to do. She throws money at him and the promise of marriage if he helps. Knowing that the money and marriage would help his mother and their situation, he agrees to it, seeking out a prince who has turned into a frog. She gives him magically devices to help him on his journey. But what he finds on this journey is what he least expected.

I love classic tales. So when I received this book I knew I loved it. And loved it I did. Johnny was a hard working man who was desperate for money. Being so young and working so many hours just to help with bills really made me admire him. He didn't like it when his mother worried and was very mature for his age.

The classic tale of the frog prince was a good re-tailing. I enjoyed Johnny;'s adventure in seeking the prince. He ran into all crazy animals that spoke, giants, and bad witches. Accompanying on this journey was his best friend Meg, who wasn't all what she seemed. She too also has secrets up her sleeve and only one that really mattered to Johnny.

The love interest in the book was one I found myself disappointed with. While I was glad that Johnny finally realized who he loved, I was upset at the way that she acted. I felt like she was selfish and shouldn't had thrown it at his face like that. But in the end it all work out, so I was happy with that.

posted by BooksWithBite on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok

This book was good but not alex flinns greatest

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    it was eh....

    i read this book because of kiss in time and beastly. i have to say that it was a bit dissapointing. predictable and hard to follow

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Skip it. Alex Flinn is hit or miss for me. I adored A Kiss In

    Skip it.


    Alex Flinn is hit or miss for me. I adored A Kiss In Time, which was the right mix of cute and funny. Beastly was okay. And Towering a slightly boring read. But none of those bothered me like Cloaked. 

    I’ll start with what I enjoyed: Though the book’s a mashup of a number of fairytales—including The Elves and the Shoemaker, The Frog Prince, and The Seven Swans—Flinn wove them together into one cohesive story. I didn’t get the sense that this was overloaded with fairytales, and that’s to Flinn’s credit because it easily could have been bogged down.

    The problems, really, are with the characters, all of whom are one dimensional and boring. More than that, they’re not believable in their roles. Take Johnny and Meg, best friends since forever who work across the hall from one another. From their interactions, you’d never guess they’re best friends. Work acquaintances, I would buy. But they lack that spark you see in most best friend relationships—the challenging one another and, most importantly, the trust. Instead, the extent of their interactions revolve around talk of work, musings on the princess (of whom Meg, who is in love with Johnny, is incredibly jealous), and quotes about shoes. 

    I wanted Flinn to dig deeper and show mutual respect between them. For his part, Johnny spends the beginning of the novel using Meg (Hey, I’ll leave you in charge of my shoe shop so I can scope out the hot princess even though I admit to knowing you’re upset!) or lying to her—about kissing the princess, about the quest he’s been sent on, and so forth.

    And I think Flinn really missed some opportunities to build the backstory of a deep friendship between the two. For instance, when he’s kidnapped, Johnny unknowingly uses a magical ring, which bring Meg to him. He doesn’t believe it’s Meg, so he tests her:


    "I am Meg."

    "Fine. Prove it. Tell me something only Meg would know."

    "I thought of something," Meg's voice says. 

    "What?"

    "Imelda Marcos was quoted as saying, 'I don't have three thousand pairs of shoes. I had one thousand sixty.' "

    Imelda Marcos. She was the wife of Ferdinand Marcos, former dictator of the Philippines, long before I was born. The reason I know about her was she owned more than a thousand pairs of shoes. 

    Meg found that quote when we first started collecting them. She got it off a website. No one else I know would have a clue who Imelda Marcos is.


    Okay, let’s forget for one second that Johnny is an idiot and if Meg knew the quote because she found it on a website then clearly anyone else who Googled “shoe quotes” had the potential to know this. The missed opportunity here is in Johnny and Meg’s backstory. These two have been friends for a long time. Best friends. And when trying to prove she’s Meg, not an evil witch, Meg tells Johnny … a quote from a famous person? I was hoping for a story from their past that only they would know—something that would at the same time show me what friendship looks like for these two.

    But the entire novel is like that—surface details that leave you with flat characters and  relationships between Johnny and Meg (both the friendship and the romance) that feels forced and fake. And about that romance: There’s no passion. I can’t understand what either sees in the other. 

    Another thing that annoyed me about Cloaked was the main character, Johnny. Johnny who is possibly the stupidest person alive. I’m all for a hero who’s not very heroic, but Johnny is an idiot, plain and simple. He’s aware of magic, yet he’s fooled again and again and again by the most obvious ruses. 

    1. The fox tells him not to enter the inn no matter what. He’s tricked by an illusion and gets stuck in the inn.

    2. The next morning, he decides he won’t be taken by trickery, then is promptly kidnapped when an evil witch disguised as a hot girl persuades him to use his magical cloak to take her home. This is one of the most eye roll–inducing scenes in the book because:

    A. Johnny has been told never to let anyone else use his cloak because it can end disastrously.
    B. He knows magic is real, so anything is possible.
    C. He knows evil magic people are looking for him.
    D. The girl visited his room the night before and her southern accent slipped, sounding suspiciously like the German accent with which the evil witch speaks.

    And about a billion other blatantly obvious reason this girl is up to no good. But she hot, so…

    I could go on and on with the ridiculous things Idiot Johnny does, but you’d be bored. That’s because he rarely has a good idea. And when things do turn out well for him, they’re thanks to deus ex machine—not his own doing. For instance, he felled two giants not by setting up a trap that worked but because one giant clobbered the other over the head and then tripped and fell on a rock to knock himself out. Well, isn’t that lucky…

    The only one who seemed capable was Meg, who of course has magical powers that save the day. A little convenient for me, but by that point anything was better than to-stupid-to-live Johnny and lucky coincidences.

    Another thing I could have done without: various accents being spelled out for us. Because that go old very, very fast. Not sure what I mean? The princess, who’s from a French-speaking country, speaks like this: “My bruzzer is missing! Zat is who I need you to find. You can do zis?”

    The prince, when he’s back to being a man, the villains, and a mob-sounding rat also get this dialog treatment. It’s all very tiring after a few lines.

    And then there’s the ending. Of course there’s a happily ever after. And I’m okay with that. I like happily ever afters, but this was just over the top. Everyone finds love. Johnny’s dad returns (and this is so obvious that you’ll guess who his dad is at the first mention of the animal—even before you meet him). And of course Johnny becomes a famous shoe designer. It felt like the end to a cheesy Disney movie made for elementary school students.

    In all, if you’re new to Alex Flinn, skip this mess and pick up A Kiss In Time, which features a main character who actually sounds like a boy, a love-hate relationship that believably turns into more, and quite a few humorous scenes. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Not that great.

    The author had a real story here. He could have made this great. Byt near the end, he totally rushed the book. Rather Not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    I didnot like this book vary much

    I didnot like booj vary moch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Pretty Good

    this book is a quick read that retells some fairy tales. good if you want a cute teen love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Its ok

    Well, its ok but Beastly is way better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Okay.

    I READ till chapter thirteen, but I still thought it was kind of boring. IF it was a little more fastly paced I would have liked it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1