Customer Reviews for

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2245)

4 Star

(578)

3 Star

(226)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy!

The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bi...
The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bit skeptical, I didn't think this prequel would live up to the actual Mortal Instruments series. But, I was ecstatic to find out that I was beyond wrong. The characters and overall story was creative and compelling. The Victorian era was the perfect scenario with a refreshing outlook of people's mannerisms in the past. Tessa, one of my favorite characters, was a very unique individual who had the power to shift into another person. Her ability was wanted by powerful figures who managed to shake up her existence.

The moment Tessa entered the institute, I was taken back to the Mortal Instruments. I enjoyed seeing this place in a different light with assorted shadowhunters. Now, this wouldn't be a Cassandra Clare book without some drool worthy boys. The badass and cocky Shadowhunter was Will. His appearance of blue eyes and dark hair made me swoon at his every word. However, he did have moments where I would have loved to punch him. Of course we also need a nice, sensitive, good-looking boy to balance Will, and luckily I found that in Jem. He was such a sweetheart and knew just the right things to say to Will and Tessa. I felt like his name should of been 'Gem' because in my opinion, his pure heart was a rare treasure.

Also, I want to randomly point out that I love how Cassandra introduces Asian characters. I found that in Simon in the Mortal Instruments and now with Jem being half Asian. She definitely knows how to fulfill my Asian fetish in men. :) Okay then, I don't want to give too much away, because this was a book I want everyone to experience, especially Cassandra Clare fans! It had everything from amazing fighting scenes to dramatic twists and turns. The ending left me utterly speechless and I am officially hooked and cannot wait to continue on with this masterpiece of a series!

posted by La_Femme_Readers on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Rinse and Repeat Romance

A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between...
A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between humans and their destruction at the claws of the demons. While learning who she is, she finds herself torn between two boys: one is brooding, obviously attracted to her, and off-limits. The other is sensitive, supportive and her confident. The book is a whirlwind of violence, romance, danger, drama, (predictable) plot twists, divas and a race of guardians with superiority complexes. Sound familiar? Cassandra Clare followed a blueprint almost identical to her first series, the Mortal Instruments, when she wrote this book. Don't get me wrong. It's a great read for lazy Sunday afternoons, before bed or on the beach. Just don't get your hopes up for anything new and you won't be disappointed. You might even come away eager for the sequel. All in all not bad, but not terribly good. Hopefully we'll see something new and different in Clare's next piece.

posted by Incinere on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 161
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy!

    The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bit skeptical, I didn't think this prequel would live up to the actual Mortal Instruments series. But, I was ecstatic to find out that I was beyond wrong. The characters and overall story was creative and compelling. The Victorian era was the perfect scenario with a refreshing outlook of people's mannerisms in the past. Tessa, one of my favorite characters, was a very unique individual who had the power to shift into another person. Her ability was wanted by powerful figures who managed to shake up her existence.

    The moment Tessa entered the institute, I was taken back to the Mortal Instruments. I enjoyed seeing this place in a different light with assorted shadowhunters. Now, this wouldn't be a Cassandra Clare book without some drool worthy boys. The badass and cocky Shadowhunter was Will. His appearance of blue eyes and dark hair made me swoon at his every word. However, he did have moments where I would have loved to punch him. Of course we also need a nice, sensitive, good-looking boy to balance Will, and luckily I found that in Jem. He was such a sweetheart and knew just the right things to say to Will and Tessa. I felt like his name should of been 'Gem' because in my opinion, his pure heart was a rare treasure.

    Also, I want to randomly point out that I love how Cassandra introduces Asian characters. I found that in Simon in the Mortal Instruments and now with Jem being half Asian. She definitely knows how to fulfill my Asian fetish in men. :) Okay then, I don't want to give too much away, because this was a book I want everyone to experience, especially Cassandra Clare fans! It had everything from amazing fighting scenes to dramatic twists and turns. The ending left me utterly speechless and I am officially hooked and cannot wait to continue on with this masterpiece of a series!

    75 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is as good as the Mortal Instrument Series. It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    41 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First time reading Cassandra Clare

    I've heard a lot of customers talking about Clare's Mortal Instruments series, and one lady told me this is a prequel (series again) of sorts to the Mortal Instruments. I decided to read this first since I just got caught up with Gail Carriger's Parasol Protectorate series and the paranormal/victorian steam punkish style seemed to be a nice bridge to Clare's newest book.

    The main characters are teens, of course, but without the melodrama that so often kills the mood of a novel. I liked how the romance took a back seat to the actual action and plot, yet nothing felt "thrown in" last second. A wonderful delight to read and well worth the buy.

