Customer Reviews for

Clockwise

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and satisfying, now and then!

    Casey is just a regular teenage girl except for a couple of minor issues: her unmanageably curly hair, her equally untameable mega-crush on school football hero Nate, and oh yeah, that pesky problem of uncontolled time travelling at the most inconvenient possible times.

    This is a cute, fun and fresh feeling read, and while I could agree with Nate that Casey is far more fascinating in the past, where her spunky self-reliance, quick wits and gumption come to the fore, she's pretty much a charmer whatever time zone she's in. She does have a lot to be mopey about back here in the real world, what with Nate breaking her heart, her parent's divorce and her little brother's unfortunate reaction to it, and her friend Lindsay's feeling left out of Casey's temporal traumas. The historical elements have an authentically gritty feel to them, and the way the plot moves between the two periods is clever and skillfully handled.

    The opening chapter has a bit of a middle grade feel to it, but it quickly becomes more and more sophisticated and complex, narratively and emotionally, as the story builds. Casey's story really drew me in, and the twists of the plot and Casey and Nate's relationship were fun to experinece and worry about. This is a sweetly satisfying story, with loveable characters, a clever plot and lots of witty, wry and winsome writing! There's a couple cute twists, and it's fun to see some seemingly disparate plot elements coalesce and resolve.

    The author asked me to read this, and give an honest review, and I'm so glad she did, as this was a good read I prob wouldn't have found on my own. She's a generous spirited supporter of good YA, and I'm delighted to have made her (virtual) acquaintance!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Entertaining and Enjoyable!

    CLOCKWISE was kindly provided to me by the author Elle Strauss in exchange for my honest review.

    15 year-old Casey Donovan is your typical shy, awkward teen with a crush on the popular school jock that doesn't seem to notice her. She also has a very big secret which no-one but her best-friend is aware of - she is a time traveler who without knowing how transports back in time to the 1800's.

    Time stands still in the present when Casey time travels but she is able to feel when it is coming on and is left exhausted when it ends; unfortunately at a school dance while dancing (as a dare) with Nate MacKenzie, her crush they are transported back in time.

    An initially disbelieving Nate handled the time travel well once it was explained and played the part of her brother Nathaniel willingly although protectively, but things went back to usual as soon as they were back in the present much to Casey's dismay and heart-break. I am glad Nate had the opportunity to travel on a number of occasions with Casey which enabled him to get to know her outside of school, he was quite sweet and supportive of her ability.

    I really enjoyed both of the worlds Casey was between; I enjoyed the history of the past - their way of living, the politics, the people both good and bad and how she was able to adapt and cope which was the same as how she was dealing with the present and the issues a regular teen faced with family and school life. I wish we could have found out more of why Casey had this ability, and how she was able to travel between times? It is the only thing I found to be missing in CLOCKWISE; I wanted to know how it all worked.

    There was a slight twist at the end which I really enjoyed and definitely didn't expect, it was a nice ending to a really enjoyable story.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the interactions between all of the characters; each were thought out, likeable and written well.

    I liked Ms Strauss's detailed writing style, it was a solid and entertaining plot which held my attention and left me wanting more of the world she has created - the 19th century and present time was interweaved perfectly, Ms Strauss certainly knew her history which was impressive and the pacing was spot on for me.

    CLOCKWISE is the first time travel novel I have read and I really enjoyed it, I am not sure if it is a part of a series but it would definitely be a great start. I will definitely be reading more books written by Elle Strauss.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Good read

    I like how the time travel was handled, and it blends in well with the present day plotlines. Good, solid read, cute without being cloying, and rocking the girl power without going feminazi. Best free book I've read, and I'll gladly pay for more from this author. I'd love to have her books in print form.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Thumbs up

    Good young adult reading. When I finished reading I hadn't even noticed how much I had read in a short period of time. I am going to get the second one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    I enjoyed this book.

