Customer Reviews for

Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1198)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

Best Cassandra Clare Book Yet!!!

You know that feeling of finally returning home after you have been on a trip for several days? The type of trip that ends with a long drive, and those last few hours of highway seem to keep multiplying. From the moment I cracked open this book, that was the feeling I...
You know that feeling of finally returning home after you have been on a trip for several days? The type of trip that ends with a long drive, and those last few hours of highway seem to keep multiplying. From the moment I cracked open this book, that was the feeling I was overwhelmed with. I felt like I had come home again after a long journey. Most people that know me, know that I love Cassandra Clare (and Jace), and love might be too weak of a word! Something about her writing calls to me, and just clicks with my personality. She has gone far beyond my expectations with Clockwork Prince. As I say above, it is stunningly perfect!!!

At the end of Clockwork Angel, we were left with many questions. My main question was, what the heck is going on with Will? I wanted to love him him in CA, then he would do something that made me question whether I had judged him correctly! I like my boys broken, and they don't come anymore broken than Mr. Herondale. To my abiding joy, Cassie answers those questions in CP, and not on the last page of the novel! It was wonderful to have those answers almost immediately. It seems to be a mighty feat to be able to produce a successful 2nd novel in a series. Many times we don't find out enough information, and its basically just a huge setup for the finale. Clockwork Prince is not that way in the least. I was overjoyed by how many questions we actually got answered.

Another unique quality of Cassie's writing is her ability to build a character. Her novels are all in 3rd person and are deeply character driven. Every character is distinctly different, and they seem to come to life right before your eyes. After reading this, I feel like I genuinely know and have a substantial insight into what makes each character tick. (ha!) We find out more about every single character, and even get to see a different side of Magnus that makes me only love him more. The insights don't stop with the characters either. So much more of the Shadowhunter world is revealed especially what all encompasses a parabatai relationship. I can't wait to go back and read all the other novels in light of this new knowledge!

I know that Cassie promised a Dirty Sexy Balcony Scene, but just let me say there is so much more where that came from! If you like the kissing (from both boys), you will be bursting with giddiness through this book!!! I will also say, hands down, that this is the best love triangle that exists in written words to date! I am so utterly torn. One moment I want her to be with Will because of his emotional brokenness, and the next moment I'm routing for Jem because of his physical brokenness. All three of them deserve to be happy, but I'm worried our hearts and theirs will be broken either way! Its ripping my heart out!

Through the pages, I experienced the entire gamut of emotions. I laughed, cried, loved and was terrified at moments. I love novels that make me feel and boy did I get exactly what I wanted! After it was all over, I couldn't stop crying! Ms. Clare gives us exactly what we all want in the novel, but just puts her classic spin on it! I am simultaneously overjoyed and aggrieved at the same time! Its a beautiful book, full of everything that encompasses wonderful in a novel. It is honestly one of the best books I have ever read!!!

posted by YA-Sisterhood on October 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I cried Awedomely awesome

I hate Jem! Team Will for life!! <3

posted by 3916363 on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 76
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Cassandra Clare Book Yet!!!

    You know that feeling of finally returning home after you have been on a trip for several days? The type of trip that ends with a long drive, and those last few hours of highway seem to keep multiplying. From the moment I cracked open this book, that was the feeling I was overwhelmed with. I felt like I had come home again after a long journey. Most people that know me, know that I love Cassandra Clare (and Jace), and love might be too weak of a word! Something about her writing calls to me, and just clicks with my personality. She has gone far beyond my expectations with Clockwork Prince. As I say above, it is stunningly perfect!!!

    At the end of Clockwork Angel, we were left with many questions. My main question was, what the heck is going on with Will? I wanted to love him him in CA, then he would do something that made me question whether I had judged him correctly! I like my boys broken, and they don't come anymore broken than Mr. Herondale. To my abiding joy, Cassie answers those questions in CP, and not on the last page of the novel! It was wonderful to have those answers almost immediately. It seems to be a mighty feat to be able to produce a successful 2nd novel in a series. Many times we don't find out enough information, and its basically just a huge setup for the finale. Clockwork Prince is not that way in the least. I was overjoyed by how many questions we actually got answered.

