Customer Reviews for

Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2073 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1308)

4 Star

(523)

3 Star

(182)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I really enjoyed this book even although the first one was my favourite one in the Southern Vampire series. The story will keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Light and fluffy entertainment, no substance.

Sookie Stackhouse is in a pickle again, but this time her vampire boyfriend Bill can't save her. because she's the one that has to save him.

When Bill is kidnapped only Sookie can listen for clues to his whereabouts. But what she learns about where Bill was when he w...
Sookie Stackhouse is in a pickle again, but this time her vampire boyfriend Bill can't save her. because she's the one that has to save him.

When Bill is kidnapped only Sookie can listen for clues to his whereabouts. But what she learns about where Bill was when he was kidnapped, and why he stayed away, may be too much for her to handle. Torn between a deep sense of betrayal and a deeper bond of loyalty, Sookie must decide who to help, and how far she's willing to go.

This is the third book in the Southern Vampire Mysteries series and to be honest, I sometimes wonder why I waste my brain-power. Once again the writing is nothing special, bordering on amateurish. Harris has written Sookie as a frequenly annoying and grating narrator. I don't care to know what exact color, pattern, and fabric your pajamas are every single time you put on a pair. Likewise, I don't give a crap about your word-a-day calendar unless that calendar is going to cut someone's head off at the end of the book (it doesn't).

So many times throughout this book I wanted to yell at Sookie. I wanted to say, "Sookie, Bill bit the bejeesus out of your neck. Just because your body feels good nestled against his is no reason to cuddle!" I wanted to tell her that Eric just wants to get into her pants, so though it's nice that he seems all warm and fuzzy toward her now, it's not okay for him to do gross things while she drinks his blood. And Alcide!? Alcide is a hot werewolf, for those who haven't read the book. And in order to listen to the clues for Bill, Sookie has to pretend to be Alcide's girlfriend, and of course things get complicated there. I don't even know what shape I could use to define Sookie's love life, but it's definitely one with many sides. Three books into the series and I really wish she'd get her act together and start thinking with her brain instead of her lady-business.

I'm also really tired of Sookie always being the victim of abuse. This is not to say she doesn't defend herself, because she does, every time. But several times in the last three books she's been completely torn apart and beaten to shreds. Bloodied and bruised and broken to the point of death, I'm really tired of everyone trying to kill her.

In conclusion, I may read the fourth book in the series at some time in the future, but I think it's possible this is one of the rare examples where the screen version is better than the book in my estimation. The acting on TrueBlood is more genuine to me than Sookie's narration in the novel. This is the kind of series I would download on an eReader if I had one, because though it's entertaining, it's not anything that's going to enrich my physical book collection.

posted by TheCrowdedLeaf on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2091 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 105
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love Love Love

    I am addicted to the Sookie Stackhouse series! Way better than the TV show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Love the series

    If your looking for a book that is an easy read but still entertaining this series would be a great choice. I started reading the books after I became addicted to trueblood on HBO. The books have some similarities to the show but some characters and events that take place are completely different than the TV series, which in the end makes the books worth reading because you don't know what's going to happen. If you like Stephanie Plum novels you would probably like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Love it but........

    Although bill is distant no matter how sweet eric gets i dont think besdes the sex that eric will be able love her as passionitly and emotionaly as bill can eric is long gone in age you cant tech a dog new tricks but will see where her hart takes her the game is far from over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Good Fun!

    Quick, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Sweet Side of Eric Stars to Appear! Review brought to you b

    The Sweet Side of Eric Stars to Appear!

    Review brought to you by OBS staff member Heidi

    Club Dead is the third installment of Charlaine Harris’s popular Sookie Stackhouse series that HBO’s True Blood is loosely based on.

    In this installment, Bill is being very distant as he is working on a secret project for the Queen of Louisiana. Sookie has decided to spend time away from him while he works which he happily agreed to (a little too happily in Sookie’s opinion) and he tells her that he will be traveling to Seattle.

    Then, several days later Pam and Eric inform her that Bill is missing. That he had been in Jackson, Mississippi (not Seattle) and has fallen back with a female vampire he used to be involved with, Lorena. He was heading back to Bon Temps to make financial arrangements for Sookie so he could return to Lorena, but he never showed up. Now Eric must either find Bill or be able to produce what he’s been working on or the queen may take his life.

    Sookie heads to Jackson with a werewolf associate of Eric’s, Alcide, to try to find out what happened to Bill. While hanging out at the supernatural club, Josephine’s, or better know to the weres as Club Dead, Sookie finds out that Bill has in fact been kidnapped. Eric looks everywhere he can in Jackson for Bill, but comes up empty leaving only one place he could be, the King of Mississippi’s compound. They devise a plan to try to get closer to the king and hopefully Bill, but plans never quite go the way you expect. Sookie ends up getting staked and is forced to take Eric’s blood in order for her to save Bill.

    This book is a re-read for me and I must be honest that the first time through (which was back-to-back with the other books of the series) I thought it was good, but not great. This time however, I liked it much better and thought it was pretty good. I found that I was more open-minded to Alcide (I’ve always been team Eric) as well so spacing the books out definitely has its advantages not to mention seeing sexy Joe Manganiello playing Alcide on True Blood never hurts!

    I’ve had many problems with things Sookie does in this series and I always think she’s waaaayyy to lenient on Bill so I was glad to see that she wasn’t rushing to get back with him after his unfaithfulness and the incident in the Lincoln’s trunk. Although I think, I would still have problems with him being in my house for any length of time after those indiscretions.

    I love that you start seeing the sweet side of Eric in this book. He’s so protective over Sookie with the blood offense at Josephine’s and with the robbers at the gas station and,“That’s my future lover, be more respectful” has always been one of my favorite lines of his. Not to mention his sweet gesture at the end of the book when he has her driveway fixed for her. You can’t deny the chemistry between him and Sookie in this book!! Although she has some decent sparks with Alcide as well…

    If you’re looking for a fun light read, then look no farther than the Sookie Stackhouse Series for your escape. Once you pick them up, there’s no turning back!

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Greyton

    Jackie? You the Jackie I knew? The Jackie that was also Stormsong and Dappleleaf?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Zero

    Walks in dru.nk im single lets do somethin insane he saif

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Brendan

    Its called jet turbine run.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Like a fine wine

    This is a book series that keeps getting better. I have read all but the last two and I am still very much in love with it. Many book series keep going even after their time is through. I am happy to say that this is not the case. It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    READ THIS

    ZU ET AW DIRRIAR!! (That means ur a bu tt in french.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    A dog

    Looks over at zane

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Ron

    NERD POWER LOL LMAO!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Vea

    Hy

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Ally to tyler

    Heyyyy lol ppppparty rock

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Lamont

    So bored

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012


    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Not the best but....

    Great read. Love charlaine harris,would definetly recommend to vamp/supernatural fans! Better than twilight anyday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Can't get enough

    This book is better than the first two! the sexual tension and the story line keeps you sucked in. I just finished and I cannot wait to start the fourth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    Not favorite but still good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Adore this whole series!

    I just can't get enough of this series. It's so cute, keeps me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2091 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 105