BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Cloud Roads

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Fantastically original fantasy world

    I wish I could give this book 6 stars because it surprised the heck out of me with how much I enjoyed it. The author created an incredibly unique setting that was a lot of fun to get to see and explore with the lead character. It really reminded me of how I felt when I read "Dragonriders of Pern" back in Junior High School - how I was never really sure what was going to happen or what was waiting around the next corner.

    Great book by a fantastic author. It made me a fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    This is scifi with a truly original slant -- I adore the world t

    This is scifi with a truly original slant -- I adore the world this book is set in, and love the diverse and well-rounded characters. I always like Martha Wells' books, but this one is a real favorite.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    fantastic!

    read it four times, couldn't put it down, great series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Cloud Roads is an imaginative experience that surely stands

    The Cloud Roads is an imaginative experience that surely stands out from its fellow fantasy novels. At the heart of the book is the tale of a character trying to find his place in life, but around him is a setting that is profoundly different from anything in the real world. It is a place inhabited by strange humanoids, flying islands, and a nefarious race of flying creatures called the Fell. Most of the inhabitants can fly, some can shapeshift, but the one thing they all have in common is that none of them are normal.

    The book stars Moon, a shapeshifter whose family died when he was young. He doesn’t know what kind of creature he is, and he’s never met another member of his own kind. Living with groundlings (people who do not have wings), he tries to fit in, but it never works. Yet his life changes when he meets Stone, a shapeshifter like him. Stone tells Moon what he is, where his people can be found, and about their way of life. This new knowledge begins to spark a kernel of hope in Moon that he might finally find his place in life.

    The story is interesting in that it has a slow, steady pace throughout that remains engaging and entertaining. It’s not exactly a page turner in that you can’t put it down, but it’s one of those books you have to come back to. The world Martha Wells creates is pure food for the imagination. This is partly because it is so unlike any other. There are floating islands in the sky, kingdoms on or under the sea, and no familiar land masses or cities. The people come in all colors. Many of them have unique features like tails, tusks, scales, or wings. The one thing there is none of is humans. A lot of the fun in the story is the exploration of this world and its inhabitants. The other half of the fun is Moon’s journey.

    The action in the book is centered on the conflict between everyone and the Fell. The Fell are a race of creatures that destroy everything they encounter. Like ancient Rome, they do not invent their own things, but take from others. They come in several different types: dakti, kethel, and rulers. They all have wings and they’re all destructive. If one of their kind dies in combat, they won’t hesitate to consume the corpse. The more powerful Fell can even influence other races’ minds. Through the story, Moon learns that the Fell are threatening his people. If he wants to find his place in the world, he’ll have to fight for it.

    I loved the inventiveness of the book and how fresh it was from typical fantasy. There isn’t much that is normal about the story. I also liked how the tone of the story stayed mellow. It wasn’t a dark tale or a lighthearted, happy story. Instead it was somewhere pleasantly in the middle. The characters were fully fleshed out, believable, and realistic in their decision making and actions. Moon’s adventure was also thoroughly enjoyable. Best of all the ending was not a cliffhanger. It was substantial enough that the reader can stop right there. Of course there are two more books in the series, so if the reader wants to continue he journey, the option is available. If you’re tired of elves, dwarves, orcs, and humans, then The Cloud Roads is definitely a fantasy story worth checking out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Very Good Series

    consistently very good writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Fabulous!

    Martha Wells worlds are glittering gems, each one more fascinating than the last. Her characters in The Cloud Roads are very well drawn, and the tension between them keeps the reader guessing. The plot has fantastic twists and turns. I read far, far too late into the night because I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Great Fantasy! Highly Recommended

    This is a great new book by one of my favorite authors. I always look forward to new Martha Wells books, and this one lived up to my expectations. The characters are fully realized individuals -- they are believable, complex, and compelling. They made me care about their struggles, but more importantly, they made me care about them as individuals. The setting is a fascinating new world, and I enjoyed exploring it. The societies, cultures, beings, and environment are all interesting separately, but meld together into an even more interesting whole. Add to this a plot that keeps you wondering what will happen next and great dialogue (always a hallmark of a Martha Wells book), and the result is a book that's hard to put down. I highly recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    I read all three books this week.  Very hard to put down. There

    I read all three books this week.  Very hard to put down.

    There are great review here, to give you an idea of the plot, I just want to add this:

    If there were really a race of intelligent dragons, the Raksura would be it.  The building of a unique race with unique characters, is unparalleled.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Love This Book

    I have read this book several times from our library and decided to purchase it for my ereader so I can enjoy it whenever I want. I really hope this author continues to write more about Moon, even after the third book. There needs to be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No

    Terrible book. Wouldnt buy this book if it was free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Great start for the series... This was my first time reading a s

    Great start for the series... This was my first time reading a scifi and I truly enjoyed it! This has become my new favorite series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Fascinating

    A unique fantasy world with great characters, plotting, suspense. Unusual species, family organization, situations. Wells is always good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I wasn't captivated at first but, after the first chapter, I cou

    I wasn't captivated at first but, after the first chapter, I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Exiting and intriging

    I apsolutly loved the cload roads I thamk Martha Wells for writing such an amazing bool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    Great fantasy story. The Raksura are well developed and the plo

    Great fantasy story. The Raksura are well developed and the plot takes an interesting turn. Moon is easy to relate to and full of surprises. The climax blew me away! I couldn't wait to finish it so I could read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    The first in a series, The Cloud Roads follows the adventures of

    The first in a series, The Cloud Roads follows the adventures of Moon, a
    shapeshifter able to take a humanoid dragon-like form. He's been an
    orphan since he was a child, trying to fit into non-shifter societies
    and failing as often as not. But early on in the novel he is discovered
    by his own kind, and the plot takes off from there. Moon is an
    extremely likable, well-defined character, and easy to relate to. He
    knows nothing about his people, and his insecurities in trying to fit
    in, his fears of forming emotional attachments for fear of being hurt,
    and his courage in struggling to make things work, are things many
    readers will recognize. The writing style is lighter than say, George R
    R Martin, but that does not mean simple. Wells is a talented writer
    technically, and her prose flows smoothly. An amazing read, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Fascinating world! Well written

    Fascinating world! Well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to a panorama of world building that you may not have se

    Welcome to a panorama of world building that you may not have seen for a while. Martha Wells always takes us places we haven’t been before, and in her Books of the Raksura, her new series from Night Shade Books, she’s brought us SF that is wonder, exploration and adventure all rolled into one. Moon is a young orphaned adult adrift in a world not his own. He can pass, for the most part, among the people he lives with, but he hides a dangerous secret. He has another form – and he can fly. A strong resemblance to a dangerous flying species called the Fell has caused him catastrophic problems in the past – and nearly gets him killed once again.

    But this time, someone chooses to save him – someone who bears a strong resemblance to him. Someone who claims to know what he is, and where he belongs. So Moon’s journey continues, from loss to hope and finally, in the end, finding belonging and love.

    This book has many different sub-themes – friendship between different people (who in this book are literally different peoples!) belonging, alliances with Others for mutual benefit and protection, fighting for life and freedom – but the strongest thread in the weaving is Moon’s search for self, and a place to call home.

    The only reason I haven’t re-read this book yet is because it remains so vivid in my mind. I nominated this for the Nebula award. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2