    Another unique quality of Cassie's writing is her ability to build a character. Her novels are all in 3rd person and are deeply character driven. Every character is distinctly different, and they seem to come to life right before your eyes. After reading this, I feel like I genuinely know and have a substantial insight into what makes each character tick. (ha!) We find out more about every single character, and even get to see a different side of Magnus that makes me only love him more. The insights don't stop with the characters either. So much more of the Shadowhunter world is revealed especially what all encompasses a parabatai relationship. I can't wait to go back and read all the other novels in light of this new knowledge!

    I know that Cassie promised a Dirty Sexy Balcony Scene, but just let me say there is so much more where that came from! If you like the kissing (from both boys), you will be bursting with giddiness through this book!!! I will also say, hands down, that this is the best love triangle that exists in written words to date! I am so utterly torn. One moment I want her to be with Will because of his emotional brokenness, and the next moment I'm routing for Jem because of his physical brokenness. All three of them deserve to be happy, but I'm worried our hearts and theirs will be broken either way! Its ripping my heart out!

    Through the pages, I experienced the entire gamut of emotions. I laughed, cried, loved and was terrified at moments. I love novels that make me feel and boy did I get exactly what I wanted! After it was all over, I couldn't stop crying! Ms. Clare gives us exactly what we all want in the novel, but just puts her classic spin on it! I am simultaneously overjoyed and aggrieved at the same time! Its a beautiful book, full of everything that encompasses wonderful in a novel. It is honestly one of the best books I have ever read!!!

    121 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to read it

    I am so excited. Hope to read it soon.

    46 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Honestly cannot wait!

    Clockwork Angel was Great=) By the end you are going crazy trying not to think about the possible outcomes=) All of the characters are riveting and all of the twists leave you begging for the answers=P I cannot wait !

    29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Amazing!! One of my favorites!!

    Once again, Cassandra Clare hasn't failed to produce a book that falls in my top 10 list. This book was so incredible!!! It was terrible and depressing and shocking and tear-jerking and completely UNFAIR!!! MAJOR CLIFFHANGER AND CLOCKWORK PRINCESS DOESN'T COME OUT TIL SEPT 2013!!!!!

    This book kept me up allll night for 2 days until I finished it. I cried sooooo much. I absolutely loved it (as masochistic as that is since the outcome DESTROYED ME!!)!! I swear Cassandra Clare feeds on the souls of her readers because that ending was cruel. I was so depressed when it was over because I NEEDED MORE!!!!

    I absolutely reccomend it. It was amaazing!!!!!!!!

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I have fallen in love with Will Herondale @cassieclare

    Starting the book I was torn between Jem & Will for Tessa. I knew that Will had to have a reason for pushing her away but I am a hopeless romantic and felt he could've tried harder to atleast be pleasant towards her. Just as I had decided that Jem was the one Cassie Clare throws in her famous surprises and has made me change my mind completely. I found myself heart broken with how much Will is hurting and I am now 100% Team Will. I still love Jem but Will is her soulmate with no doubt. MUST READ!! Can't wait for Clockwork Princess.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm so excited

    I can't wait till this book comes out the first one was amazing and it left me wanting more!!!! I'm so excited to see what happens next!

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Dec. 6th is too far away.

    Cassandra Clare definitely has best sellers here. She does a great job writing both the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series (so far). I have not been able to put any of the books down. I absolutely love the mix of fantasy and historical fiction. The characters in both series are compelling and very real. The plots and subplots are brilliantly played out for a true page turner. For those of you who have not read the Mortal Instruments series(City of Ashes, City of Bones, City of Glass and City of Fallen Angels), I would recommend reading those first before you start the infernal devices series. Even though the plots are indendent of one another, there will be some elements of the infernal devices series that would be unexplained otherwise. If you love Stephenie Meyers', Sally Gardner's and/or Maggie Stiefvator's writing you will absolutely adore Cassandra Clare's. I cannot wait for the release date.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    I can't wait!

    I loved Clockwork Angel, I can't wait until Clockwork Prince comes out, I'm loving all the CA references so far in City of Fallen Angels, it just makes me want CP more!

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    :)

    Love u will

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    INCREDIBLE

    An amazing book as is expected to the Infernal Devices trilogy. I recommend it to anyone looking for an exciting read!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A blockbuster paranormal sequel that simmers with longing and desire

    Cassandra Clare sure knows how to write a love scene. Her hot and steamy writing, while appropriate for a young adult audience, will have women regardless of age tearing through the pages of her Infernal Devices sequel, Clockwork Prince in eager anticipation of the passionate make-out sessions and heated embraces. And, of course, the addition of a heartbreaking love triangle never fails to heighten the emotion of an already charged atmosphere.

