Customer Reviews for

Close Liaisons (The Krinar Chronicles: Volume 1)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great new find!

This is a crazy interesting new story. One arrogant male who knows excatly what he wants and the stubborn college girl who doesn't. The charactors are charming. Lots of intrigue and romance where the leading man will not let his lady screw up their new relationship ...
This is a crazy interesting new story. One arrogant male who knows excatly what he wants and the stubborn college girl who doesn't. The charactors are charming. Lots of intrigue and romance where the leading man will not let his lady screw up their new relationship no matter what she does. This is a lengthy novel at almost 600 pages that flows quickly and describes this slightly futuristic world perfectly without overwhelming you with unnessassary details. Am excited to start the sequal and see how the charactors fair in the future.

posted by SimiSD on April 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tried to like it but it fell short for me

I really did try to like this, the plot line and basic idea seemed promising but for me the characters didnt jive, the sexscenes were dry and the whole relationship seemed too stockholm-ish to me. While the author wrote well, hence the two stars instead of one, the plot...
I really did try to like this, the plot line and basic idea seemed promising but for me the characters didnt jive, the sexscenes were dry and the whole relationship seemed too stockholm-ish to me. While the author wrote well, hence the two stars instead of one, the plotline was just too basic in the end with a very sci-fi romance 'alien meets girl stakes claim causes problems and finally girl realuzes she loves him at the end'. I felt there was no real love between the characters with the heroine occassionally saying 'hey im not your slave' followed by alien -sexymans response of 'well you liked it'. I kept thinking this realationship resembled more of a delusional rapist and a stockholm victim then a matchmake in a galaxy far away. There were some minor holes with the side characters and their roles but overall it was just a basic hohum story. Id pass this one up kiddies

posted by TheCoffeeCup on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    When the Krinar invade earth, after some initial bloodshed, the

    When the Krinar invade earth, after some initial bloodshed, the two races settle down and co-exist  peacefully. Other than changing their diet, the Krinar pretty much leave the earthlings to live their lives the way they want. Of course, resentment and fear continue to simmer among the conquered earthlings. As race, the Krinar are beautiful people, but cruel and bloodthirsty—so the Earth people believe.
    Mia, a college student who wants to become a counselor, doesn’t give the Krinar much thought until the day she crosses paths with Korum, one of the “Ks,” and he takes an immediate and strong interest in her. Having heard the rumors, she’s scared to death of him and is afraid to tell him no so she reluctantly and fearfully becomes his “charl.” He pretty much takes over her life. But they have tremendous chemistry, and she discovers a great passion with him and comes to care for him.
    And then she is contacted by members earth’s Resistance Movement who want her to spy on Korum and report back with any information that could be useful in overthrowing the Krinar. She must then betray a man she has come to love—and who might also kill her if he discovers her duplicity—or reject and fail her people.
    This novel gripped me by the throat and wouldn’t let me go. The actions and ambivalent emotions of an innocent college student attempting to take on a powerful, dangerous invader felt so true to life, it was easy to identify with the heroine even though she is much younger than heroines I usually care to read about. Author Anna Zaires crafts technology and customs for the Krinar that are interesting without going into tech overload. The chemistry between the characters was believable and hot. Although there was some disconnect between the crude and clinical language used, overall, it did not detract from the sexiness of the story for me.
    What I liked most about this book was the way Zaires creates a fascinating day-to-day life while leaving the reader guessing about the story outcome and the motives of the Krinar. Are the alien invaders the bad guys? Or are the Resistance fighters the bad guys? Who is telling the truth?
    Loved this book. Would rate it 6 stars if I could. Close Liaison is part one of a trilogy, and I’ve already started reading book 2.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Great new find!

    This is a crazy interesting new story. One arrogant male who knows excatly what he wants and the stubborn college girl who doesn't. The charactors are charming. Lots of intrigue and romance where the leading man will not let his lady screw up their new relationship no matter what she does. This is a lengthy novel at almost 600 pages that flows quickly and describes this slightly futuristic world perfectly without overwhelming you with unnessassary details. Am excited to start the sequal and see how the charactors fair in the future.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Scary but Hot Alien?