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Rinse and Repeat Romance

    A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between humans and their destruction at the claws of the demons. While learning who she is, she finds herself torn between two boys: one is brooding, obviously attracted to her, and off-limits. The other is sensitive, supportive and her confident. The book is a whirlwind of violence, romance, danger, drama, (predictable) plot twists, divas and a race of guardians with superiority complexes. Sound familiar? Cassandra Clare followed a blueprint almost identical to her first series, the Mortal Instruments, when she wrote this book. Don't get me wrong. It's a great read for lazy Sunday afternoons, before bed or on the beach. Just don't get your hopes up for anything new and you won't be disappointed. You might even come away eager for the sequel. All in all not bad, but not terribly good. Hopefully we'll see something new and different in Clare's next piece.

    22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!!!!

    I never thought that Cassandra Clare would ever top the Mortal Instruments trilogy. I could not put Clockwork Angel down and I was enthralled by every word. One of the best absolute reads of my life. This book pushes Cassandra Clare to the top of my favorite author's list.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!!!!!

    I can't wait for this book to come out! The Mortal Instruments was an excellent series (and can't wait for The City of Fallen Angels coming out next year!) and I'm looking forward to reading about this new set of characters. If you haven't read any of Cassandra Clare's books, READ THEM NOW!!!!!

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Up to Par with the TMI Series

    The problem with creating an entirely new story in an already established world is that there are expectations from everyone who has read the previous stories. As someone who read and loved the Mortal Instruments series, I had high hopes for the opener in the Infernal Devices series. Unfortunately, Clockwork Angel came up short.

    Overall, the plot and the characters seemed too much like those from the TMI world. Will is startlingly similar to Jace, just as Tessa has many of Clary's traits; Jessamine even reminded me of Isabelle and Jem has a more introverted personality like Alec. It just felt all too familiar. Almost like a retelling with different names and locations. Instead of a villain like Valentine raising a demon army, the Magister is planning on employing an army of clockwork people infused with demonic energies. Both people are power hungry and out for themselves. It took me a while, but I was able to move past the similarities and enjoy the story for its Victorian touch and slightly steampunk nature.

    Aside from the TMI similarities, the main problem I had with this book is that it was incredibly slow. The build up took far too long. I couldn't even bring myself to truly care for the characters or the story until I broke the 300 page mark. After that, it was much more fast-paced and the plot really started moving along.

    Even with such a slow start, I did enjoy Clockwork Angel. Any fan of the Shadowhunter world will appreciate seeing the familiar characters like Magnus Bane (and Church!) and hearing about the Lightwoods that Isabelle and Alec descended from. Will's backstory is alluded to over and over and that really piqued my interest. Tessa's obviously unique nature presents many possibilities in the future and Jem's illness sure had me curious. While this wasn't quite what I had expected, I'll be continuing the Infernal Devices series to see just where Clare plans on taking us.

    Opening line (from prologue): The demon exploded in a shower of ichor and guts. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line: "If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior. All those other things, they are the glass that contains the lamp, but you are the light inside." ~ pg. 283

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    LISTEN UP!!!!!!!

    ALL RIGHT PEOPLE!!! Listen to the two points I have to give to you. One, the reason so much of the Infernal Devices has that of the MIS series is because Clare intended those who read one series didn't have to read the other. And plus, if you think about it, the series really is different. More on the world of Downworlders. The history of the Shadowhunters. And second, of course the chara are similar. Will is Jace's anscestor, and like Magnus said in book 4 (CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS), Will is more like Jace even though he looks like Alec. And Clary... Well, let's just say that if Clary saw Tessa in book three, GRAY is similar to FRAY, and a little bird told me Tess might show up in the MIS again.... well, something is going on about those two that seems awfully strange.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    A okay read

    I really enjoyed the story but found that Miss Clair was repetitive in the personalty's of some of her characters. Such as Will who is almost exactly like Jace from the earlier mortal instruments series. And other repetitive personalty's through out the book. That is why I give this book only 3 stars had I read this book before reading the mortal instruments I would have enjoyed it much more.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Amazing!

    I expected to love it just as much as I loved her other books, the Mortal Instruments trilogy, and I was right! I fell in love with the characters and at some points I definitely thought I could predict what would happen next but was proven wrong. I love the twists and I could not put the book down. I got somewhat upset when people tried to interrupt me when I was reading, but that just emphasizes how awesome the book is. The end left me hungry for more. I can't wait for the next book!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Disappointing

    I am a big fan of The Mortal Instrumnts series, so when I found out that Cassandra Clare was writing The Infernal Devices series, I was ecstatic. I couldn't wait to read the first book. I bought the book the day it came out, and I automatically fell in love with the cover. But when I started reading it, I discovered how extremely underwhelming it was. The book was boring; it wasn't as magical as Clare's previous series. I liked that it took place in Victorian England, and that it had a steampunk quality to it, but other than that, nothing else was that interesting. I also didn't like the characters. Tessa was annoying; I hated how she compared everything in life to the books that she had read. I also hated how she quoted poems and books all the time (who does that...really?). Will is an interesting character, I am very intrigued by him because he is very mysterious, but I really don't like him. He just seems like an angrier jerkier version of Jace. I'm disappointed that Clare couldn't make a new character, seems like lazy writing to me. I also don't like how Tessa is falling for Will; there is nothing about Will that Tessa should like, yeah he's good looking, but he is a total jerk, there is nothing redeeming about him. The only character I really like is Jem, and of coarse he won't get the girl, because he is the nice guy, and we all know nice guys never get the girl in the end. I will probably read the next book, because I like Jem, and I'm hoping that Magnus (my favorite character of all time) is in it more. I hope the series gets better; I have faith that Clare can do it, because I know she is a better writer than this.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    YYYYYEEEEESSSSS!!!!!!!!

