BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Closer

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Preview

    Although we haven't heard the whole CD, the cuts we have heard indicate that the whole thing will be extraordinary. Two have been posted on the fan website,and one was included on the CD enclosed with the DVD of the PBS concert.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Josh has really broken out of the mold of the "opera" stereotype that the critics gave him on his self titled debut. "Closer" is, in Josh's words a closer look into who he is as a person and I think that is true. He co-writes two tracks (Remember When it Rained, Never Let Go) and composed the music for another (Per Te). I love this CD. I highly recommend it for any fan of Josh Groban.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Great CD by Josh Groban

    I really enjoyed this CD, but you can't go wrong with any of his CD's. He's fantastic!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    All of Josh Groban's CD's are wonderful, including this one. His voice is captivating and the songs are beautiful! You will absolutely love this album! "Remember When It Rained" and "Oceano" are the two best songs. Also, you will never forget the beauty in "You Raise Me Up". This is an awesome CD for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Wedding

    My husband and I danced to "When You Say You Love Me" as our first dance at our wedding. It was so romantic and so true for anyone truely in love. Grobans voice captures all of the emotions you could ever have better than any singer. All of his songs will move you!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Out of this world!

    Josh Groban possesses an absolutely incredible voice! His soft, baritone, translucent melodies inspire the soul. His music is a gift from God. I am such a Grobanite!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a powerful moving experience!

    By far the best CD in my entire collection. I came upon this by happenstance and was hooked. The power and emotion of this beautiful voice has moved my soul. I recommend this for anyone. My spouse and daughter also enjoy listening to this CD. They normall don't care for this genre. Great CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great fan of josh

    I first discovered him when I bought the dvd for the movie Troy. In it he sings the ending song for the movie. Since the first moment I heard it I fell in love with it. Couple of days after I run to the store and bought the Closer cd. The rest is history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutly Awesome!

    First of all-whoever 'music-master' is they don't have a clue about music. He sings in Italian-any music fan would know that. If you listen to the likes of contestants on 'American Idol'-they can't sing-they all suck they don't know what music is. This is one of the best albums I have ever heard. he does a great job on Per Te!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am a Grobanite!!!

    What a voice! He could make reading your grocery list sound romantic! I love "Si Volvieras a Mi", "Remember When it Rained", and "You Raise Me Up", but the whole cd is wonderful! I hope that he has a new album out soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!! No Words to explain.

    This cd is awesome. When I saw him perform in the oscars he took my breath away, and I just couldn't wait to buy the cd. And now that I have it, it's on everyday. And the best thing about the cd is the musical, the intruments, and how they are used to make the most wonderful songs I have ever heard. You have GOT to get this CD. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Josh!

    OMG! I love Josh Groban! He is so gifted with his voice and I love this album! My favorite track is "You Raise Me Up." I first fell in love with his voice when I heard "To Where You Are" on the radio. I cried as I was listening to it and couldn't wait to find out who the singer was. He is a true rising star!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A breath of fresh air

    There are so many mediocre artists that all sound the same in this pop driven culture but Josh Groban breaks the mold. He has such a strong voice and annunciates all of his words perfectly in all of the languages he sings in. He is truly a breath of fresh air.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply angelic..!!

    Listening to Josh Groban will secure in your mind the notion that there truly is a god that bestows a special gift upon us all. Josh's is his angelic barritone voice. This album made my wife fall in love with me all over again. Try this one guys... Works best when combined with a homemade meal, a nice Merlot and 15 or 20 candles..!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply amazing....

    Truly a gift from God...Am a lover of great music...He has an absolute incredible voice...But will readily admit...Seeing him live is just phenominal....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my favorite CD!

    I think he's great. There was a few songs that I think he could have done better on, but for the most part he did absolutely wonderufl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    His voice is so pure!

    mr. Josh Groban's voice is so pure! he has so much passion and feeling into his singing. his voice is truly a gift from God! Josh's CLOSER is truly an amazing CD. my mum and i listen to it all the time, and i must say, being a 15 yr. old girl, i can appreciate his kind of music.... that is AMAZING! i only listen to Josh when it comes to foreign music and stuff. he sings any language with style. Josh is yet another talented singer! god bless him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabuloso!!

    This cd is great. The instruments and josh's voice create perfect harmony. Today 2/03/05 I decided to buy this album at my local Barnes & Noble this cd is Fantastic!! I hope to find more of this Beautiful voice. Brandon Cowden

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A beautiful masterpiece!

    His voice is unbelieveable, delivering a sound so magnificent that on several songs I found myself moved to tears. I can only say... WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Got Josh?

    I LOVE his voice. I always feel so happy when I am listening to him. I can give nothing but praise to this album(okay all of his albums).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5