    It is a well written book. Bought the box set after I read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Interesting

    I enjoyed reading this one more than I thought I would. Was different and held my interest the whole time. Hope the next one will do the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Good book

    The first two books are really good but I'd like to warn you that book three has nothing to do with the first two books! This is not a series in my opinion!
    There are a few inconsistancies in the sory but over all book one and two are very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Clockwise is the first book in the Clockwise series by Elle Stra

    Clockwise is the first book in the Clockwise series by Elle Strauss. To have the gift of time travel would be amazing, but to have it and not be able to control it would be down right scary. Casey handles it well though. I thought she handled her life in 1860 better than her present day life at times. She just seemed well adjusted to life there. I wasn't sure what to think of Nate at first. He seemed a little superficial to me at first, but towards the end he grew on me more. This was a very entertaining story and I read it quickly. It has some dramatic moments, but for the most part it's a pretty light read. I enjoyed it, and I like the premise a lot. I'm curious to see where this story takes us in future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Very well done! Extremely entertaining!

    Very well done! Extremely entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Cute

    For a free book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Nicely done

    This book is very exciting, but the ending is sort of abrupt. Overall, though, I would definitely recommend this book to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Cute

    This was a great time traveling book, it keeps you interested by switching back & forth to each time period!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Time travel

    Casey time travels back to the 1800's and just at the start of the war and the election the won lincoln the presidentcy she takes her crush nate back with her. The trigger seems to be them touching. They go back a few times together and both their feelings grow for eachother as they fight off marriage perposels and runaway slave hunters. Danger seems to follow her shes always in a situation that gets her hurt. All the while dealing her real family life. Exciting, nail biting fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Loved the book

    I read this book to screen for my teenage daughter and I have to say I loved the book it was really good. The premice was great the characters felt real and it was just holsome entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book it was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Superrrrr

    Great book, love the story line. Very different from what i normally read but i coyldnt put it down until i finush it, im looking for book 2 right now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Loved it!

    Really easy read and very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This was such a great YA read. I loved it. The pages turned th



    This was such a great YA read. I loved it. The pages turned themselves. Sometimes a story doesn’t need bells and whistles to carry it.
    Twilight is an example of a book that sold squillions, yet if you really think of the story, it’s quite a simple story. It’s the way it was told that won its readership.

    Cassandra Clare juggles lots of characters and her stories are filled with mystery and runes and they are very colourful books with such colourful characters, you fall in love with them.

    Elle Strauss has written a little gem of a book here. The love isn’t forced, nor is it insta love. The characters are believable. The story flows and you love the characters. There is mystery surrounding the , why? of some of her story. Casey doesn’t yet know the why, so why should we? We are discovering along side Casey as the story unfolds.

    Casey Donovan is very smart, inventive and thinks ahead. She is a traveller. We do not know why she is a traveller. Her destination is 1860, always 1860.

    Until.......

    Casey befriends Sara and Willie and their family. They become her go to point when she is whisked away from the 21st Century. Sara and her family do not question Casey. They are good people who keep her safe when she shows up.

    It all started with a dare.

    I love Nate MacKenzie’s character. He has a girlfriend, he is a jock, but then he is forced to see Casey in a new ...errrr.....light. Casey is crushing badly on Nate, but she keeps her crush to herself.

    Nate does not drop everything for Casey. He has a life of his own, he has a future he has mapped out. Casey currently does not understand what her future will be. She takes a few steps forward and then a whole lot of years backwards.

    Elle gives us stories in both 1860 and the present. Casey can’t help what happens to her and she just has to make the best of her life. She doesn’t understand it. Her family doesn’t know because time does not change or move forward for her in the time she has travelled back in time. 1860 time moves forward, but , the present time does not move for Casey. If she is 4 days , 2 months, 5 minutes in the past, the present has not moved, so nobody notices. Her secret is safe. Tired and a little disorientated, Casey just resumes doing what she was doing when she comes back to the 21st Century.

    There was a character that needed a bit of a 21st Century ‘stinky dead fish’ slap from me. Hmmm....not very gentlemanly.

    There was a great twist I did not see coming, I should have, but I simply didn’t. I love when I get a surprise in a book. * whispers* I actually did a bit of a happy/sad, bit of both really, ugly sob/cry in one bit. It just burst out of me.