    Oh my gosh!!! I saw this when I loged in and I SCREAMMED!!! I LOVED The Mortal Instuments (I've read the books 12 times...no joke!) and was SO sad when it ended...and now Clare is coming out with THIS!!! I'M FREAKING OUT!!! (if you hadn't noticed!)

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Best book ever

    Best. Book. Ever!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I got this book because of my love for The Mortal Instruments se

    I got this book because of my love for The Mortal Instruments series. Going into it I understood that we would still be dealing with Downworlders and Shadowhunters, but instead of the story being set in present time NY, this time we would be in 1878 London. Aside from the century and the location, the basic plot is a lot like TMI series.

    But unlike TMI series, this book seems a lot slower paced. There were quite a few times when I was just going to give up, and stop reading, but geez...let me tell you, I'm glad I didn't. Not just for the fact that I realized that Magnus Bane is in this book (and who doesn't love Magnus?), but also because it was around the half way point in the book when things started to pick up. I will definitely continue on reading this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    A great find and an amazing read!

    I've recently just started to enjoy reading a whole lot this school year. One of the first books I stumbled upon was the Clockwork Angel. The moment I started reading the prologue, I couldn't put the book down until I was finished. I had it in e-book form so I kept reading all night with my tablet , not having to worry about interruptions.

    Everything was so descriptive and images played through my mind every second while reading. I could feel the emotions the characters were feeling, and I actually liked that considering I'm not a huge fan of third person books. One must not have sanity if he decides to not even bother trying to read this book.

    I would recommend this book for anyone who likes action and romance. The fanatical moments that happens within these pages are ones to experience.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    very similar to TMI but boring

    it was ok., bit boring and very similar story line to TMI by the same auther except tessie does not come out as strong ir determined....more weak. its set back in another time with the big dresses, proper names, servants and such. that kind of got annoying.. probably wont read book two. the love that never haappens and the history off aa baad childhood and them not feeling worthy of love is bboring

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    The Mortal Instruments is 5x better than this.

    I loved The Mortal Instruments. On the other hand, I think this book had characters that were not expressed in the best way. The way Will expressed his feelings in the second to last chapter was disgusting to me. Though, the Author may have meant it to be that way. It also did not seem like James was all that interested in Tessa, other than being her friend. Only in the second to last chapter, once again, did you get a hint that he felt something deeper for her. The last chapter completely confused me. Why was Will visiting Magnus? I am glad Magnus was mentioned; he is one of my favorite characters. I advise you to not spend your money on this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Epic

    Soo good! Really goes good with mortal instruments. I like how it has some of the same people and ansectors of main charecters.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Not great

    Read during a roadtrip and the only reason I finished it was because it was the only book I brought. Not very interesting, and a disappoint from other books by the author.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing - thriller action!

    A mystifying, haunting, action-filled read, CLOCKWORK ANGEL kept me guessing what would happen to Tessa next. Cassandra Clare's character development and persona skills in this book are awesome and in-depth, like in all of her books. The details and descriptions were so dead-on, I feel like I could go to London and, just from reading this, know exactly what to expect.

    I actually like Tessa's character a little more than Clary's, from The Mortal Instruments (TMI), the series that [chronologically] comes after this series, The Infernal Devices. [Sorry, Clary!] Tessa was bolder, and stood up for herself more often, IMO. I felt like Clary only stood up for herself when her friends and she were in some sort of trouble. I don't have a problem with Will, but his condescending way of speaking to people, even when their day is going badly, can sometimes get on my nerves.* Jem was a good character, well thought out, too. I really enjoyed how Magnus from TMI was brought into CLOCKWORK ANGEL.

    I did in a way enjoy the introduction of the Shadow World of City of Bones, the first book of TMI, better than the way the MC, Tessa, finds out about it here. She simply reads a book called The Shadowhunter's Codex. So, if they have that, why didn't Hodge [from TMI] just give Clary a copy of The Codex and tell her to read it, instead of orally explaining the whole Shadow World deal? . . .

    The events that go on throughout this book are thrilling. Hunts, killings, and a war to see who will get to keep Tessa. Everyone is always trying to come up with a slyer trick, which prevents you from putting the book down! As for the team question, I'm Team Jem - but I will forever be Team Simon just as much from TMI! Go Simon!

    Overall, CLOCKWORK ANGEL was an exciting, action-y book: 4 1/2 stars.

    -JP :)

    This review was originally posted on my book review blog, here: yaurban.blogspot.com/2010/09/clockwork-angel.html

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 161