Customer Reviews for

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2224)

4 Star

(576)

3 Star

(224)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy!

The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bi...
The Clockwork Angel instantly rejuvenated my love for YA urban fantasy. The dark, edgy quality of the writing and plot was breathtaking. Cassandra has a way of creating a world that starts to creep into your self conscious and devours your thoughts. At first, I was a bit skeptical, I didn't think this prequel would live up to the actual Mortal Instruments series. But, I was ecstatic to find out that I was beyond wrong. The characters and overall story was creative and compelling. The Victorian era was the perfect scenario with a refreshing outlook of people's mannerisms in the past. Tessa, one of my favorite characters, was a very unique individual who had the power to shift into another person. Her ability was wanted by powerful figures who managed to shake up her existence.

The moment Tessa entered the institute, I was taken back to the Mortal Instruments. I enjoyed seeing this place in a different light with assorted shadowhunters. Now, this wouldn't be a Cassandra Clare book without some drool worthy boys. The badass and cocky Shadowhunter was Will. His appearance of blue eyes and dark hair made me swoon at his every word. However, he did have moments where I would have loved to punch him. Of course we also need a nice, sensitive, good-looking boy to balance Will, and luckily I found that in Jem. He was such a sweetheart and knew just the right things to say to Will and Tessa. I felt like his name should of been 'Gem' because in my opinion, his pure heart was a rare treasure.

Also, I want to randomly point out that I love how Cassandra introduces Asian characters. I found that in Simon in the Mortal Instruments and now with Jem being half Asian. She definitely knows how to fulfill my Asian fetish in men. :) Okay then, I don't want to give too much away, because this was a book I want everyone to experience, especially Cassandra Clare fans! It had everything from amazing fighting scenes to dramatic twists and turns. The ending left me utterly speechless and I am officially hooked and cannot wait to continue on with this masterpiece of a series!

posted by La_Femme_Readers on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Rinse and Repeat Romance

A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between...
A girl has discovered a secret world of demons, angels' spawn, and darkness. It is revealed that she has a strange power no one has ever seen before. Thrown headfirst in to a world of violence and chaos, she is taken in by the Shadowhunters, protectors who stand between humans and their destruction at the claws of the demons. While learning who she is, she finds herself torn between two boys: one is brooding, obviously attracted to her, and off-limits. The other is sensitive, supportive and her confident. The book is a whirlwind of violence, romance, danger, drama, (predictable) plot twists, divas and a race of guardians with superiority complexes. Sound familiar? Cassandra Clare followed a blueprint almost identical to her first series, the Mortal Instruments, when she wrote this book. Don't get me wrong. It's a great read for lazy Sunday afternoons, before bed or on the beach. Just don't get your hopes up for anything new and you won't be disappointed. You might even come away eager for the sequel. All in all not bad, but not terribly good. Hopefully we'll see something new and different in Clare's next piece.

posted by Incinere on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 576 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I got this book because of my love for The Mortal Instruments se

    I got this book because of my love for The Mortal Instruments series. Going into it I understood that we would still be dealing with Downworlders and Shadowhunters, but instead of the story being set in present time NY, this time we would be in 1878 London. Aside from the century and the location, the basic plot is a lot like TMI series.

    But unlike TMI series, this book seems a lot slower paced. There were quite a few times when I was just going to give up, and stop reading, but geez...let me tell you, I'm glad I didn't. Not just for the fact that I realized that Magnus Bane is in this book (and who doesn't love Magnus?), but also because it was around the half way point in the book when things started to pick up. I will definitely continue on reading this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing - thriller action!

    A mystifying, haunting, action-filled read, CLOCKWORK ANGEL kept me guessing what would happen to Tessa next. Cassandra Clare's character development and persona skills in this book are awesome and in-depth, like in all of her books. The details and descriptions were so dead-on, I feel like I could go to London and, just from reading this, know exactly what to expect.

    I actually like Tessa's character a little more than Clary's, from The Mortal Instruments (TMI), the series that [chronologically] comes after this series, The Infernal Devices. [Sorry, Clary!] Tessa was bolder, and stood up for herself more often, IMO. I felt like Clary only stood up for herself when her friends and she were in some sort of trouble. I don't have a problem with Will, but his condescending way of speaking to people, even when their day is going badly, can sometimes get on my nerves.* Jem was a good character, well thought out, too. I really enjoyed how Magnus from TMI was brought into CLOCKWORK ANGEL.

    I did in a way enjoy the introduction of the Shadow World of City of Bones, the first book of TMI, better than the way the MC, Tessa, finds out about it here. She simply reads a book called The Shadowhunter's Codex. So, if they have that, why didn't Hodge [from TMI] just give Clary a copy of The Codex and tell her to read it, instead of orally explaining the whole Shadow World deal? . . .