    This paranormal romance is set in late 19th century London at the Institute, a center of learning and seat of wisdom for a supernatural clave called the Shadowhunters. These ninja-like warriors are referred to as Nephilim, a race of humans whose lineage descends from angels. Their sole purpose is to protect humanity from the demons that crossover into the earthly realm. They also keep Downworlders in line such as warlocks, fairies, vampires and werewolves. However as the action begins, they are on the watch for Mortmain, their sworn enemy who seeks their destruction with his army of mechanized automatons. Not to mention, he wants to kidnap and marry our heroine, Tessa, who he believes is an instrumental component to his takeover strategy.

    Being the object of Mortmain's obsession confuses Tessa because she herself is unsure of her exact genetic makeup. She exhibits the ability to take on the physical form of another person, yet she does not bear the mark of a warlock. Rescued by the Shadowhunters, she is offered protection at the Institute where she just happens to come between two best friends, Will and Jem. The boys share a special mystical bond whereby they pledged an oath to stand by each other for the rest of their lives. Tragically, although just a teenager, Jem is slowly succumbing to an untimely death. The opium he takes to stay alive has preternaturally aged him turning his hair and eyes silver. Yet he seemingly starts to regain his strength when he believes Tessa might actually care for him.

    And that's where the drama begins. After being cruelly rebuffed by the painstakingly handsome, Will, Tessa is left in a state of confusion and dismay. Will is a self-proclaimed playboy who has no intentions of pursuing any kind of lasting romantic relationship with Tessa. He pushes her away for reasons unknown to her but are gradually revealed over the course of the novel. His advances toward her run hot and cold. Undeniably physically attracted to him, she is unable to reconcile his changeable behavior into something she would want to endure on a regular basis.

    Little does Will know that Jem is harboring a flame of his own for Tessa. While always appreciative of Jem's kindness and friendship, Tessa is surprised that she also experiences a strong feeling of desire for him. The dynamics shift when Jem boldly makes his move during an unexpected nighttime visit by Tessa. Jem caresses Tessa's body like his delicate hands painstakingly tune his violin. She intuitively knows that what they have is something special and she eagerly responds to his gentle touch.

    Tessa can't stand Will's arrogance and aloofness, yet she can't take her eyes off him or remove him from her fantasies. However with Jem she feels a deeper, more intimate, connection that she can't deny makes her feel complete like she has finally come home. After a violent showdown with Nate, both Jem and Will plead their case to win her heart. In the end, she makes the decision to choose one over the other.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    I cried Awedomely awesome

    I hate Jem! Team Will for life!! <3

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    I was really excited to get my "invitation" for the masquerade, letting me know that I would be getting an ARC of CP, and it showed up the very next day, with another surprise--a t-shirt. They are both awesome, but didn't hold a light to how it was actually reading the book.
    Clockwork Prince starts where CA left off, and I was not at all disappointed. The plot was awesome-it always had me guessing what would happen next and kept me on the edge of my seat. The way that some things turned out were not at all what I expected-could never have imagined is more like it-I was shocked and pleasantly surprised by some of the developments.
    Jem really gets his chance to shine in this novel, and I'm really happy for him, even though everything is still overshadowed by his illness. Jem is my favorite for me, but for now, I still have to with-hold judgement on who I think is best for Tessa.
    Will is really complicated, and we find out some of the reasons for his defenses and it breaks my heart. It feels like one thing gets figured out for him, and then something else stands in his way. But I love getting the glimpses into his heart when we see him interact with Jem--and we get a few of those in CP, and I love every moment of it.
    There is some steamy in this book never fear, but that's all I'll say to avoid spoilers.
    I SO can't wait until the next book!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Infernal Devices Tops Mortal Instruments

