Customer Reviews for

Clouds of Glory: The Life and Legend of Robert E. Lee

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I was thrilled reading Clouds of Glory. I knew a little about Ro

I was thrilled reading Clouds of Glory. I knew a little about Robert E. Lee from high school, but this book really delivered! I was impressed with the level of detail. I really felt like I came away from this book knowing the ins and outs of Lee’s successes, struggles, ...
I was thrilled reading Clouds of Glory. I knew a little about Robert E. Lee from high school, but this book really delivered! I was impressed with the level of detail. I really felt like I came away from this book knowing the ins and outs of Lee’s successes, struggles, failures, and priorities. What an amazing man and what an amazing book.

posted by Anonymous on May 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The 1 star rating is Not for the book. There is no point checkin

The 1 star rating is Not for the book. There is no point checking this page for reviews when idiots continue to post nonsense remarks like most of the ones here.

posted by jkp13 on May 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I was thrilled reading Clouds of Glory. I knew a little about Ro

    I was thrilled reading Clouds of Glory. I knew a little about Robert E. Lee from high school, but this book really delivered! I was impressed with the level of detail. I really felt like I came away from this book knowing the ins and outs of Lee’s successes, struggles, failures, and priorities. What an amazing man and what an amazing book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    The 1 star rating is Not for the book. There is no point checkin

    The 1 star rating is Not for the book. There is no point checking this page for reviews when idiots continue to post nonsense remarks like most of the ones here.

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Any historian who cited Wikipedia and popular fiction as sources

    Any historian who cited Wikipedia and popular fiction as sources (as this author does) would have flunked out of any class I ever taught or took. Popular and revisionist, and would have benefited from tight editing and proofreading. A lot of dates are wrong.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Still reading the book. The information that is actually about

    Still reading the book. The information that is actually about Robert E. Lee, his life, his family, and career is very informative. But the author's incessant editorial about slavery and what he thought Robert E. Lee should have thought is very distracting.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Excellent!

    An excellent account of one of the most respected officers in American history. Commonly, when you read about Lee's feats and campaigns, it's a dry account of the facts. Here, you get to understand the man, his character, his devotion to family and career. If you like to read good history, I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    "It is interesting to note . .."

    Would have given this book four stars but the above subject words were used too much, once within several pages. However the book was very interesting, just needed a good editor.



    S










    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Other vendors screen reviews before posting.  I get tired of hav

    Other vendors screen reviews before posting.  I get tired of having to scroll through garbage to read a legitimate review! But I want to read this book, so I will give it 4 stars.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Yygtgfxc

    Iffsfvvwantvteklolhb

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Read this

    I am related to Robert E. Lee

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Sages bio

    At viking tales.

    0 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Cyrus' Bio

    Parents: Kronos and Gaea •• Weapons/Powers: Can control fire, time, and earth. Has a watch that turns into a pitch black sword called DarkFlame. It's made out of Dark Fire, my own invention. Is a Titan.

    0 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Characters needed

    For the Varden: Glaedr (Oromis's towering golden dragon), Nasuada (the leader of the Varden), Islanzadi (the queen of the elves and Arya's mother), Blodhgarm (a blue-furred elf and one of Queen Islanzadi's most trusted warriors), Wyrden (an elf in Blodhgarm's company; a skilled swordsman and spellcaster), Hvedra (Orik's wife), and Grimrr Halfpaw (the king of the werecats).<p>For Uru'baen: Galbatorix (the powerful and evil king of Alagaesia; also a dragon rider), Morzan (Galbatorix's right hand man; Murtagh's father; the leader of the Forsworn), the Forsworn (the thirteen riders who decided to follow Galbatorix; includes Morzan), Shruikan (Galbatorix's massive black dragon), the Lethrblanka (the Ra'zac's parents; dragonlike creatures with sharp hooked claws), Durza (one of the most feared Shades), Varaug (another Shade), and Shades (sorcerers with evil spirits inside them, giving them supernatural strength and intelligence; have red hair, maroon eyes, and a crimson cape).

    0 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1