Customer Reviews for

Cloud Nine

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Warrior Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    School

    School

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    To below

    It is not dec31 you stuped

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    This is the elders den

    This is the elders den. It has some rocks at the entrance that are perfect for basking.





    ~•|Swiftstar|•~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Willowsong

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    The Story of CloudClan- Chapter 1, Part 3 (Note: Chapter 1 part 1 and Chapter 1 part 2 got switched. Read the Yellow book first, then the Red and Black book!)

    Why can't he be nice like Chesnutblaze- or you?"
    "Well, some warriors are meaner than others. Also, Darkfur is extremely loyal to Stormstar. When Stormstar is sad, Darkfur is sad." Goldenstone set her emerald eyes on Cloudkit. "Don't get discouraged! If you want to be a great warrior, you must keep strong."
    Cloudkit nodded, but her eyes still seemed dull. "What are the other dens named?"
    "Well, there's the apprentice's den, the medicine cat den, and the leader's den. We could go to the apprentice's den, because that's where you're going to be when you're older."
    Cloudkit still seemed sad, but nevertheless nodded her head.
    "The apprentice's den is that fallen, hollowed out tree!"
    "Uhm, okay." Cloudkit waited until the golden she-cat took the lead, and followed her, her tail dragging limp on the frost-encrusted grass.
    The pair got to the hollow log. Cloudkit, suddenly getting back the urge to meet new cats, leapt into the log. "Hi! My name is Cloud-" she ended her speech abruptly as she saw the den was deserted. The only thing that inhabited it was a large lump of moss.
    "Where is everyone?" Cloudkit stepped inquiringly into the empty den. "Are they on patrols?"
    Goldenstone shook her head. "No. There are currently no apprentices." Her green eyes turned dull with saddness and worry. "All the apprentices were turned into warriors several moons ago. And the harsh leafbare killed all of the kits that were becoming apprentices. And since there will most likely be no more kits until newleaf, you, and only you, my sweet," Goldenstone touched her nose onto Cloudkit's flank, "will be the lone apprentice." Her voice sounded hollow in the airy den.
    Instead of puffing out her chest with pride, the white she-kit's silver ears drooped. "B-but I won't have any friends!!"
    "Of course you will! The warriors have already made good friends with you, and sooner or later, a queen will kit."
    "Fine."
    Goldenstone looked sympethetically at Cloudkit. "Don't worry. Being an apprentice is fun! I remember my apprenticeship, and if I enjoyed it, you will as well."
    "What /do/ apprentices do anyway?"
    "They train to become warriors, or on occasions, a medicine cat."
    Cloudkit's eyes finally filled with happiness. "You mean, a real warrior? Like the warriors that we saw before?"
    "Yep!"
    Cloudkit started to jump around excitedly once again. "Yay! Let's start my apprenticeship now!"
    Goldenstone laughed. "You certainly are enthusiastic enough," she chirruped. "But becoming an apprentice before you a six moons old is against the warrior code! And StarClan would not like that."
    "Oh…" Cloudkit fell to the ground mid-leap before jumping up again, in her usual animated way. "Well, I can ask StarClan to make an exception for me! Problem solved."
    Her yellow mother chuckled. "Would you like to make a nest?"
    "Yes!"
    Goldenstone showed her daughter how to make a nest, from stripping the moss off the large lump to mashing it together. Once it was done, Cloudkit leapt into the dark green bed. "Wow! It's so nice and soft. But it's not as soft as the one in our normal den, though!"
    The golden mother gently scruffed Cloudkit and lifted her off the nest. "Time to go."
    Cloudkit leapt out the den and nearly crashed into a dark gray tabby tom. The cat snarled at her, and unsheathed his silver claws.
    As Cloudkit crouched to the ground, awaiting the blow, she felt herself get picked up. She thrashed and kicked until she smelled a familiar scent."Goldenstone!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    recommended

    I found Cloud Nine to be a thoughtful and inspirational book. People will be able to relate to the story line but if your looking for the happy uplifting book, this book is not the way to go. Throughout the book issues such as cancer and divorce are brought up in almost every chapter. And these are the sort of issues that many people in America and anywhere else in the world can relate too. The way some of the characters react to the problems they face are great examples of courage and strength.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    AN AWESOME READ...