    I'm not sure if it is the time setting, location, characters or simply all these aspects that make me love the Infernal Devices so much. All the questions from the last book are answered and the ultimate question left hanging is "what is going to happen between Jem, Will and Tessa?"
    Unlike most novels by Cassandra Clare the book doesn't end in one huge annoying cliff hanger where terrible things occur and all questions are answered at the last minute. The story and complexity is unraveled piece by piece throughout the whole course of the book and excitement occurs from the first to last page, especially in terms of the love triangle.
    What I find so sad, yet at the same time interesting to read about the love triangle is that all three people have some type of relationship and no matter what happens the ending is still sad. The ending of this book is bitter sweet and I was absolutely torn between Jem and Will, as is Tessa. I knew all along that Will would never intentionally be as cruel as he made himself to be and I love his wittiness and the true, kind side to him. Jem is so interesting and the perfect, ideal guy for any girl, he is so sweet and affectionate :(. I'm just praying that he survives his disease that makes him so fragile.
    I loved how the story went more in depth with the Lightwoods and Sophie. Lets just say Sophie meets a significant other. Not to mention more of Henry and Charlottes relationship being shown. It's all very cute.
    Anyway, this book went above my expectations and lives up to the first, unlike City of Ashes which I disliked and feared this would be the same which it was not. It was a great read and I will most likely be reading it again in anticipation for Clockwork Princesss.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    An absolute MUST have book!

    I have recently finished this book and it was, in the least of words, amazing! The love triangle between Tessa, Will, and Jem is so mysterious and thrilling that it keeps you begging for more. The betrayed relationship between Tessa and Nate is heart-wrenching and always leaves you wondering, why? Anybody who is looking for an action packed love story would find this book to their liking. Books always move me in passionate ways;however, this one started to get me to thinking about other things, not just love and compassion, but how people absorb the world. Some may see it only as a cruel place with unforgivable people. Others may look at it as a place with benevolence and concern. I have never given much thought to why those people you hear on television are able to kill and do harm to others without thought. But then I start wondering: Maybe something happened in their past that scarred them, or maybe they have nobody left to care for in the world. And then there are those who do it simply because they have no compassion, nor a kind heart. This magnificent book has taught and shown me many things, and all I have to say is this: Thank you to a superior level of gratitude, Mrs. Cassandra Clare.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    Clockwork Angel is an absolutely amazing book. It is one of my absolute favorites! I cant wait for Clockwork Prince to come out!!!!! In my opinion, I think that Tessa should be with Jem. I can see how she would like the mysteriousness about Will, and I can tell that he cares about her, but I just think that Jem cares more in the sense of making her feel safe and happy, and that he is more honest with her than Will is. And if Will had a fling with Gabriel Lightwoods sister, how do we know that if Tessa chooses Will, he will have his fun with her and then just go find another girl? But he does say he is intruiged by her, so I dont know. I dont hate Will at all, but I honestly prefer her with Jem. And dont you think its weird that even though Will and Gabriel hate each other, their decendants (Jace and Alec) end up being parabatai? I think its pretty ironic. And btw, I think thats Jem on the cover. Because the person is holding a walking stick with a dragon head, and anyone who has read the book will know that Jem owns a walking stick with a dragon head. But anyway, I cant wait for this book to come out. Im sure i will positively love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    OMG+so+excited%21%21%21%21

    I+loved+the+last+one.+Cant+wait%21

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    I+cant+wait

    I+CANT+WAIT

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    This book!

    I'm going to fangirl vent about this book, so sorry to anyone who reads this.

    I..ugh! I love you, Cassandra Clare, but no, just no. Sure mmphmm may be nicer and sweeter, and better for Tessa's emotional state, but hmphmh is better, so much better. I've honestly never cried so much over a book, ever. When Tessa broke hmphmh heart like that, I threw my nook across the room. I just.........ugh.........just ugh.... I can't stop tearing up. Hopefully Clockwork Princess will have a better ending.

    Sorry for the names, but trying to keep this review as spoiler free as possible while still venting. Anyway, buy this freaking book! Seriously, if you read Clockwork Angel, you have to read this. Clare did a fan-freaking-tastic job (even if it made my tear out my hair). Stop reading reviews and buy the book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Soo good!!!!

    Omg this book was so amazing! Cant believe ill have to wait till 2013 to keep reading this amazing series!!!! I love this author! But at the end i was so sad and so surprised at the same time! I did not expect wat happened to happen i thought it was gonna b the conplete opposite! This book has surprises everytime u turn the page! Its a defenite must read! Definitley one of my fav authors and books!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 76