BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Close to You

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hot!!!!! This book was steamy and fun. I really liked the chara

Hot!!!!! This book was steamy and fun. I really liked the characters, and the relationships. If those elements aren't there, then a romance novel doesn't work for me. The plot and the writing were really terrific too. Although I read a bit slowly (I think I like to lin...
Hot!!!!! This book was steamy and fun. I really liked the characters, and the relationships. If those elements aren't there, then a romance novel doesn't work for me. The plot and the writing were really terrific too. Although I read a bit slowly (I think I like to linger and can lose focus sometimes), but this story was a real page turner. I'm definitely going to get the other books in this series!

posted by SandyLove on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite... It upsets me to say that I didn't really car

Not my favorite...

It upsets me to say that I didn't really care for this book, which is a complete bummer. After finishing Perfect for You I couldn't wait to start this one. I just felt like it this book was lacking a bit. I never got a real feel for the characters an...
Not my favorite...

It upsets me to say that I didn't really care for this book, which is a complete bummer. After finishing Perfect for You I couldn't wait to start this one. I just felt like it this book was lacking a bit. I never got a real feel for the characters and I could have done without the crazy villainous mother. I just felt like she was so over the top.

While I enjoyed the relationship between Eve and Treat, I felt it was missing something. I think I would have like to see more book time devoted to them. I just never felt like we saw them grow as a couple and that their feelings seemed a bit premature. I never got a sense it was love, it just felt like a strong like.

As for Eve and Treat I enjoyed their characters a lot. I loved that Eve has a shoe fetish and tries to keep a positive attitude even when things don't go her way. I found that she was sweet and endearing and I found myself really rooting for her. With Treat I really came to like him. Did I think he was the bad boy he is portrayed? No, not at all. Treat is a sweet guy and is more like Prince Charming than James Dean. He is always coming to Eve's rescue and I love that he isn't afraid of his feelings.

My biggest issue with this book is Treat's mother. This woman is seriously crazy and I just hated that she got so much book time. I was not a fan of hers and how things ended up with her. I just think things with her were wrapped way to nicely and it just didn't feel realistic that after everything she did for everyone to forgive her so quickly.


**Copy provided by Author**

posted by Ramblings-From-This-Chick on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Hot!!!!! This book was steamy and fun. I really liked the chara

    Hot!!!!! This book was steamy and fun. I really liked the characters, and the relationships. If those elements aren't there, then a romance novel doesn't work for me. The plot and the writing were really terrific too. Although I read a bit slowly (I think I like to linger and can lose focus sometimes), but this story was a real page turner. I'm definitely going to get the other books in this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Overall I thought it was a sweet story and quite short. However

    Overall I thought it was a sweet story and quite short.

    However, because of the length, I felt that the two main characters lacked depth in their relationship. I am not sure what it was that even attracted the two together beside their good looks and his fetish for her high-heel shoes. I think his mother's personality was much more developed and it almost seemed as if their relationship was written around her mishaps in life.

    Although I'm a bit disappointed in this novel (especially after reading Kate Perry's Perfect for You), I'll probably still try out another one since I know she has great potential.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Not my favorite... It upsets me to say that I didn't really car

    Not my favorite...

    It upsets me to say that I didn't really care for this book, which is a complete bummer. After finishing Perfect for You I couldn't wait to start this one. I just felt like it this book was lacking a bit. I never got a real feel for the characters and I could have done without the crazy villainous mother. I just felt like she was so over the top.

    While I enjoyed the relationship between Eve and Treat, I felt it was missing something. I think I would have like to see more book time devoted to them. I just never felt like we saw them grow as a couple and that their feelings seemed a bit premature. I never got a sense it was love, it just felt like a strong like.

    As for Eve and Treat I enjoyed their characters a lot. I loved that Eve has a shoe fetish and tries to keep a positive attitude even when things don't go her way. I found that she was sweet and endearing and I found myself really rooting for her. With Treat I really came to like him. Did I think he was the bad boy he is portrayed? No, not at all. Treat is a sweet guy and is more like Prince Charming than James Dean. He is always coming to Eve's rescue and I love that he isn't afraid of his feelings.

    My biggest issue with this book is Treat's mother. This woman is seriously crazy and I just hated that she got so much book time. I was not a fan of hers and how things ended up with her. I just think things with her were wrapped way to nicely and it just didn't feel realistic that after everything she did for everyone to forgive her so quickly.


    **Copy provided by Author**

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I absolutely loved it and this whol

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I absolutely loved it and this whole series. It was sexy and romantic and funny all at the same time. I love how it shows off not only the relationships between men and women the untie friendships of women. kate perry is a talented writer really and truly gifted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Simple Quick Read

    This is a quick read with a simple, fast moving plot. Story is a take off on characters that were introduced in book one, although reading book 1 would not be necessary to follow book 2. My guess is each book in the series builds off characters from the previous book. For me this was just a cute simple love story that held my interest but left me wanting for a bit more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Undeniably wonderful

    Wonderful, fun and exciting read. Cannot wait to read the next book. Kate Perry is a "must read"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    I haven't read the series in order, but Treat and Eve are my fav

    I haven't read the series in order, but Treat and Eve are my favorite couple so far.

