BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Close to Famous

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

So good! COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!!!!!!!!

posted by ang35 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hmm

Is it worth the money...

posted by 6160505 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Really good.

    4:00 went to library, got this book.
    4:30 started reading.
    9:00 stopped reading, went to bed.
    7:00 woke up to read.
    10:00 went to piano lesson.
    12:00 finished book.
    Wow it was really gooooood.

    I find it kinda annoying how people review to say i got this book should i read it.. answer: so you HAVE the book. Usually what I do with new books is read them, but to each his own...
    Sorry to anyone offended by this. It is meant to be more a tease then real.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Awsome book and its funny

    I really like this book, i liked how it was really funny, loved how foster had a fear of elvis. Over all i think this is an amzing book. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Close to famous

    I just got the book nerous should i stat reading it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Magnificent

    Best book I ever read

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    PHENOMONAL AND PERFECT FOR ME!!!!!!!

    Omg this book is perfect for me cuz i luv to bake and my dream is to become a pastry chef. I luv this bok. Very sweet and funny. Anybody should luv it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Reading nut

    This book rocks!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Hmm

    Is it worth the money...

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Good book

    This book is a sweet and hopeful sttory that i found very interesting. I definetley reccomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    The book of the year

    This is the book everybody has been waiting for! This is the book to read for 2014. It has something fir everyone. Be brave and give it a shot!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    OMG

    This book was such a great one!!!! I could not put it down and i reccomend it to anyone ages 10-13

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Smile101

    I love this book. The one thing it has that compounds thiz book into one is the passionate characters. Not one character in a book doesn't have pasion in them. Love books. Forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Elvis

    Creepy Elvis dude creepy creepy, and really CREEPYYYYYYYYYY LIKE TOTESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Touching and amazing

    This book is so wonderful and encouraged me to follow my dreams and bake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    The best book ever

    Best book ever!!!I tots recamend this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Re:SPOILER ALERT

    Really!!!!! Some people acutually want to READ the book, not have it ruined by stupid people!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Boring

    Do not read this

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Cute

    Grea book with real life struggles like relationship abuse and starting a new life in a new area. Cute quick story! ~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Toally cool book Toally cool book

    This book is sort of a mstery but not a mstery. The MAIN charters are foster mama and sort of macon.
    I love his book so much I could read it again!!#!!!!
    Poster
    Emma

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cupcakes can cure anything

    "I'm going to make the world a better place, one cupcake at a time," is Foster McFee's motto. Her goal is to have her own children's cooking show on The Food Network, just like her idol Sonny Kroll. But first she's got to overcome a few obstacles.

    She and her mother, Rayka, flee Memphis because of Rayka's abusive boyfriend, Huck, the Elvis impersonator. At a result, Foster has a fear of all Elvis'. She left her Las Vegas pillowcase behind, the one with all of her mementoes of her father who died in the Iraq war. So, she's got to learn that it's what's inside that counts, the memories, the feelings. There are a few other obstacles she must overcome, but I'll leave you to discover those by yourself.

    Rayka and Foster settle in Culpepper, West Virginia, a small town populated with big hearted people, among them Kitty and Lester who give them a place to stay, Perseverance Wilson who is trying to save a church from being sold and Miss Charleena, a movie star who moved back home to avoid the paparazzi.

    It's been over two years since the last Joan Bauer book and that's too long to wait. She is a marvelous author. On her webpage she states, "I need to find hope in the world. I need to laugh. That's why I write." Her books are full of hope and full of laughter and just downright fun to read. Foster is a spunky twelve-year-old with big ambitions. Macon, her very short twelve-year-old friend wants to be a documentary film maker. Her mother wants to be a singer. Everyone in Culpepper seems to be working towards a goal. They all have hardships to overcome. But they also have spunk.

    Bauer's writing is descriptive, sometimes flowery, sometimes down to earth. Her plot is fun and moves quickly. But it's her characters that take the cake (no pun intended). They are interesting, funny, quirky, and endearing. You'll take to them immediately and want to know what happens to them.

    So, if you're looking for a fun to read, hopeful, funny book, Close to Famous is definitely for you. Then start at the beginning and read some of her earlier books, Hope Was Here, Rules of the Road, and Peeled. The only thing that could make Close to Famous more delicious would be to have some of the recipes in the back of the book, especially the Triple Chocolate Cupcakes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Non No one

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7