    I HAVE ALL OF LUANNE RICE'S BOOKS BUT THIS ONE. IT WAS WELL WORTH THE WAIT. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. IT MADE ME HAPPY AND SAD ALL AT THE SAME TIME. SO GLAD TO FINALLY ADD TO MY COLLECTION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    Not Up To Par

    I was very disappointed in this book. This is not Luanne Rice's earlier style of writing. Beach Girls, Fire Fly Beach, Home Fries and Summer Child just to name a few were great reads, books with characters and situations that you could relate too, plots that were similar but diversified enough to hold your attention. I was bored reading Cloud Nine and skimmed the last couple chapters. This could have been a great read if the character personalities and events were not repeated so many times through out the book. It was a good plot with strong characters but they really did not advance. Susan's Mother and Step-father could have been stronger and more involved in the plot. But Susan's real father was lost his credibility expressing his undying love. Come on Luanne no one talks like that. This is the second book of her that I have to give thumbs down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've enjoyed many of Luann Rice's books, and this one got off to a nice start with Sarah meeting Will on her birthday flight, but then things began happening way too fast to be believable. The course of Sarah's illness was weird--she is in complete remission but then suddenly has a devastating recurrence that puts her close to death? The whole thing happens over one Thanksgiving weekend! The author could have spent more time letting the relationship between Sarah and Will evolve, and the recurrence of Sarah's cancer could have happened a bit more gradually. Highly dramatic events happen in rapid succession, and then the conclusion of the story comes immediately afterward. All of the talk about the bonds of love between the characters rang false because the main characters only connected with each other for a few weeks! Too cheesy. When I started the book, I loved the characters almost immediately but then I felt cheated by the lack of development. I can recommend several of Luann Rice's books, but I would definitely skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    Too sad

    This book was very sweet and touching. Her stories always make me want to find a life like her characters. Cloud Nine, however, gripped you from the beginning and you get to know the characters. When I got to the end I cried and cried and cried like Sarah was someone I knew personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    Touching story

    This story was beautifully written. I think this is one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    A Touching book

    Some people say that hard times make hard people, but this book shows that there must be exceptions, Sarah is a loving person who's only show of her rocky life is her halo of yellowish grey hair and her too skinny frame. Sarah's cancer has been in remission for a short time and she decides to seize the life she still has and hold on for all she's worth. Leaving her pride and joy, a bedding store called Cloud Nine, she impulsively vacations back to the island she grew up on and brings a man along who she has just begun to know... As much as Sarah loves being on the island with her son, father, aunt, snow and Will, the questions always seem to creep in like the tide from the ocean surrounding their island. How can she fall in love with Will in such an uncertain future? Will her father ever lose his fear of attachments long enough to show his love for his daughter? Then a sudden accident occurs, and Sarah makes a promise she must keep, one with fatal consequences. Will she find the true meaning of home and love in the short time she has left?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    WONDERFUL TOUCHING EMOTIONAL!!!!

    This is the best Luanne Rice book I have read yet. I was hooked from the first chapter and was I couldnt put the book down until I reached the end. Very emotional and touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    No Doubt- A Page Turner

    This is my favorite book of all time. Luanne Rice has shown her talent most of all through this book. I never cry at the end of a book, but I suppose Sarah is like my mom. Rice makes everything seem so real, it will inspire you in so many ways and make you realize that true love is out there somewhere. Hoag was definitely right when she said Rice touches the deepest corners of the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Sad Ending

    I have read several of Luanne Rice's novels, but this one was ruined with the ending. Too sad for me...too much to bear. Although it is a slice of life, I like to read something with a brighter ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    First Time Luanne Rice Reader

    I think this is the first book that has ever brought tears to my eyes. I enjoyed every page and couldn't put the book down. I will read other books by Ms. Rice. Thanks to my coworker for loaning this book to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2001

    sorry, too sappy

    wow, after reading this book, then reading all the rave reviews, I'm wondering if they only publish favorable reviews so they can sell more books...hmmm. Well, I did not find the characters or story very believable. I had a really hard time finishing it, but felt I had to, as it was recommended for a book club discussion. It was too much of a tear-jerker, romance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    IT WILL CAPTURE EVEN THE HARDEST OF HEARTS

    ONCE I STARTED READING THIS BOOK I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN. THE CHARACTERS ARE SO LIFE-LIKE THAT IT MAKES YOU BELIEVE THAT THERE IS STILL TRUE LOVE OUT THERE FOR ALL OF US. I PROMISE YOU WILL NEED YOUR HANKIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    an emotional success

    I haven't cried over a book in years. This books pulls chords and makes you think!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2