Customer Reviews for

Clockwork Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    A good read even if you are not a Rush fan...

    First, let me say that I personally think that Clockwork Angels is the best of Rush's "modern/synth" era albums. Rush has always put their best foot forward when an album follows a theme ala "2112" and "Hemispheres". This new album is no exceptions.
    The book was a no brainer for a Rush fan, a must read as a deeper insight into the songs and story. But, beyond that, it is a compelling read cover to cover, hopefully, for non Rush fans too. I found myself eager to read on to see what would befall Owen Hardy next. The book is well written and moves you along adventure to adventure with great ease. I did feel however, that is was too short and alot of the story seems to rush you along wanting more detail of both characters and enviroments. Hate to say it, but it could have stood for a little more Stephen Kingish style writting, where details are sometimes over done. I, however, would have welcomed it in this case. What did the alleys in the city smell like, what was the captains coat made of, how many days travel between the seven cities or what was beyond them. At 260 pages it could easily have been 500 and I would have read every page enthusiastically. Second edition maybe? :o)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    A joy from the first page to the last. As a Rush fan I expected

    A joy from the first page to the last. As a Rush fan I expected to enjoy the book, but I didn't know I'd truly love it! The references to Rush albums and lyrics are not overdone or distracting at all, my personal favorite being the Watchmaker's dog Martin. The ending is extraordinarily moving (increased my appreciation of "The Garden" from the C.A. album) and will probably provoke a telling nod from older readers, and give younger ones some food for thought about life's ultimate "meaning." I can easily imagine non-Rush fans conceding that this is a wonderful tale, thrillingly told.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    An exceptionally close friend recommended this book to me after

    An exceptionally close friend recommended this book to me after he found my obsession with Rush and I immediately went to my nearest book store and bought it. Definitely worth the trip to get it and the time to read it. CLOCKWORK ANGELS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL RUSH FANS!

    If you were like me, and didn't really find Clockwork Angels an appealing album to listen to at first, reading this novel will change everything. The more I read, the more I fell in love with the album, and the more I just couldn't stop listening to the songs over and over on repeat. The reading experience is definitely enhanced if you play the album along with the reading. You will definitely get a kick out of all the song references that are placed relatively well in the reading.

    A comic book adaptation of this novel is out too! Can't wait for that to arrive at my doorstep.

    All in all, I really couldn't put this book down because of how compelling the storyline is. You are in an alchemic and steampunk-y world where you are brought up to believe that all is for the best in this "perfect" universe. Definitely recommended for avid Rush fans, especially for all the song references that non-Rush fans wouldn't get a kick out of, but overall, I believe that it is acceptable to read it if you do not listen to this amazing band.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Clockwork Angels, which is a collaboration of long time friends

    Clockwork Angels, which is a collaboration of long time friends Kevin J. Anderson and Rush's drummer and lyricist Neil Peart, is a story of self realization. Owen Hardy grew up believing that "everything has it's place." Owen is on the verge of becoming a man but has big dreams of seeing the world and all of the wondrous things it contains. Often guided by his heart and dreams, Owen travels to many different cities and lands realizing that nothing in life is simply black or white, and that the most important thing in life is to stay true to oneself. It is okay to be unique and to think outside the box. Great book for young men!Clockwork Angels, which is a collaboration of long time friends Kevin J. Anderson and Rush's drummer and lyricist Neil Peart, is a story of self realization. Owen Hardy grew up believing that "everything has it's place." Owen is on the verge of becoming a man but has big dreams of seeing the world and all of the wondrous things it contains. Often guided by his heart and dreams, Owen travels to many different cities and lands realizing that nothing in life is simply black or white, and that the most important thing in life is to stay true to oneself. It is okay to be unique and to think outside the box. Great book for young men!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    A masterpiece

    I can't say much without repeating what others have said in their reviews. This is a wonderful book that brings the lyrics of Rush into a steampunk world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Wont open

    Can't open Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Very good, but staggers near the end

    Overall, I thought this was a great boom, especially for fans of the band. Unfortunately, i felt that when the character left Albion, the rest of the story felt a bit (no pun intended) rushed...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    this was one of the best books I have ever read!! I has no idea

    this was one of the best books I have ever read!! I has no idea it involved rush or anything about the writer but this to me is about todays world.I only wish I could more books like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I lllllooooovvvvveeee this book

    For all ages im i tween i read it but mom read it to and found it facinating truly a beutiful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Mellow Mello

    This book has a good storyline and concept but it did not exceed any expectations i had while reading it. I was disappointed in the end when it turned out that the climax was very not climactic. I definitely expected more from Peart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rush¿s concept album makes it to print Clockwork Angels is a c

    Rush’s concept album makes it to print


    Clockwork Angels is a collaboration between veteran science fiction novelist Kevin J. Anderson and Rush drummer and lyricist Neil Peart. If you’ve heard Clockwork Angels the album, then you already have a general idea of what the story is.

