Customer Reviews for

Club Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2069 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1308)

4 Star

(520)

3 Star

(181)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I really enjoyed this book even although the first one was my favourite one in the Southern Vampire series. The story will keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Light and fluffy entertainment, no substance.

Sookie Stackhouse is in a pickle again, but this time her vampire boyfriend Bill can't save her. because she's the one that has to save him.

When Bill is kidnapped only Sookie can listen for clues to his whereabouts. But what she learns about where Bill was when he w...
Sookie Stackhouse is in a pickle again, but this time her vampire boyfriend Bill can't save her. because she's the one that has to save him.

When Bill is kidnapped only Sookie can listen for clues to his whereabouts. But what she learns about where Bill was when he was kidnapped, and why he stayed away, may be too much for her to handle. Torn between a deep sense of betrayal and a deeper bond of loyalty, Sookie must decide who to help, and how far she's willing to go.

This is the third book in the Southern Vampire Mysteries series and to be honest, I sometimes wonder why I waste my brain-power. Once again the writing is nothing special, bordering on amateurish. Harris has written Sookie as a frequenly annoying and grating narrator. I don't care to know what exact color, pattern, and fabric your pajamas are every single time you put on a pair. Likewise, I don't give a crap about your word-a-day calendar unless that calendar is going to cut someone's head off at the end of the book (it doesn't).

So many times throughout this book I wanted to yell at Sookie. I wanted to say, "Sookie, Bill bit the bejeesus out of your neck. Just because your body feels good nestled against his is no reason to cuddle!" I wanted to tell her that Eric just wants to get into her pants, so though it's nice that he seems all warm and fuzzy toward her now, it's not okay for him to do gross things while she drinks his blood. And Alcide!? Alcide is a hot werewolf, for those who haven't read the book. And in order to listen to the clues for Bill, Sookie has to pretend to be Alcide's girlfriend, and of course things get complicated there. I don't even know what shape I could use to define Sookie's love life, but it's definitely one with many sides. Three books into the series and I really wish she'd get her act together and start thinking with her brain instead of her lady-business.

I'm also really tired of Sookie always being the victim of abuse. This is not to say she doesn't defend herself, because she does, every time. But several times in the last three books she's been completely torn apart and beaten to shreds. Bloodied and bruised and broken to the point of death, I'm really tired of everyone trying to kill her.

In conclusion, I may read the fourth book in the series at some time in the future, but I think it's possible this is one of the rare examples where the screen version is better than the book in my estimation. The acting on TrueBlood is more genuine to me than Sookie's narration in the novel. This is the kind of series I would download on an eReader if I had one, because though it's entertaining, it's not anything that's going to enrich my physical book collection.

posted by TheCrowdedLeaf on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2087 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 105
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I really enjoyed this book even although the first one was my favourite one in the Southern Vampire series. The story will keeps you entertained for hours.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    Bill goes missing and Sookie goes to Jackson to find where he could be. She goes with Alcide, a werewolf who helps her since he owes Eric a favor. Will Sookie find Bill? Could it have anything to do with a secret project he's been working on? Another great read in the series. Seems the series gets even better with each book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

    I really enjoyed this book. Even though I have to still say the second one was my favorite in this series thus far I still highly recommend this book. I think the part that truly bugged me though was the fact that Sookie was not more surprised by Bills actions. I still loved this book and had some resistance in putting the book down. I totally recommend this for all who love the genre of Paranormal Romance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Light and fluffy entertainment, no substance.

    Sookie Stackhouse is in a pickle again, but this time her vampire boyfriend Bill can't save her. because she's the one that has to save him.

    When Bill is kidnapped only Sookie can listen for clues to his whereabouts. But what she learns about where Bill was when he was kidnapped, and why he stayed away, may be too much for her to handle. Torn between a deep sense of betrayal and a deeper bond of loyalty, Sookie must decide who to help, and how far she's willing to go.

    This is the third book in the Southern Vampire Mysteries series and to be honest, I sometimes wonder why I waste my brain-power. Once again the writing is nothing special, bordering on amateurish. Harris has written Sookie as a frequenly annoying and grating narrator. I don't care to know what exact color, pattern, and fabric your pajamas are every single time you put on a pair. Likewise, I don't give a crap about your word-a-day calendar unless that calendar is going to cut someone's head off at the end of the book (it doesn't).

