Customer Reviews for

Closed for the Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

Closed for the Season is an azming book by Mary Downing Hahn. If you like suspense, mystery, and murder, this is for you! Buy this book!

posted by volt55b on September 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cover Better Than Content

I bought this book because it looked and sounded every bit as interesting as The Old Willis Place and The Doll in in the Garden. Instead I found it disappointing and very frustrating. The story was predictable, the adults were either complete air heads (Logan's mother)...
I bought this book because it looked and sounded every bit as interesting as The Old Willis Place and The Doll in in the Garden. Instead I found it disappointing and very frustrating. The story was predictable, the adults were either complete air heads (Logan's mother) or extremely rude and completely out of line in dealing with children which were not their own (Nina / Mr. DiSilvio). Nina's personality was not consistent. First she is friendly with the boys, the next she seems to be trying to seduce "Mr. DiSilvio" at a party, then she is lying to Logan's mother and purposely hurting two innocent children and in the end she is unsympathetic and rude to the innocent victim's daughter. I thought the reactions and conversations were unrealistic and the people, with the exception of perhaps Logan and his father, were ugly and annoying. In the end it is "Nina, Mr. DiSilvio and Logan's mother" who I found myself wishing had been murdered. That would have been justifiable homicide.

posted by Debbie42 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    Closed for the Season is an azming book by Mary Downing Hahn. If you like suspense, mystery, and murder, this is for you! Buy this book!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Awesome book

    this is a wonderful mystery that just makes you want to keep reading. i would highly reccomend this book to all people that enjoy mysterys.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    New to the neighborhood, Logan isn't exactly thrilled when Arthur, the weird kid next door, bustles over to welcome him. Right away, Logan can tell that Arthur is going to be a challenge.

    The other less than thrilling thing that Logan learns about his new home is that its previous owner, Myrtle Donaldson, was murdered. How come his parents didn't check out something like that before they agreed to buy the rundown place?

    At least it's summer vacation, so Logan has time to get to know the place before he's thrust into making friends at school. He's not much of an athlete, and if his past school experiences are any indication, making friends with the cool kids will probably be a disaster.

    When Arthur shows up on Logan's doorstep and offers to show him around, he guesses his friendship is better than nothing. The two end up having a lot in common and finding Myrtle Donaldson's killer turns them into a sort of crime-fighting team.

    The murder, the possibility of the killer's involvement in embezzlement, and the bulldozing of a local, historic amusement park all combine for some great adventure. Normally law-abiding Logan find himself following the lead of reckless Arthur as they investigate Logan's musty attic, the local library, and the overgrown grounds of Magic Forest. They are clever and creative enough to discover some clues that lead them into some dangerous territory.

    Mary Downing Hahn is a master of mystery. As the author of novels for young people, she captures the spooky atmosphere of the old amusement park and the excitement of the chase as she reveals the clues to the years old murder mystery.

    CLOSED FOR THE SEASON is an excellent addition to any middle grade mystery collection.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Cover Better Than Content

    I bought this book because it looked and sounded every bit as interesting as The Old Willis Place and The Doll in in the Garden. Instead I found it disappointing and very frustrating. The story was predictable, the adults were either complete air heads (Logan's mother) or extremely rude and completely out of line in dealing with children which were not their own (Nina / Mr. DiSilvio). Nina's personality was not consistent. First she is friendly with the boys, the next she seems to be trying to seduce "Mr. DiSilvio" at a party, then she is lying to Logan's mother and purposely hurting two innocent children and in the end she is unsympathetic and rude to the innocent victim's daughter. I thought the reactions and conversations were unrealistic and the people, with the exception of perhaps Logan and his father, were ugly and annoying. In the end it is "Nina, Mr. DiSilvio and Logan's mother" who I found myself wishing had been murdered. That would have been justifiable homicide.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    A

    It was a great book i cried and laughed through the whole book. I couldnt put it down! My heart may have dropped throughout the book too!! I wish there was another book for it. Overall it was the best book i have ever read. Perfect for ages 8-12

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Great Book :)

    It is a great book... read it.:^.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Great Book! I loved it!

    This is a great book for anyone. It has some mystery, some suspense, and always kept me interested. If you are looking for a quick good read this is great, because it is not too short and not too long. You will LOVE it if you are like me (into mysteries and suspense)!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Great book!

    this is an amazing book from, what i hear, an amazing author. i love the storyline, characters, the way it hooks you, and the surprise ending. although it is a bit under my reading level, it is still an awesome book to read. WELL WORTH YOUR TIME! and two thumb up! :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    awsome

    awsome and theilling you wont want to put it down

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    It Was OK

    Although I respect Ms. Mary Downing Hahn and love her books and the way they capture you and pull you in, I was dissapointed in this book. In her other books she adds suspense like I know of almost no other authors to do, but in this book, it was almost..well..BORING! Im sorry, but I didnt care for it.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Omg

    I love marys books thanks 2 my friend olivia

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Best Book Ever

    It was so good and exciting. If you like page turners this is a book for you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Amazing

    This is the most amazing book i have read!The book has amazing twist and spooky parts in the beginning middle and end of the book!This is a very interesting book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Closed for the Season

    Awesome book! Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Great

    This book was awsome. It was scary and suspenesful. I spelled that wrong didnt l?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book rocks

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Fun

    I love

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I like this book a lot because of the plot and it was definitely

    I like this book a lot because of the plot and it was definitely a little different than other books because of the story. This book was really fast-paced and easy to read. I couldn't put this book down because it was so suspenseful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Nobody

    AWSOME

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Closef for the season

    This book is really good so far people should read this!

    You will have goosebumps!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9