BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2259)

4 Star

(581)

3 Star

(227)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

Instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy!

The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bi...
The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bit skeptical, I didn't think this prequel would live up to the actual Mortal Instruments series. But, I was ecstatic to find out that I was beyond wrong. The characters and overall story was creative and compelling. The Victorian era was the perfect scenario with a refreshing outlook of people's mannerisms in the past. Tessa, one of my favorite characters, was a very unique individual who had the power to shift into another person. Her ability was wanted by powerful figures who managed to shake up her existence.

The moment Tessa entered the institute, I was taken back to the Mortal Instruments. I enjoyed seeing this place in a different light with assorted shadowhunters. Now, this wouldn't be a Cassandra Clare book without some drool worthy boys. The badass and cocky Shadowhunter was Will. His appearance of blue eyes and dark hair made me swoon at his every word. However, he did have moments where I would have loved to punch him. Of course we also need a nice, sensitive, good-looking boy to balance Will, and luckily I found that in Jem. He was such a sweetheart and knew just the right things to say to Will and Tessa. I felt like his name should of been 'Gem' because in my opinion, his pure heart was a rare treasure.

Also, I want to randomly point out that I love how Cassandra introduces Asian characters. I found that in Simon in the Mortal Instruments and now with Jem being half Asian. She definitely knows how to fulfill my Asian fetish in men. :) Okay then, I don't want to give too much away, because this was a book I want everyone to experience, especially Cassandra Clare fans! It had everything from amazing fighting scenes to dramatic twists and turns. The ending left me utterly speechless and I am officially hooked and cannot wait to continue on with this masterpiece of a series!

posted by La_Femme_Readers on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Rinse and Repeat Romance

A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between...
A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between humans and their destruction at the claws of the demons. While learning who she is, she finds herself torn between two boys: one is brooding, obviously attracted to her, and off-limits. The other is sensitive, supportive and her confident. The book is a whirlwind of violence, romance, danger, drama, (predictable) plot twists, divas and a race of guardians with superiority complexes. Sound familiar? Cassandra Clare followed a blueprint almost identical to her first series, the Mortal Instruments, when she wrote this book. Don't get me wrong. It's a great read for lazy Sunday afternoons, before bed or on the beach. Just don't get your hopes up for anything new and you won't be disappointed. You might even come away eager for the sequel. All in all not bad, but not terribly good. Hopefully we'll see something new and different in Clare's next piece.

posted by Incinere on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Rinse and Repeat Romance

    A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between humans and their destruction at the claws of the demons. While learning who she is, she finds herself torn between two boys: one is brooding, obviously attracted to her, and off-limits. The other is sensitive, supportive and her confident. The book is a whirlwind of violence, romance, danger, drama, (predictable) plot twists, divas and a race of guardians with superiority complexes. Sound familiar? Cassandra Clare followed a blueprint almost identical to her first series, the Mortal Instruments, when she wrote this book. Don't get me wrong. It's a great read for lazy Sunday afternoons, before bed or on the beach. Just don't get your hopes up for anything new and you won't be disappointed. You might even come away eager for the sequel. All in all not bad, but not terribly good. Hopefully we'll see something new and different in Clare's next piece.

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Up to Par with the TMI Series

    The problem with creating an entirely new story in an already established world is that there are expectations from everyone who has read the previous stories. As someone who read and loved the Mortal Instruments series, I had high hopes for the opener in the Infernal Devices series. Unfortunately, Clockwork Angel came up short.

    Overall, the plot and the characters seemed too much like those from the TMI world. Will is startlingly similar to Jace, just as Tessa has many of Clary's traits; Jessamine even reminded me of Isabelle and Jem has a more introverted personality like Alec. It just felt all too familiar. Almost like a retelling with different names and locations. Instead of a villain like Valentine raising a demon army, the Magister is planning on employing an army of clockwork people infused with demonic energies. Both people are power hungry and out for themselves. It took me a while, but I was able to move past the similarities and enjoy the story for its Victorian touch and slightly steampunk nature.

    Aside from the TMI similarities, the main problem I had with this book is that it was incredibly slow. The build up took far too long. I couldn't even bring myself to truly care for the characters or the story until I broke the 300 page mark. After that, it was much more fast-paced and the plot really started moving along.

    Even with such a slow start, I did enjoy Clockwork Angel. Any fan of the Shadowhunter world will appreciate seeing the familiar characters like Magnus Bane (and Church!) and hearing about the Lightwoods that Isabelle and Alec descended from. Will's backstory is alluded to over and over and that really piqued my interest. Tessa's obviously unique nature presents many possibilities in the future and Jem's illness sure had me curious. While this wasn't quite what I had expected, I'll be continuing the Infernal Devices series to see just where Clare plans on taking us.