    He terrifies her, yet she is captivated by him. He is beyond beautiful, hunky and sexy, and she can't get enough of him. How does she reconcile her feelings for him, when his kind has taken over the Earth and changed everything about it forever? When they are together, none of it matters. Their bodies and hearts are in sync; she has no control. Hot and sexy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great series

    I've already read the second one and i am in love with this series. Must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Fantastic, yet very believable story! The author's attention to

    Fantastic, yet very believable story! The author's attention to detail really transports you to New York City, after the alien invasion. You can see yourself in the same room as the characters, and you can fall in love with them. So descriptive, you can really feel the intensity of emotional states, tastes, temperatures... really tantalizes all senses. I particularly enjoyed the tie-ins and references to our real world. This story can take place twenty years ago, or twenty years from now - it will still make sense to the reader. The book is so well written, it's a breath of fresh air after many books in this genre (which are poorly written with broken plot lines and errors). The sci-fi aspect is a thrill, it's a fast paced page turner, and the R-rated scenes are realistic, without subtle awkwardness. I can't wait to get to know more of Korum's world and to see what develops between him and Mia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Amazing

    Love the story. Compelling and lots of drama and sex. I will be reading the rest of this series for sure

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    gripping storyline loved this book

    gripping storyline loved this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Emh

    Great read!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Wow

    Great great story, hurry up payday so i can buy the next two

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    A great read

    Ive read alot of different types of books and this one is a great read. Now have to b patient for second installment will be worth it if it reads like this first one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    I loved it!

    Kept me intrested the whole book threw

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I don't normally give a book 5 stars, but this was an Exceptiona

    I don't normally give a book 5 stars, but this was an Exceptional Read..
    I don't usually read sci-fi but found this on the Free read list and thought I would give it a try, needless to say I was blown away.
    This is an exceptionally talented writer with one hell of an imagination. There is so much detail in this book about futuristic things that you can't help but become enthralled and the chemistry between the main characters is intense & explosive (Mia & Korum), they actually light up the pages, I thought my Nook would disintegrate on the spot a couple of time.. This is a compelling story of Love, Trust and Truths, oh an Aliens.. Special Thanks to Author Anna Zaires for the Book and Free Read. The Krinar Chronicles is an Excellent read and I'm looking forward to exploring book 2 & 3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Pleasantly surprised!

    This was a freebie I got and decided to read. I was actually very surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Very different than some paranormal books I have read but in a good way too. I loved the characters and where the author is taking the storyline. I enjoyed it enough to purchase the second book in the series. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Bueatiful

    Loved it. couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Kept me interested

    Awesome book! It kept me hooked til the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Very good story. Couldn't put down.

    Very good story. Couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    600 pages of where do I start?

    First, Mia is young and naive. With her being a college student, she should have asked questions before getting involved with an alien race. She had no idea of what she was getting herself into.

    Second, if the word "charl" meant human companion, why didn't he introduce her as that to his fellow Ks who came to his house?

    Third, All they did was eat and have well needed sex. They didn't really hang out, date, meet friends, family, etc. So yeah she was just that...A SEX SLAVE.

    Lastly, The book was well wrritten. A few typos but I loved the book and can't wait to read the rest of the series. I am still wondering about her just leaving Earth just like that and I want to see how their "companionship" works out. She will be casted out and called a traitor. just watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Unusual Story Line

    I enjoyed this book. It was a very good read. The characters were realistic and easy to identify with. The love connection between the two main characters is a bit affected by their status within the story, but maybe that makes it more realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Surprisingly good book

    I usually have low expectations for free books, but this was a surprisingly good read. I'll be reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Fascinating book!!!

    This is a must read book for all that believe in life out there. This book keeps you interested until the end. Anticipating the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3