    The events that go on throughout this book are thrilling. Hunts, killings, and a war to see who will get to keep Tessa. Everyone is always trying to come up with a slyer trick, which prevents you from putting the book down! As for the team question, I'm Team Jem - but I will forever be Team Simon just as much from TMI! Go Simon!

    Overall, CLOCKWORK ANGEL was an exciting, action-y book: 4 1/2 stars.

    -JP :)

    This review was originally posted on my book review blog, here: yaurban.blogspot.com/2010/09/clockwork-angel.html

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Amazing

    It started off slow and boring but it got very interesting fast, the author has an amazing plot line and doesnt stray from it, she incorporatez the right amount of action, mystery and romance. All in all it is an amazing peice if literarure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Amazing!

    After reading Cassie's Mortal Instruments Series I finally decided to read the Infernal Devices, and let us say that I was not dissapointed! The characters in this book are amazingly crafted and I could just picture the scenes in my head. It was nice that Cassie didn't make the books feel too "old-timey", they stayed current and that was a pleasant surprise. I know some people will be mad at me for this, but I actually like the Infernal Devices better than the Motal Instruments! I just like the characters better; I think that they all have more depth, and I feel that the story is a bit more twisted.
    Please read this book now, and don't be scared off by the fact that it takes blace in the 1800s!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    just finished like 3 hours ago

    i have read the Mortal instruments series and they quickly became my favorite books as i love the characters and the story of shadow hunters. when i read about this book i was soooo excited for it to come out so i could read it. well i got the book the day after it came out and started reading it yesterday and i just got done reading a few hours ago. when i started to read the book the first thing i noticed was that the Jace from the mortal instruments is very much like Will in this book though Tessa and Clary are totally different. when i noticed that i thought that the book was going to be to similar to the mortal instruments but i was pleased that although Will and Jace are very similar the books were different from each other i however hated the ending how it ended in a total cliff hanger and i about went insane. so i am very much looking forward to Clockwork Prince to explain all the mysteries introduced in this book as well as the 4th book in the mortal instruments book the city of fallen angels! so i would recommend this book although i got frustrated with it i really did like it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CAN'T WAIT!!!!!

    I loved every book in the mortal instruments series, and am waiting in anticipation for City of fallen angels, and of course: Clockwork Angel! the book Clockwork Angel is set in the 1800's of London. When Tessa goes searching for her lost brother Nathaniel. And at one point during her journey she meets the shadowhunters, but kicking, demon slaying, hunters. this little run-in witht the shadow hunters FOREVER changes Tessa's life. And as Tessa be-friends the shadow hunters, she starts to see herself in the prey of these demon hunters. And soon realizes that she maybe be one of those demons. that was MY synopsis of this book that i CANNOT wait for. I hope my review was helpful! P.S. if u have not yet read the Mortal Instruments series, READ THEM NOW!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Love the auther! This was a little different!

    I fell in love with Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series. When I found out she was writing another series based on the same world, I was thrilled. This book is set in a different time period, but it was nice to know some of the characters already. Clare somehow keeps the same world while making the stories completely different. This book was refreshing and new. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Will<33

    Its weird I normally dont fall for the ass/bad boy of books but come how Cassy writes one love so much my heart hurts <333 thank you so much cassy for creating will and jace!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Moonlight

    After reading this, I now have a fangirl crush on Jem. ~^w^~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    better then city of bones

    better then city of bones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It is a good series, but I personally prefer The Mortal Instrume

    It is a good series, but I personally prefer The Mortal Instruments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There will never be another book/series that will make me love a

    There will never be another book/series that will make me love as many characters like Clockwork Angel has. Clockwork Angel is a wonderful beginning to the already-established world of Shadowhunters and can be read before, after, or independently of The Mortal Instruments.

    Tessa has traveled all the way from New York to London with the promise of a better life. When she arrives, she is instantly taken and thrown into a world she doesn't understand and is left to the devices of those who would use her to bring the Shadowhunters to their knees. Her rescue is only the beginning of her troubles though.

    The whole story line was engaging and had Clare's signature sarcasm and humor inserted between the lines of peril the characters all walk. I always wanted to keep reading because I had to know what was going on. Why was Tessa so important to the Magister? Who is the Magister? What is Will's problem? What's Jem's? And (more importantly) what is Tessa? Some questions were answered in full, others weren't, not in this one at least.

    I was instantly attached to both Will and Jem right from the very moment they began interacting with Tessa. Both boys are so different from each other but you can't help but love them both. Actually, one of my favorite parts has to be when Tessa first saw Will and their first couple of exchanges. It was such a tense part of the book while still managing to be amusing. In fact, I vivid really remember silently freaking out (in a good way) when Will first met Tessa. I was like, &quot;Ah, yes! It's Will!&quot;

    Tessa was a lovely protagonist to follow. When it comes to both Jem and Will she is beautifully and honestly conflicted, loving each of them equally but differently without even realizing it. Will is kind of your typical young adult love interest: tough on the outside but melts when he meets the love of his life (even if you can't see the melting). Jem however is, well, every girl's dream. Allow me to explain.