    Opening line (from prologue): The demon exploded in a shower of ichor and guts. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line: "If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior. All those other things, they are the glass that contains the lamp, but you are the light inside." ~ pg. 283

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    A okay read

    I really enjoyed the story but found that Miss Clair was repetitive in the personalty's of some of her characters. Such as Will who is almost exactly like Jace from the earlier mortal instruments series. And other repetitive personalty's through out the book. That is why I give this book only 3 stars had I read this book before reading the mortal instruments I would have enjoyed it much more.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Steampunk Shadowhunters

    My one complaint is that two of the characters seem to simply be a rehash of Clary and Jace, but like the Mortal Instrument series, the side characters were amazing and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Wt a fred ipad?

    Kiss your hand three times, post this comment at three different books, and chek under your pillow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Decent book

    It was a decent book. Slow at times, but interesting as a whole. Great concept, decent writing, meh flow, and down right annoying in the romantic aspect. I did buy the second book, but its far from a 5 star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    How was it

    I havent read the book yet but based on clare's other books im sure it will be more if not better than the mortal instriments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Meh

    Meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    After reading The Mortal Instrument series (up to City of Lost S

    After reading The Mortal Instrument series (up to City of Lost Souls), Clockwork Angel was a little difficult to start.  It didn't have the action and liveliness like that of the TMI series but there was a something there, deep within the words that kept me going.  If you find it as difficult as I did to start, I urge you to keep reading...once you've finished the series, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Clockwork Angel takes place in London during Queen Victoria┬┐s re

    Clockwork Angel takes place in London during Queen Victoria’s reign. This trilogy is the prequel to The Mortal Instruments (City of Bones, City of Ashes, etc.). It is told in 3rd person point of view, and focuses on Tessa Gray, who learns that she is not fully a mundane and where her brother had gone. Clockwork Angel involves a lot of paranormal characters including vampires, but the author also came up with new, fantastic creatures like the Shadowhunters and the Downworlders. This is a book where some people knows about the paranormal creatures.

    I adored Cassandra Clare’s writing style. She made it seem like she wrote the book during the book’s timeframe, but during the first half of the book, to be honest, was boring for me. The pacing was just so slow. There was a lot of talking and less action. The characters were so mysterious too that I kind of lost interest in them and I stopped caring why they acted that way.

    Will Herondale was the MOST mysterious, moody character EVER in this book. Why so many bookworms love him? I do not know. What I know is that he has a good reason of why he acts that way, but we won’t get to know it till the next book. He is a Shadowhunter and like the rest of the Shadowhunters, he is an orphan. Jem, who is from Shanghai and is Will’s partners in crime, is another Shadowhunter. He is my favorite character in this book because he is so sweet and cute! Tessa, the heroine of the book, was an okay main character for me. I don’t like how sometimes she throws herself to Will when obviously Will shows signs that he is not interested in her as much as she is to him. She wasn’t a kick ass heroine, but that’s understandable because she’s still new to the whole Shadowhunter world. She’s still experimenting with her power.

    Despite the slow beginning, the second half of the book was amazing, especially the last 5 chapters. It was action packed and there was so many twist that surprised me. I refuse to talk about the amazing scenes that happens towards the end because I’ll ruin it for you so just read it! If you think that the first half is “mehh” like I did, well the ending will make up for it. Trust me. I recommend it to paranormal lovers, and to those who loved The Mortal Instruments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    First off I apologise for an overuse of ellipses in this review.

    First off I apologise for an overuse of ellipses in this review. Please just envision a pale Irish brunette tearing her hair out and gurning at those intervals if it helps!

    Sigh…So I read The Mortal Instruments in the first two weeks of January this year and I swear I barely slept. I read before getting up, before breakfast, at tea break, after dinner. I was obsessed. Completely enthralled in the world of the Shadowhunters, I adored all the characters, Jace broke my heart as he struggled to find happiness, Clary didn’t whine as much as other YA heroines which was a blessing and Simon, oh Simon, you cute little geek you! I discussed TMI at length on Goodreads and everyone assured me that The Infernal Devices were far far superior to TMI, I would instantly fall for Will, worship Tessa and be “Jace who?”

    Hmm…Don’t believe the hype is a lesson I’ve learned. Okay, I’m being overdramatic…possibly. With Clockwork Princess coming out in two days time I decided I would hold off reading the first two until March so I wouldn’t have to be tortured with the wait. So I settled down into my fave chair, snuggled up with my doggy Gypsy and prepared to be overwhelmed with love and adoration for Cassandra Clare.

