Customer Reviews for

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Good for in a classroom

    I uses this book in my classroom to teach compound words and also a closure to a weather unit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Cloudy

    One of my childhood favorites! I had to purchase it for my nephew so that he could be informed of the REAL DEAL when the movie was released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs

    This is a book written for food and cooking enthusiasts. I've loved this book since it first came to my attention 15 years ago. Food falling out of the sky? WOW! I have read the book to all my students (1st, 2nd and 4th graders at an all boys school) when I was teaching and it never failed to capture their imaginations. The reading was alwaya followed by a writitng activity (what foods would you like ot see falling from the sky and why?) or an art project (create a scene of your favorite foods falling from the sky). I haven't seen the movie and don't plan to see it. The art work in the book is priceless - especially the expressions on the people's faces. I just bought another copy to give to my newborn niece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Limited Christian Application: Meatballs and Manna

    I was struck by an analogy of Meatballs to Manna and from there to Jesus as the Bread of Life, John 6: 48-51: (Jesus is speaking)
    "I am the bread of life. Your fathers ate the manna in the wilderness, and are dead. This is the bread which comes down from heaven, that one may eat of it and not die. I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever: and the bread that I shall give is My flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world."

    I used this for a children's message at church, prior to a sermon on the passage above.

    Have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    oldie but a goodie

    I read this to my boys years ago and they loved it. It is still funny. It appeals to kids. I bought for another child to read as he gets older. Great book for kids and now I see it is a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book from the past...!!!!

    This was the best book that i could remember me reading from my child hood.....and i want to pass it on to my children and so on....i really enjoyed the movie to it's not completly the same but it was so good....!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I wish a pancake would fall on my school, mamma!

    My 4 year old son loves this book. I didn't think he'd be interested in it but since the movie was coming, I thought it would be a good tie in. As an adult, we lose touch with our creative minds for the most part. This book, to me, had no appeal - no real lesson or learning. However, it's easy to forget that being totally ridiculous is inspiring to a young mind. I read this book 2 and 3 times at each sitting and he laughs just as hard as the first time. Each time, he finds it even funnier, when he finds something new he hadn't seen before - "look there's a giant pickle in that guys house..." Who can argue with the value of laughter?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Great Book for Great Imaginations

    This book caught my eye, and I bought it in an instant because of the creativity of the story and illustrations. I wanted my daughter to have a book that sparks her imagination, and this was it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Imagination Rains Down

    Imagine that instead of rain or snow, food fell from the sky. Be careful what you ask for, you just may get it. A funny story in a weird sort of way, as the town thrives, then survives the imaginary precipitation. Thought-provoking and amusing at the same time. A wonderful classic for your enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Wonderful Imagination

    What a wonderful story. This turned out to be my grandson's favorite book. Can't wait to see more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    The perfect book!

    My mother used to read this to us as children and it was one of our favorite books. Now that I have children of my own I read it to them and they look in wonder at the pages just like I used to do. I love this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Loved it!

    My daughter & I saw the preview of the movie and just had to read the book first.
    She's 8 and she loves it!!
    It's a fun, light read that is amusing and full of imagination - I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book when I was little.

    This was one of my favorite books as a kid. It is very fun and eciting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    an old friend

    I remember falling in love with this in third grade and years later my friend and I were talking about it. We had completely forgotten the title, so there was no hope for finding it. But by chance, when I was surfing the web, I saw the strangely familiar title. So I went out and bought the book. Sigh of relief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ahh memories!!

    I used to read this book when i was 5 years old. I'm 24 now and still occasionally pick it up and read it. I would reccomend this book to all children. Even adults might enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs was a hit with our kids

    This book was one of three that our kids requested us to read over and over again, and then became one that they read to each other. Its imaginativeness, visceral qualities and comic-book like character were extremely appealing to them. It was particularly of interest to our daughter and twin sons during the transition from us reading to them to when where they read to each other. Its absurdity is a source of delight and generated interesting conversations around the dinner table. The two other books that held similar sway were "Caps for Sale" and "Milk and Cookies" (a Frank Asch bear story). These three books stood out above all the other books they owned, and they are the books they still remember reading to this day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    An old favorite

    I purchased this book for my student teacher. Every elementary teacher should have this book available in his/her collection.
    Students, young and old, will enjoy this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    A favorite

    I grew of with this & it was my favorite of all time. I have a baby due next month & I am already buying this for him. A must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Imaginative

    Chewandswallow. What a great town whose weather is all made up of food. My daughter loves this book and so do I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    One of the most amusing, imaginative, and intricately illustrated children's books I've ever read, 'Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs' is still as captivating and delightful as ever, even though I'm now in my late 20s. Re-reading 'Cloudy' is like watching Looney Tunes again when you're an adult, because you get all the puns (a moving van run by the 'Bowel Movers') and sight gags (one panel contains a visual reference to Normal Rockwell's painting of the rained-out baseball game) that went over your head when you were young. Definitely one for kids and parents to read together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7