    Nevertheless, this steam punk tale is the story of Owen Hardy, who on the eve of adulthood breaks away from his regimented life and goes on a series of (mis)adventures. While on his journey he becomes the pawn in a battle between the Watchmaker’s forces of extreme stability and the Anarchist’s wild abandon. Along the way he joins a carnival where he learns to juggle, fight, and falls in love with a beautiful acrobat. He departs the carnival after being heartbroken only to have more misadventures including a confrontation with the anarchist. I’ll leave the summary at that, no need for me to retell the story or give away the ending.

    Clockwork is more than the typical sci-fi yarn. There’s the aforementioned companion CD, plus the hard bound edition includes several detailed illustrations by long-time Rush album artist Hugh Syme. Syme’s artistic contributions really help convey the visual aspect to Anderson’s steam punk world. I found the references to Rush lyrics and albums throughout the work to be a fun and interesting twist.

    This was not only my first foray into the steam punk genre, but also the first Anderson book I’ve read. I wouldn’t have read it if I wasn’t such a huge Rush junkie. The story moves along at a good pace; it never drags and is quite emotional. You ride Owen Hardy’s emotional rollercoaster all the way; from the highs, lows and everything in between. I enjoyed it enough to consider checking out other Anderson and steam punk works.

    This is a must for hardcore Rush fans, especially if you are high on the new CD. Pick this up and get immersed into Anderson’s steam punk, Rush inspired world of stability versus volatility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    I thought Mr. Anderson did an excellent job of weaving past Rush

    I thought Mr. Anderson did an excellent job of weaving past Rush lyrics into this novel. If you're a fan, you'll get it, and if not, you won't be adversely affected by them.
    I'm a newcomer to steampunk, but I get it, and judging by earlier Neal Peart lyrics, he is no stranger to the great imagined future, whether steam powered, or no motors at all.
    Very good novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    To angel

    I live at more res one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Intelligent Modern Fairy Tale

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Autumn

    Owen Hardy has lived a full and orderly life, but has always dreamed of what worlds lay just beyond. He decides to tell the story of the adventures of his youth near the end of his days. It is of a magical “steampunk” world that includes the precision of Watchmakers and the maelstrom of Anarchists, pirates and fantastic carnivals.

    I honestly loved the way this book was written. The poetic prose leads the reader along in such a way that you actually visualize the scenes, smell the scents and feel the objects. The brilliant animations by Hugh Syme in the hardcover edition add another layer to the total experience.

    Rush fans will be able to recognize some of the themes that weave through the book such as the conflicting nature of order and chaos, dreams and reality as well as the ideals of youth and the practicality of experience.

    Clockwork Angels is a book that readers will want to slow down and spend time reading in order to fully enjoy the intricate world building and lyrical aspects of the story. It is truly an intelligent modern fairy tale…

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Loved the book! I found it hard to put down - I plan on reading again at a slower pace. Well written and creative sci-fi adventure story. Intricately tied to the song lyrics in both obvious and subtle ways. I enjoyed the way the story line was somewhat unpredictable as it filled in the gaps between specific songs to make unified story. Even though I new the song lyrics the story seemed fresh. The main themes of stability, chaos, brainwashing, ignorance, imagination, freewill (and more) were thought provoking and can be reflected in one’s personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Interesting book idea.

    Sci-fi author Kevin J. Anderson teams up with Drummer/ Lyrist Neil Peart of the band RUSH for this book based off the new concept album by Rush by the same name. Illistrations are by Hugh Syme, the artist responsible for most if not all of Rush's albums, not to mention album cover art for many other numerous recording artists.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Simply put, outstanding! Tom Sawyer goes steam punk with a real

    Simply put, outstanding! Tom Sawyer goes steam punk with a real Jules Verne, H.G. Wells feel. The vibe is straight from the classic age of science fiction. Epic self discovery novel with unique twists throughout. The philsophical side will have you pondering. Written by two men who have a deep appreciation for Science Fiction. They manage to come up with something totally unique in a genre where cliche is a real problem. This one is destined to be a classic and should not be missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2