    Eh…

    Okay let’s get the bad stuff out of the way first because I do have good things so I’ll rip off the band-aid!

    My main issue with this book was the characterisation. It was blah. Every character was just a watered down version of TMI. Tessa=Clary, Will=Jace, Jem=Simon, Jessamine=Isabelle. Tessa and Jem were the two shining lights in a murky pond of bland and even then…barely. I have never cared less about characters in my life. They could have been killed horribly and I would have shrugged and said “what ever!” Cassandra Clare seems to think for a man to be irresistible to a woman he must slouch, sneer and snark as much as possible. I know there’s some deep dark secret and Will’s got some inner turmoil that will be revealed (I hope) over the next two books but if you’re going to set up that storyline please don’t wait until the epilogue to truly make that clear! Jessamine, just ugh. I had a whole rant but she’s not worth my time. Charlotte and Henry, who were they? At times I completely forgot!

    The bad guys were so archetypal mannequins, moustache twiddling, rubbing their hands in glee I’m surprised there wasn’t a big flashing arrow over them. The reveals were clumsily done and at no time was anything a shock. Everything was just so convenient and utterly frustrating.

    I’m well used to rolling my eyes at stereotypes so the fact that CC seemed to have gotten her “The Big Book of British Stereotypes” and “This is What Victorian England Was Like” out as reference books when writing was another tear-my-hair-out moment. The Simpson’s writers could have done a better job at accuracy.

    Okay what did I like?

    The overall plot of the Clockwork Army was intriguing and I’m looking to the continuation of that storyline. Tessa’s mysterious origins was another highlight as was Tessa overall. I liked her tenacity, her intelligence and her values. Jem’s sweetness, patience and background story made him my favourite. The origins of the Shadowhunters and the politics was explored more and I appreciated the knowledge gained in particularly the status of the accords in the times before Valentine. I’m hoping the complexity of the TID world is expanded in the later books and will hopefully match TMI. At time of writing I’m about a 1/4 into Clockwork Prince and I am more sympathetic to Will and definitely more invested in the storyline but I think that’s due in large part knowing that CA was part one of a story. If one read it in the hopes that it would have the ability to be enjoyed as a Stand-Alone novel in its own right, they would be sorely disappointed. There was no plot point that was resolved in CA, everything was left open ended and instead of making me feel like ” I NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW”, It was disappointing and lacked resolution. Perhaps Lauren Oliver got writing tips for Requiem from this! Personally if I had read this when it first came out and didn’t have the luxury of returning to my Kindle menu and selecting part two I honestly don’t think I’d have bothered.

    Perhaps Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess will make me eat my words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Suck it

    Yeah i said it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Enough In the beginning I found the writing a bit bumpy an

    Good Enough

    In the beginning I found the writing a bit bumpy and felt as bewildered as Tessa as I tried to grasp what was occurring. After a few chapters, however, I finally quite groping blindly for understanding and the writing flowed a bit better, but the writing never really did feel organic. Though, supposedly set in Victorian London, things pertaining to the era seemed more as an afterthought than a real plot point and I never got the sense the story really felt at home in the era. As for the characters living at the institute, they definitely came together to make a very dysfunction unit I would loosely call a family. As the main character I never found Tessa incredibly likable. She always seemed very aloof and I never got particularly attached to her. The only remotely likable characters I found was Jem and possibly Sophie. I also kind of thought it funny how dramatic the blurbs about the book sounded in comparison to what actually took place in the book.

    For all of my little complaints I really did like this book overall. I found the mythology fascinating and appreciated the new world I was introduced into. The story was captivating, even if I didn’t find Tessa all that lovable. The characters all came together to play their parts and as a whole they made the story work well enough that I didn’t mind my lack of empathy for most of them. I also liked the playful interplay during the dialogue and the understatedness of the love triangle.

    Clockwork Angel has been my first real introduction into the Steampunk genre and I find myself wanting more. With a slight lowering of my expectations, I look forward to reading Clockwork Prince, book two in the Infernal Devices series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I enjoyed this book right up to the ending. The ending was very

    I enjoyed this book right up to the ending. The ending was very disappointing. Is there a sequal to this book? I hope there's a sequal because there really wasn't an resolved ending. It only left me with... "What happed?"...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Flux

    *strides in*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    great read

    This is a teen reader but I enjoyed it. Great example of steam punk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    S

    R

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Prequel

    Since this series is a prequel to the Mortal Instruments Series whoever read this series first could ead Mortal Inatruments next. Is it gopd?I usually don't read Clare.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Eh

    Its ok

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    good, but not great

    This was a good, easy to read book. I like Cassandra Clare's other series Immortal Instruments much better. I didn't feel like I connected to these characters as much as her other series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12