Customer Reviews for

Closer [Limited Edition]

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Closer is wonderful!

    I have been a fan for about 5 years now, and I love all of Josh's albums. Fave tracks on here: "Remember When it Rained", "Never Let Go", "She's Out of My Life", "Si Volverais a Mi", and "My Confession"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!

    The only time I heard Groban sing was on the dvd of Sarah Brightmans' La Luna tour. Groban is now 26 and still is singing beautifuly. My favorite song I believe on this cd is "You Raise Me Up" or "My Confession." This is Grobans second album. Closer is amazing. I mostly like all the songs on this one. Not sure about the Italian ones yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!!

    Josh Groban's second album is absolutely great! It's even better than the first one. What's more, David Foster, my favorite composer/musician, produced the album. I couldn't wait for a third one.Also, I recommend his first album and In Concert CD. You wouldn't want to turn off your sound system. Ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HOOKED!

    That's all iI can say about Josh Groban is that I'm hooked. It's so awesome to be able to have such a talented singer in our generation, it's so rare. I attended his concert in Concord recently and it was incredible. After raving about hm to my friends constantly , they're hooked too! Josh you're awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely awesome!

    I had never heard of Josh Groban until I heard "You Raise Me Up" on the radio and it made me cry. I got this CD just for that one song. Talk about being blown away when I heard the rest of the CD!! Also awesome is "Broken Vow" and "Where You Are" and well as the equally tear-jerking "My Confession." The power of his voice, the maturity of his talent and the passion with which he sings can only improve as he ages, to which I look forward. Consider me a confirmed "Grobanite" with this one CD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Awesome Singer

    Josh Groban has yet again touched everyone hearts with, "TO Where you are and You raised me up," he has been a wonderful inspiration to me and my friends! All of my friends said that he is a wonderful performer and has a heart of gold! He has done soo much for his fans! I think that he should be proud of what he does! I mean I wish I could meet him someday! I like him soo much that sometimes I wonder what it would be like to sing with him on stage. I just think that he should keep doing what he's good at which is singing! Josh, Good Luck with everything! May God help you in your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another winner!

    Once again,Josh has released a great album. Plus,you get to hear some songs he wrote. They're all beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    two hotties for the price of one!!!!

    When I heard Josh Groban sing, he brought tears to my eyes. Then I was blessed to hear Joshua Bell and his magic violin playing. I cried! The two together on one disc is like the chocolate bar colliding with the peanut butter to make one delicious treat!!!! Thank you God for creating such beautiful men and giving them talent to match!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FANTASTIC

    I love Josh Grobans voice, so rich, beautiful and clear!! It is hard to have a favorite on the cd Closer but I love "You Raise Me Up" I love all kinds of music but his voice stands out above everyone else. He is sure to raise to great stardom. I would love to see him in concert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just as good as the first ...

    Josh Groban has not disappointed his fans with this new CD -- His voice sounds even better than the first cd, if that's possible. If you loved the first release, you will never be disappointed in this one. Even though he is branching out into some new sounds, his voice remains the draw to any of the cuts and an absolute pleasure to listen to. It's worth the extra $$ to get the special edition with the 2 extra cuts. Recommended highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Some growth, some dignity, some kind of spectacular!

    "Closer" illustrates some serious growth for Josh Groban. He cowrote and plays piano on "Remember When It Rained" which is a risky endeavor but it's great to see. Some of the tracks sound kinda like a romance novel seduction ("Broken Vow" and "She's Out of My Life"). However, some are straight up amazing like "Oceano" which completely capitalizes on what it is that Josh Groban does best: sing - dead on the pitch and with warmth and lots of delicious orchestrations, harmony and volume. He can interpret a ballad in an unassuming and understated way depsite a deep resonance that can be heard in the next county. That juxtaposition of extreme vocal talent and supressed emotional lingering is what creates his mystique. It's always hard to tell what Josh Groban is thinking or feeling when he sings but the illusion of detachment doesn't interfere with the extraordinary delivery on each track it makes it more interesting. Even if a couple tracks are skippable - the cd overall is a demonstrative big bang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Perfect follow up to first album

    This album absolutly is gorgous in it's sound and feel. Very much everything Josh Groban touches turns to gold,his perfect voice and choice of music is wonderful very powerful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More Beautiful Music from Josh

    Thank God we have a male artist with a VOICE. If anyone told me I'd love songs in Italian or anything like classical four years ago I would have laughed (I'm 21 now). But I am a true Josh Groban fan. His voice is beautiful and so is HE. "You Raise Me Up," "My Confession," and "Remember When It Rained," and my favorites. I also love to hear the song in French. I can't wait to see him in concert. A gorgeous voice to fit an equally gorgeous man. Yummy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love it!

    Josh Groban's new cd is so great, he deffinatly gives a a new twist to music. His voice is so beautiful and harmonious! If you don't have this Cd GO OUT AND BUY IT! You wont regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    he couldn't be more perfect!

    i was worried that Josh Groban's 2nd cd wouldn't be as good as the first one, but i was so wrong! i was hooked after the first 10 seconds. he sings in french this time as well as italian, english and spanish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Angels whisper and a lion's roar

    Angel's whisper and a lion's roar is the only way I can respond to is voice.His talent is a true gift from god.He has such a beautiful gift which the world can now hear.I loved is first CD and it's like once again his musical charm has capture me again.I would like to see how he is going to beat his second CD but I have no doubt that he will.If he has the same staff helping it can happen again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was at the store to purchase at 8:am...

    and it was worth every cent. Much like his last albumn, Josh Groban breaks all the rules of youthful singers by using his talent to lift the spirit. I enjoyed every song on the album, particulariy the last cut. He has shown growth vocally and emotionally. The best purchase I've made in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you buy one album this year, it should be this one!

    What a great album! I love every minute of it, everytime I listen. I would reccomend this album to young people who would like to have a broader appreciation for music. (Although, anyone could benefit from this album!) Josh has such a phenomenal voice he could sing the alphabet and I would be entertained. From the first song till the last this album will speak to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Second Album Should Be Smash Success

    If cuts of "You Raise Me Up" and "Oceano" now playing on Groban's web site are any indication of the quality of his next anxiously awaited album,Closer, it should finally afford him recogntion from the music industry that he so justly deserves. Another multi-platinum winner in the making!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2