    Eve is INCREDIBLY likable and feels like a good friend, and Treat just a good guy.  I get so tired of the ridiculous romances where the hero is a super-billionaire by age 28 (all on his own of course) and the heroine is a poor sap waiting to be "completed."  Thank you Kate Perry for more adventure, great humor and fun (yes, I laughed out loud) and at least a whole lot closer to genuine-ness.

    Highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    This book is amazing, I loved the chemistry between Eve and Trea

    This book is amazing, I loved the chemistry between Eve and Treat, the love scenes were to die for( I would love for Treat to do that for me.... anyway). I couldn't stop thinking about how Eve isn't a silly girl, no she is a strong and independent woman who just needed some well.. MAN, and she found that and even more in Treat. When I finshed reading this book all I could think about was I need to read the other Laurel Heights novel, because this is a author whose books I would read again and again. So make sure you pick this up because it is a MUST READ, and right now it is FREE so that is amazingggg. Can't wait to see what else Kate Perry has for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    I'm new to reading Kate Perry's books, having started with Playi

    I'm new to reading Kate Perry's books, having started with Playing for Keeps. This one was a nice, fast read. I enjoyed seeing Eve & Treat hook up over chocolate croissants & mochas, but could predict the problems Eve experienced with Treat's mother Margaret & the "threat" Eve's business across the street from Margaret's posed to Margaret's self-esteem. Yes, I could have used more in the way of character development, and the editor could've done more with eliminating typos (my pet peeve), but I'll likely be reading more of Ms Perry's Laurel Heights series, especially since it takes place in my hometown of SF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Thos author knows exactly how to describe something so the movie

    Thos author knows exactly how to describe something so the movie plays out in your mind. I am a huge reader and when I discovered Kate Perry she jumped to the top of my favorites. I eagerly await every new book she has and usually devour it in one sitting and then immediately reread it. Wonderful books for when you need to escape for a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Lexidenea@textnow.me

    Someone add me and lend this to me.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    A book I couldn't out down so I read it within a few hours!  It'

    A book I couldn't out down so I read it within a few hours!  It's a beautiful romantic novel set in one gorgeous city - San Francisco! I was salivating  quite a few times visualising Eve's chocolate croissants and delectable mochas. The love and passion that Eve has for both her cafe and Treat was so immense you could feel it! If you're looking for a romance novel that makes you feel warm and loved up, then look no further! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Close to you is a stunning book. The romance is unforgettable an

    Close to you is a stunning book. The romance is unforgettable and sexy. You must read this book. It has all the qualities for a great romance novel. Sugar,spice,etc.,etc. A must read! Five star for sure. Pick up a copy and check out other books written by Kate Perry. She is a superior author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Easy reading! Just a cute and enjoyable love story.

    Easy reading! Just a cute and enjoyable love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This was really good, but not as good as the first. I did love

    This was really good, but not as good as the first. I did love Eve and Treat. Treat's mom...not-so-much. I'm glad there was a change in the plot. I don't like reading series where the books are predictable b/c they are pretty much the same story, or different story-in the same order. So, this did give us a different twist. We didn't see as much of Freya and Greg in this book, BUT you do meet Olivia...the series must continue!!! Looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Close to You is number 2 in Kate Perry¿s Laurel Heights series.

    Close to You is number 2 in Kate Perry’s Laurel Heights series. Eve becomes the main character in this book. She was on Freya’s (the main character in Perfect for You) best friends. Eve runs a coffee shop with some amazing baked goods that also has a book club! This sounds amazing. I would love to open a place like this. And if I had one in my town I probably would never leave. A customer is intrigued by Eve; he cannot resist her chocolate croissants or her good looks. He decides to pursue her and asks her out. Eve is determined to set up an event for her shop, but is being sabotaged by her competition. Eve, her new spark, and her competition are linked together in a way Eve doesn’t know. This book is full of romance, love, and happiness. It is good read and you will definitely want to know what is going to happen. You must go read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I got this because I needed something "not too heavy".

    I got this because I needed something "not too heavy". This fit the bill almost perfectly, it was an easy read before bedtime. I would have liked to have seen Margaret's romance develop a little more but that would have made too many main characters. I agree with other reviewers that the typos took some figuring out, but they didn't distract from the story line. I like the clever names for shops and would love to visit Grounds for Thought. Thanks Kate Perry for a good read, I look forward to reading more in the series. For those that like to read a series in order.... the 1st Perfect for you, 2nd Close to You, 3rd Return to You 4th Looking for you, 5th Dream of You and 6th Sweet on You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Now this is my second book in the series.... OMG!!!!! I have to

    Now this is my second book in the series.... OMG!!!!! I have to read the entire series!! I love how Kate brings in the characters from book #1 into book #2! Another one I couldn't put down!!! I was right there in the story! Eve and Treat, wow!!!! A must read.... On to book #3 I can't wait to meet the new characters! My new favorite author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    couldn't put the book down

    I really like how Katy Perry writes. Such a good love story. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Super cute

    Loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2