    If Will were real, I'd wager most girls wouldn't give him the time of day. Sure, he's handsome but the moment he begins to speak is the moment things start going south. He doesn't just come off as a jerk, he acts like one too and gives no hint that it is just that, an act. If Jem were real though, he'd have lines of girls just hoping to get in his good graces. He's kind, forgiving, patient, gentle, respectful, wonderful, and (not to mention) handsome. Shall I go on? In short, Will is a guy you only give a chance because he's fictional. Jem is a guy you'd give a chance any day he showed up. Honestly, Jem was really awesome and refreshing because he would also be a more realistic choice if you were to put him in the real-world.

    These three really set the tone for the whole series. You hate who they hate. And you love who they love.

    Jessamine was just plain annoying. Charlotte was a nice addition to the story and really the rock of the London Institute. Her husband Henry though was endearingly oblivious to just about everything. I enjoyed watching their interactions with Jem and especially Will, who you could tell cared for everyone in his own way. Personally, I think Henry gets a bad rap. People think he's less capable than he actually is.

    The writing was, as always, wonderful. Miss Clare had me laughing (sometimes out loud) periodically throughout the entire book. While I wouldn't say Clockwork Angel was better than any of The Mortal Instruments, I would definitely say it is its own flavor of awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Excellent read!

    What a great prequel to the City of Bones! Varying recommendations of what order to read the books. Having seen the movie first I decided to read in storyline chronological order. Things from the movie really made much more sense! Very vivid character development providing easy visualization of how the institute looked, and the feel of the Silent Brothers. Consistency of character representation between the books helps with empathy for what the characters are facing.

    There are surprises for those that have read the latter books. The history of Shadowhunter lineage and how the institutes are run, while explaining a lot that the movie missed. Lots of good twists and turns in the plot to keep you engaged, and eager for the next book, as only a great writer can do. Cassandra Clare has created her own very believable version of London.

    Main character Tessa is someone you can relate to and share in her pains and joys! Buy it! You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Good book, a little slow though

    Good book, a little slow though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    To: below

    The reason that the whole "shadowhunter life" isn't really explained in this series is because the main character (Tessa) is not a shadowhunter so there's really no need to explain the whole "shadowhunter lifestyle"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    I am a huge fan of the mortal instraments, and I was excited to

    I am a huge fan of the mortal instraments, and I was excited to read this book. When I first started it, I felt like it was a little bit of a drag.
    But once you get into this book, you'll love it! Will has caught my heart and I love how Cassandra made him such a bad boy. 
    Jem is nice to pass the time but Will is the one you wish Tessa is with all of the time! Will (Like I said) puts on a bad boy act and tries to
    make people think he is awful, but that doesnt stop Tessa from being into him. I highly recomend this book!  But I would also recomend 
    reading the mortal instraments first, (Because Cassandra didnt do a wonderful job of explaining the shadowhunter life in this book) So when you finish the mortal instraments, come back and fall in LOVE with Will ! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Cleo's review- reviewing since last year sometime!

    Okay, so i had my doubts about this book which, incase you want to know, 472 pages an is about Tessa and her experiances wih halfangels called Nephilim. My aunt bought it for me, and well....she thinks dogs arnt wolves anscestors. So i was skeptical. But its really quite good/you feel for the characters. I offically reccomend this book. :)
    -Cleo DeMurr is out
    Ps. Sorry for all those spelling errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    A Must for your Shelf The YA genre today is papered with storie

    A Must for your Shelf

    The YA genre today is papered with stories of witches, zombies, vampires, etc, but Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare was surprisingly refreshing. Yes, there are elements of the supernatural fantasy and yes, there are vampires and warlocks but it is done in a way where although that is part of the storyline it is not overwhelming. The characters are wonderfully developed and the background is so exquisite that at times you actually feel like you're reading a movie (I love it when a book takes me to that visionary place)!

    As generally expected, there is a female protagonist who does not know her power in the beginning but that knows she is of some importance fairly early on. There is also an element of a love triangle building, however in this book there is very little romance (I imagine throughout the series this will grow). Clare, does an excellent job at growing the intensity and providing ample twists and turns throughout the book to keep the reader fully engaged. The pace picks up drastically near the end and it leaves you hungry for more...so much more! I cannot wait to sink my teeth into the next in the series, Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, Book 2)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Love

    I liked reading about the ancestors of the characters in The Mortal Instruments series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A fun read

    The Cassandra Clare Infernal devices books are a lot of fun to read. They are a pleasant escape from the doldrums of daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 576 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29