Customer Reviews for

Cloudy with a Chance of Marriage

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A MUST READ HISTORICAL ROMACE! CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MARRIAGE BY KIERAN KRAMER....

    CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MARRIAGE by Kieran Kramer is another exciting historical romance set in Regency England.It is the third in "The Impossible Bachelors" series,but can be read as a stand alone.Book One,"When Harry Met Molly",Book Two,"Dukes to the Left of Me Princes to the Right".This is an exciting,witty,amusing story of love,romance,secrets,sweet sensuality,betrayal,and finding your one true love.Jilly Jones, a new shopkeeper has a few secrets,is beautiful,plain,loves books,free-spirited,independent OR so it seems,then enter Captain Arrow....Captain Stephen Arrow is handsome,sexy,home after years of service to his Royal Navy,in no hurry to give up his freedom but enter Jilly....Jilly forced to marry someone she never loved she decides to runaway from her dreadful marriage with her father's long time valet and open the one thing she always wanted a bookstore.Jilly would love to have a real happily ever after,but it is not in her future or so she thinks.But when she meets and locks horns with the charming Captain Arrow,who has just moved across the street from her shop something changes. Captain Arrow is drawn to Jilly's independence,her free spirit,her gentleness,and her beauty. Enter others secrets and problems to complicate their lives.While Jilly is trying to revitalize Dreare Street,her secret will be revealed,and Stephen will be hurt.
    Dreare Street is titled the dreariness street in all of London,the unluckiness street and has a deep fog most of the time that has settled in."Cloudy with a Chance of Marriage" is a fast paced,page turning story of true love,betrayal,secrets,heated attraction,and helping a neighborhood in trouble.Jilly and Stephen have many trials facing them,but together can and will face them.Once again,Kieran has written an impressive story.A must read you want be disappointed. This book was received for the purpose of review from St.Martin's Paperbacks,published by St. Martin's Press and My Book Addiction and More.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Kieran Kramer wrote a really good book with Cloudy With a Chance

    Kieran Kramer wrote a really good book with Cloudy With a Chance of Marriage. I'll admit the little mysteries in it were good and I
    certainly didn't see them coming, and I was dense enough it took me until after I was finished with the book to figure out how the titled
    played into it. Kramer's heroine, just like Jilly, are always smart and funny, and of course have backbone you don't usually see in
    Regency novels. Captain Stephen Arrow was a good man always stepping in were needed and it didn't take him as long as it does
    most hero's to figure out he was in love. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    Cloudy with a chance of Marriage by Kieran Kramer
    Jilly is on her own, with her bookstore on a drury street in England. One of her neighbors is a Captain and that's all he needs is the beautiful woman running the book store, just next door. Plays and balls they enjoy going to together and he enjoys lovemaking with her at the back of the store. The street needs more activity to come so the stores can thrive once again. A street fair just might be the answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Disappointing

    I enjoyed the first two books of the series, and I was looking forward to Captain Arrow's story. Unfortunately, to say the characters have the depth of cardboard would be too generous--they're more like tissue paper stereotypes. The story was all fluff and very predictable. In addition, I probably will not buy book four based on the excerpt at the end of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Go For It!

    This is the 3rd in Kieran Kramer's Impossible Bachelors Series.

    Captain Stephen is one of the Prince Regents men. He serves in the United Kingdom Navy. His best friends Lord Harry Traemore and Nicholas Staunton have already succombed to the prince regent's diabolical scheme to see them all married. However, it their apparent bliss that leads Stephen to question and even seek out an alternative to his lonely life at sea.

    When he inherits a vacant mansion from a distant relative on Dreary Street he thinks that might be just the same except for the annoying bookseller next door. However, she is intriguing and perhaps just the excitement his life needs.

    The characters in this story are lively and humorous. There are moments of intrigue and it is never quite clear how the hero and heroine will come together especially with the obstacles they must overcome.

    I recommend this story and this series to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Prepare to laugh out loud...

    Captain Stephen Arrow, named by Prinny as 1 of 4 Impossible Bachelors, has sold off his commission and taken up his inheritance in a house on Dreare Street, right across from Hodgepodge, the bookstore owned by a certain Miss Jilly Jones.

    The street is constantly foggy and this contributes to the mood of the people who live on this street. There is a hodgepodge (like that?) of people who live on the street including an artist, a single mother, an angry old lady, a bookseller and her flamboyant friend, and a dashing captain whose friends throw bags of water out of his second story window.

    Anyway, Jilly has a secret, Stephen wants to fix up his rickety old house and get out of dodge, and the owner of the land that Dreare Street sits on, has raised property taxes. This does not sit well with Jilly so she tries to rally the whole street into coming up with money before the month is over (since payment is due at the end of the month).

    Of course, a certain diary helped her with this idea: the street shall hold a street fair. This does not sit well with most of the tenants. But then, after some coaxing, they agree. Prinny agrees to come to the fair (after Jilly charms him into it at a ball) and all hell breaks loose. Oops! The people gets the sads again. Then on top of that, they're told that the tax is due 3 days earlier than the original due date. Well, Jilly is determined to raise the funds come hell or high water. Or in this case, fog.

    Then *queue evil villain music* Jilly's secret is revealed. Stephen feels betrayed. And the game of will they/won't they ensues. And as for the rest, I shall leave you to find out dear reader.

    Oh Ms. Kramer, I cannot even begin to put into words, even though I did, how much I adore your Impossible Bachelors series. This book had me giggling, stifling laughter in a corner at Starbucks and once again, having to pack up and go home so I could let all my emotions out. It was indeed a roller coaster of emotions while reading this book. I just adore Ms. Kramer's use of quirky humor in her books and her play on words with her book titles set her books apart from the rest. If you haven't read the first two books of the Impossible Bachelors series, get thee to a bookstore. Like now! P.S. I cannot wait for Lumley's book, If You Give A Girl A Viscount (hope there's cookies involved).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Funny and entertaining

    I have a new favorite autgor on my list. I love books that make me laugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful enchanting Regency romance

    In London Hodgepodge Bookshop owner Jilly Jones loves her store and even her aptly named for its weather Dreare Street. On the other hand she loathes the institution of marriage having tried that despicable union before.

    Her new neighbor, Captain Stephen Arrow is one of Regent's targeted Impossible Bachelors. He inherited a place near her shop and wants to sell it, but only a fool would buy a house on unlucky Dreare Street; besides his unwelcome family horde resides inside the abode. As an attorney arrives ready to evict the street's occupants over the lack of payments, Stephen admits to himself he enjoys baiting feisty Jilly who uses her witty arsenal to pickle his brain. He realizes he wants her with his heart and to win the misanthrope he must perform the impossible like learning the Dreare secrets wrapped inside the fog of the street.

    This intelligent Impossible Bachelors tale (see Dukes to the Left of Me, Princes to the Right) is a wonderful enchanting Regency romance starring two witty combatants at gender war and an eccentric support cast. The story line is fast-paced except for a short moment when the runaway wife's spouse arrives as he is more dreare than the street. Readers will enjoy this fun entry as humor and wit combine for a fine historical; that is not raining meatballs or pickles (See the wonderful children's tales by Judi and Ron Barrett).

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3