    Elle keeps weaving new storyline into her book, setting us up for book 2, Clockwiser. I really enjoyed this book and I thought Elle wrote with originality and fun. No vampires, werewolves or faeries in sight, just the magic of time travel.

    And a boy and a girl who try to find even ground amongst the inconvenience and spontaneity of time travel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Clockwise

    The moment I found out that Clockwise was about time travel I was hooked. By the time I read what the novel was really about I was intrigued! It’s time travel in a way that (up until reading the novel) is rarely written. Where in most novels, characters are sent into the future and see the events that will make or break their lives because in Clockwise main character Casey Donovan gets sent from our time all the way into the past. To the eighteen hundreds to be exact. When the novel started, it opened with a strong prologue that I fell deeply in love with (not to mention that it introduces us to the hot male lead Nate). After Casey ends up travelling right after catching Nate’s football, I have to admit that I was getting a bit antsy.

    I was impatient and wanted to get to the good, romantic stuff… ASAP. But, good things come to those who wait and after Casey and Lucinda go to the dance… Casey finally travels through time with Nate. During her first travel with him, I’ll admit he was a total jerk. Luckily for him he was stuck in the past with Casey who I have to say is a really resourceful character, which is a positive quality that is rarely seen in characters in YA. But despite Casey being considerably strong, she’s still a teenage girl and like all teenage girls she faces teenage problems, including romance, fitting in and drama. Lots and lots of drama. With me bringing up the topic of drama, I feel that I should tell you that readers will hate (and I mean that in a good way!) the “present day” antagonist, Jessica, who is the cliché popular girl with something that Casey wants—Nate.

    With each leap through time, I was falling deeper and deeper into author Elle Strauss’s writing. Not only was it at times playful, but at others it was also very deep and meaningful. Something that I personally enjoyed was that throughout Casey’s travel through time, Strauss managed to incorporate the seriousness of slavery and segregation that took place in each time period. One thing that I absolutely must (and I really do mean must, I vowed to include it in this review) is the character Robert. I despise him and throughout my readings of Clockwise I found him to be the bane of my existence while reading (that is a very good thing, if I may add). Everything about him was just creepy. Not only was he old enough to be my Dad, but he also had a major slight obsession with Casey, or should I say “Darling, Cassandra”? Especially when he expressed that he wanted a lot more from Casey than hand kissing and carriage rides… *shivers* he’s such a well written villain that I knew he would have more major scenes as the story progressed.

    I would recommend this to fans of time travelling and to people who want a heartwarming romance as well as a story with a plot that will leave you wanted more! All in all, a novel well worth reading and one that I won’t soon forget. I cannot wait to dive into the second installment, Clockwiser!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable.

    Clockwise by Elle Strauss is a wonderful story about an extraordinary girl named Casey Donovan who can time travel. However as cool as that sounds she can't go anywhere she wants to. She travels back to a specific place around the same time, the 1800's. The only other person who knows of her ability is her best friend, Lucinda. In fact when Casey time travels, no matter how many days she's gone, only a few seconds pass in real time. The only evidence that anything happened to Casey is the dark circles under her eyes.
    Casey is a very strong character. She thinks fast on her feet. She's smart and empathetic to others and the girl has some pretty impressive skills. Her home life is a bit more troublesome. Her parents are on the verge of getting a divorce, her brother is getting into trouble, and the guy she has a huge crush on, Nate, doesn't even knows she exists until she accidentally takes him with her to the 1800's. Nate's reaction is to the whole event is funny. At first Nate is a big jerk. I couldn't understand why Casey would like him other than because he's hot. However as the story progressed, Nate's character really shines.
    One of the impressive things about this book is the historical element. Nate and Casey spend a lot of time in to the 1800's where everything is so unlike what the characters are used to. Elle Staruss captures the essence of the time period. Clockwise is a captivating tale that will leave you wanting more. I enjoyed every minute of it. I have to say the ending surprised me. I did not see it coming. I definitely will be reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2