BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Clown Girl

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

excellent

I honestly dont know how one could not fall in love with Nita, Rex and Mr. Cinnamon Buns. A must for an fan of Palahniuk.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh

I thought this book was well written, however, while I appreciated the writing I felt that it does not relate to men well. I think it is a book written by a woman for women. I would suggest men read something else but ladies will enjoy it immensely.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A bit depressing.

    I found the synopsis on the bookflap to be somewhat misleading, as the author barely touched upon plot points that the synopsis made out to be major events in the book. I often felt like I was intruding on the main character during the more awkward moments in the book. While this signifies good writing, I did not find it amusing or entertaining. The story would have the potential to be more enjoyable if it were revisited and some of the characters were developed more fully.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Meh

    I thought this book was well written, however, while I appreciated the writing I felt that it does not relate to men well. I think it is a book written by a woman for women. I would suggest men read something else but ladies will enjoy it immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    I admit, I was lured in by Chuck Palahniuk writing 'Clown Girl''s introduction. However, Drake's 'Clown Girl' stands on its own. Tedious in some areas, delightfully witty in most, 'Clown Girl' is worth it, with or without Chuck's ordainment. I guessed the ending within the first few chapters, but I still experienced that cathartic release in the final chapter. Read & enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    excellent

    I honestly dont know how one could not fall in love with Nita, Rex and Mr. Cinnamon Buns. A must for an fan of Palahniuk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Deeper than a Red Rubber Nose

    Reader beware: this novel is no corporate hooker gig, this is the real deal. Every single detail- from making a ballon jesus, to a rubber chicken baby, to high-powered moves on the billiard table- will seem as real as if you were there yourself. The writing is outstanding, the story is absorbing, and the characters are multi-layered. Drake has given us a novel worthy of a standing ovation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Funny and clever

    When i bought this book i was unable to put it down. You really start to feel for poor Nita and her struggles. Beautifully written. It was funny and quirky and i was very pleased with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating. . .

    I thought this book was very entertaining. It is highly creative and well written. Monica Drake definitely has a real talent, Clown Girl is evidence of her abilities. I am looking forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    I Hated It

    In my opinion, this was a stupid book. Seriously, a very DUMB book. I had to make myself finish it, hoping that the ending would be great. It wasn't. Don't waste your money on this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Clown Girl Worst Ever

    Worst book ever. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. Don't even think about wasting your money. Baloneytown was the best name she could come up with? This book has a plot? Okay, where is it. Save the money and just read your grocery list. It's a better read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2