BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cloris

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I LOVED (!!!) this book

    I've always admired Cloris Leachman, but after reading her autobiography (which read much more like an award winning fiction novel), I'm even more impressed.

    Ms. Leachman has had an incredible life. And, while she has been on the on the arms of future presidents and has worked with some of the most famous of stars, she has maintained her humor, love and personal self.

    I would encourage EVERYONE to buy a copy of this book. It's extremely fast reading - you won't want to put it down! It's warm, sensitive, amusing and makes you feel like you know this wonderful woman.

    Please !!! Try it out - it's one of the best reads I've had this year !

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    You'll Fall In Love With Cloris

    This is without a doubt the most enjoyable read this year! From her humble beginnings to her meteroic rise to stardom in her Oscar-winning turn in "The Last Picture Show," this book is packed with memories of a life and career well-lived. Cloris regales the reader with remembrances of Paul Newman, Paul Lynde, Marlon Brando and too many to mention here. BUY THIS BOOK!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cloris Leachman autobiography gave an interesting account of her life and experiences, and yet left me feeling that her "successes" were empty.

    Cloris repeatedly remarks on how thin/small she was, how ridiculously talented she was and how many roles were handed to her, without her even needing to audition. Although she mentions neglecting her three small children and essentially ignoring her husband's pleas on their behalf to return to them, she chooses instead to remain loyal to her career and remain miles away on location. She described being broken-hearted that they did not recognize her upon her return (Bryan actually asking if she was really their mother), but life went on, as did her career.

    Sexual dalliances by her husband and herself were not surprising, given her self-serving, ego-centric existence, where feeling good at all costs seems to be her prime motivator.

    Her fear of nearing the end of life and her refusal or inability to develop a spiritual side to herself left me feeling that she missed the point of why we are all here. If only somewhere along the way she had developed an appreciation and understanding of why she was given the remarkable gifts she has enjoyed and shared, this stage of her life would likely be more palatable and she could look forward to reaping the rewards of a life well lived.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    What a great autobiography

    Since I was born and raised in the same city Cloris, I grew up near her family's business and always felt a connection to her. Reading her book was enjoyable and was as if she were telling you her life story sitting across the table from you. I could not put the book down and was anxious to pick up where I left off. She speaks of her family life and the celebrity world that she has become a part of and is very candid. She speaks about her recent endeavors with Dancing With The Stars and what it took to be a part of the show. She speaks about her performances as well. I did not realize that she lost a son from drug addiction until I read this book, and she speaks, I'm sure with great difficulty about the subject but does not attempt to hide or disguise it. This woman has an ecen greater respect from me than what I had before. Enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    A Great Actress' Life Lessons

    Cloris Leachman's autobiography is an enjoyable, if disappointingly short, addition to the genre of actors' autobiographies. If you primarily know Leachman from her work in the Seventies on the "Mary Tyler Moore Show" and the spinoff "Phyllis," you'll probably be as surprised as I was that she had an extensive career in theatre, TV and the movies before her sitcom glory days. She was friends with famous entertainers that I did not expect-Marlon Brando, Katherine Hepburn, and Paul Lynde to name a few. The book is not told chronologically but thematically; that seems to fit her personality and is not a problem for the reader. Given her remarkable career longevity, it's not a surprise that she has some great stories to share. I wish the book had been longer with more in depth appraisals of her work and colleagues, but it's still a pleasure to read. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Cloris

    Wonderful read she is the best. Had hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Fascinating Woman!

    This book was so well written and thought out. She is a fascinating, gutsy woman, and will try just about anything. She has had a wonderful full life full of ups and downs. She's very candid and talks about all aspects of her life. I couldn't put the book down and wanted more when it was done. She's had a wonderful career and personal life. She sounds like a wonderful wife, mother, and friend. She talks about things like her husband's friendship with Marlon Brando to losing her son. She was also a close personal friend of Paul Lynde, and many, many other celebrities. She makes you fell like a friend while you're reading the book. I highly recommend this very enjoyable book by Cloris Leachman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Reading

    I enjoyed this book & the way it was written, I was moved by her honesty concerning the death of her son & how she was able to put into words the need to temporarily block out accepting the reality of his passing.
    I think she is one of the most talented actress & I have enjoyed everything I have seen her in. It would have been a delight to have met her & experience one of her hugs, however, in lieu of that I did enjoy the paper hug at the end, I must have needed it because I shed a few tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2