Customer Reviews for

Closer: Devotions to Draw Couples Together

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Year-long devotional for married couples

    Closer by Jim & Cathy Burns is a year-long devotional for couples looking to strengthen their marriage. Broken down into 52 easy to read lessons, the authors tackle many of the issues that strain and break marriages in this age when divorce is common and living together before marriage even more so. From finances to kids to sex, the Burns discuss it all in a encouraging and conversational tone. Each lesson has questions at the end for spouses to ask each other to deepen the lesson as well as exercises to keep the conversation going. The most important lesson the authors have for readers is that God must be in the center of a marriage for it to be successful, and that when we seek to change our partner, it's often we who need to change ourselves. The lessons are quick and easy to read in just a few minutes weekly, so it will work for even the busiest couples. Closer is an excellent tool for couples looking to have a better relationship in 2011.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Haze

    Standing with Chief and Spotter, "I just now got the message!" *walks up to -A HELPING HAND- pulls the gun out keeps it close to my side*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Chief

    *Cocks gun* so who are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    The book really helps me and my wife staying close to our Lord!

    The book really helps me and my wife staying close to our Lord!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Great Marriage Devotional

    I've had the wonderful opportunity to read and review this wonderful book. I've been looking for sometime for a book that will help strengthen my marriage and help me draw closer to my husband. I've found that in this book. Designed to read once a week with or without your spouse. Takes less than 30 minutes and what a benefit it will do.

    Help build your relationship and your communication skills with your spouse. Help with your emotional and spritual intimacy. This was written with busy schedules in mind. Includes a little reading about that week's topic, discussion questions, Bible Scripture references, Faith Conversations to help strengthen your communication and practical action steps to allow you to take one step closer to becoming an intimate marriage.

    The topics discussed are well worth the time spent on them including trust, regrets, being selfish, forgiveness, purity and much much more..

    I would highly recommend this book to any married couple, young or old, just married or married for 50 + years. You will learn so much with this and build a lasting bond with one another that will last a lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    We are already "closer" thanks to this book!

    My copy of Closer arrived in the mail yesterday. My husband and I started our first chapter last night. This book fits our lifestyle very well. My favorite aspect of the book is that the chapters are short and sweet, but jam packed with thought provoking information allowing us to spend more time talking with each other rather than reading for a long time. Great book! Would recommend it to any newly married couple trying to create their own life and better their marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    Amazing and appropriate for all marriages

    Closer: Devotions to Draw Couples Together

    By: Jim Burns, Cathy Burns

    Bethany House


    I found this devotional amazing.I have never read a book by the Burns, but I want to read more after reading this one. The devotionals were laid out exceptionally well, they were short and very direct in where you need to go. As well the conversation starts were very helpful and really made you consider your answers. This is a devotional that was easy for us to get through with each devotional topic being for a week time-frame and with our hectic lives we never really have the daily time to devote, but are able to consider things through the week to bring back to our marriage.

    The activity I enjoyed the most was actually writing out how we first met through today. We have been together for a little over 12 years and though we still talk about it, we never had never really written it down. This is something that I plan to pass down to my kids as the grow older. This is appropriate for dating through longtime married couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Closer

    Today it is hard to connect, with your spouse, with your kids, with your extended family. Everyone is busy, on the go. Appointments, meetings and life rush us around like crazy. Jim and Cathy Burns have given us a Devotional book with fifty two devotions designed to draw couples closer together.

    There is no huge list of how to do this devotional, you can work at your own pace, they do suggest committing or investing thirty minutes a week to each other and to do this devotional book. Each devotion has a scripture it is based on, then a commentary to go with it, then it is followed by a section called faith conversations, which is starting lines for a conversation to have to build your faith in each other and in God. The final section of the devotion is called A Step Closer, and usually includes a written assignment or a discussion assignment for you to do. A very appealing and easy to follow devotional lay out.

    They cover topics vital to keeping a marriage strong topics such as romance, love, how to handle a high maintenace marriage, and many more. These devotions are interesting and you will enjoy sharing this book with your beloved. A great marriage tool. 222 pages $19.99 US 4 stars

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no cash or payment was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1