Customer Reviews for

Close to Shore: The Terrifying Shark Attacks of 1916

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Shark

This is a review of the book, Close to Shore , written by Michael Capuzzo. The book tells the story of shark attacks which occurred off the coast of New Jersey in the year of 1916. This book provided the idea for the blockbuster movie, Jaws. I thought the book was inter...
This is a review of the book, Close to Shore , written by Michael Capuzzo. The book tells the story of shark attacks which occurred off the coast of New Jersey in the year of 1916. This book provided the idea for the blockbuster movie, Jaws. I thought the book was interested, but occasionally got bogged down with too many factual details. The author did a good job of setting the scene for the year 1916. I liked his use of language and his description of many events. The book does bring out the fear people have of sharks. As a future marine biologist, I learned alot. I would give this book four(4) stars and would recommend it to my friends. I would not suggest they read it at the beach, though.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Boring!!!!!!

this was the most boring book i have ever read! it was too long and drawn out! it takes like the first 90 pages til you actually read about the first attack! i would NEVER recommed this book to anyone!

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Shark

    This is a review of the book, Close to Shore , written by Michael Capuzzo. The book tells the story of shark attacks which occurred off the coast of New Jersey in the year of 1916. This book provided the idea for the blockbuster movie, Jaws. I thought the book was interested, but occasionally got bogged down with too many factual details. The author did a good job of setting the scene for the year 1916. I liked his use of language and his description of many events. The book does bring out the fear people have of sharks. As a future marine biologist, I learned alot. I would give this book four(4) stars and would recommend it to my friends. I would not suggest they read it at the beach, though.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    Capuzzo could have taught Peter Benchley

    I recently bought the newer edition of this book for children. For children? I don't think so. In saying this, this book WAS more chilling, gripping and authentic than Peter Benchley's JAWS, except for Benchley's first 3 1/2 pages. Capuzzo really puts you there in 1916 - swimming on the Jersey shore, wearing the present day fashions and wishing that you were not the parents of the young men who perished during that hot, sweltering summer. I was so impressed that I decided to purchase the paperback and read the entire book of over 300 pages. A good source for shark-lovers and anyone interested in the great white shark.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    A rewarding read...

    This author uses colorful social, political, and scientific details about New Jerseyans and other Americans during the early 20th century in order to tell the story the 1916 shark attacks along the Jersey shore. Aside from a few gruesome details, I enjoyed every page!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    NONFICTION AT ITS BEST!

    It is interesting to note how little people knew about the great white in the summer of 1916 and how sobering it is to realize how little we still know about great whites. I was a little disappointed at first by the lack of illustrations but quickly found them unnecessary. This is as un-put-downable as any fiction.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Boring!!!!!!

    this was the most boring book i have ever read! it was too long and drawn out! it takes like the first 90 pages til you actually read about the first attack! i would NEVER recommed this book to anyone!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I could not put this book down. A compelling account of the 1916

    I could not put this book down. A compelling account of the 1916 shark attacks along the Jersey Shore. A great read with historical insight into the politics, popular beliefs and what life was like at the Jersey Shore in 1916.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    I hate the book

    I had to read this book for an essay. I tried forcing myself to read it. I couldnt! i only read 10 pages and i was ready to burn the book! the author explains things to much! after 10 pages all i could figure out was a guy swam in the ocean, and there is a hotel of the edge of new jersey! i tried as hard as i could to read the book! i cant! im just gonna fail the project, cause an F is better then having to read such an awful book!

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    A Book of Mystery

    When reading this book, 'Close to Shore: The terifying shark attacks of 1916' I first did not know what to think. AFter a long intoduction, the book opens up and revels a new side of mystery. It keeps its readers guessing on where the shark is, and what will happen next. Very detailed descriptions were given of the beach, victims, shark, and attack places. The author of this book has a lot of be proud of, no matter what people think. I am sure, you will love this book!!! =]

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Highly Recommended - Better than JAWS book or movie!!!

    Wonderful non-fiction account of 1916 shark attack along east coast. Reads better than most fiction stories. Stumbled upon this book while doing genealogical research on the internet - read the sample pages and was hooked! It's a genuine page-turner and has the bonus of giving a detailed depiction of the times and places where I grew up. I enjoyed this book on SO many levels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Very Good

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The history of the area and times was well done ....like reading an Edith Wharton or watching "Age of Innocence " with a shark. I've given copies to several friends who have also enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    GREAT HISTORICAL RECORD

    As a frequent visitor to the Jersey Shore, Long Beach Island in particular, I found this book to be a very interesting read into a snapshot in time when the summer of 1916 was anything but calm and serene up and down the beaches of New Jersey.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    Well-researched

    A short read but fascinating account of not just a rogue shark and it's attacks, but life in the early 1900s.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Great book

    Really good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good read but slow and dry at times. It is a historical account

    Good read but slow and dry at times. It is a historical account of the 1916 shark attacks off Long Island and New Jersey with very little anticdotal references. It will be a boring read for those not used to academic historical writing, but the history and recent re-investigation of the attacks is interesting and yields new evidence to the true species of the attacks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Sharks

    Long but a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great read for shark lovers

    This was a really entertaining book, perfect for those cold fall nights

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Highly recommend!!!

    Awesome book! Not only is it thrilling to read about the actual attacks, but it is great to immerse yourself in 1916. The author describes the era so well it's like being transported in time. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Authentic and riveting history

    Well researched and written like a good mystery. Highly recommended. Kind of wish there was a sequel to look forward to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Wrong Shark

    This may be premature since I have not read the book, but from the reviews and the book description it says the attacks of 1916 was a great white. That is for lack of a nicer term wrong. The shark attacks of 1916 were done by a bull shark; we know this to be true since only a bull shark can swim into non salted water. Also other tell tale signs, go online and do some research. To the author I hope this was fiction. To the individual who would like to become a marine biologist, don't take everything you read as the truth.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but........

    Its good but come on really.. how long could it take to get to the shark attacks so much about wierd people they play a role but why drag on and on about them. Geez

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3