    So many times throughout this book I wanted to yell at Sookie. I wanted to say, "Sookie, Bill bit the bejeesus out of your neck. Just because your body feels good nestled against his is no reason to cuddle!" I wanted to tell her that Eric just wants to get into her pants, so though it's nice that he seems all warm and fuzzy toward her now, it's not okay for him to do gross things while she drinks his blood. And Alcide!? Alcide is a hot werewolf, for those who haven't read the book. And in order to listen to the clues for Bill, Sookie has to pretend to be Alcide's girlfriend, and of course things get complicated there. I don't even know what shape I could use to define Sookie's love life, but it's definitely one with many sides. Three books into the series and I really wish she'd get her act together and start thinking with her brain instead of her lady-business.

    I'm also really tired of Sookie always being the victim of abuse. This is not to say she doesn't defend herself, because she does, every time. But several times in the last three books she's been completely torn apart and beaten to shreds. Bloodied and bruised and broken to the point of death, I'm really tired of everyone trying to kill her.

    In conclusion, I may read the fourth book in the series at some time in the future, but I think it's possible this is one of the rare examples where the screen version is better than the book in my estimation. The acting on TrueBlood is more genuine to me than Sookie's narration in the novel. This is the kind of series I would download on an eReader if I had one, because though it's entertaining, it's not anything that's going to enrich my physical book collection.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    A Sookie Stackhouse mystery - vampire - whatever ...

    These books are like popcorn and a movie. Great entertainment. Sex, vampires, shapechangers, and other nasties. What's not to like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Book

    Out of what I have read so far on the Southern Vampire Series, Club Dead has to be the best one. The has quickly grow into one of my favorite book series. Charlaine Harris's style of writing keep me wanting more of Sookie Stackhouse adventures in a world that anything can happen. I defiantly recommend this book to anyone whose looking for a very interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    I have read all of the Southern Vampire/Sookie Stackhouse series that have come out so far (my favorite is Dead to the World). I love them all, they have original plots and twists, always something new happening and new characters to meet! My only problem is not so much with the way that Charlaine Harris writes as much as her continuity issues. For example through most of the books she refers to Jason's boss as Catfish Hennessey then in one book she calls him Catfish Hunter through the entire book. Another example is that she refers to Maxine Fortenberry as Hoyt's grandmother then changes to call her his mother. Just somethings that you would think the writer would catch and if not her someone in the proofing or editing process. I realize it's not a big issue but I think it insults the readers intelligence, memory, and attention-span to not pay better attention to those details. That being said didn't keep me from reading the books, or thoroughly enjoying them, or raving about them to interested readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Best ond ye Best one yet

    Loved this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Absolutely......

    WONDERFUL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommended-it is an amazing series!

    This book series is amazing, beyond discription. I definitely recommend it as a must read! Specially for people who love fantasy/fiction, you will get completely lost and have you yearning for more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Beaten sensless

    Sanded faceless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    gt Great

    This is a great book/series if you are looking for a quick, enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Good series!

    This is my third fave book in the series. And not because it is #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I bought the whole series and am so sorry I wasted my money. Soo

    I bought the whole series and am so sorry I wasted my money. Sookie is completely annoying, the only entertaining point in this series so far is Eric. Although I do prefer Sookie from the book as opposed to Sookie from the show, she's even more annoying on the show!!! smh don't waste your money!!! I cannot read another book in this series and it's only book 3!!! I hate books where the heroine is so annoying, much prefer if these books were written in third person so we wouldn't have to be stuck in her head the entire time. Seriously, sometimes I think the author makes her seem like such a dumb girl and I can't stand it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great.

    I liked this installment alot! Maybe hbo should have stuck to the story line... great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Best books ever

    Love them all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another hit in the Sookie Stackhouse series! After watching a fe

    Another hit in the Sookie Stackhouse series! After watching a few seasons of True Blood on HBO, I had to pick up the book series. While they are a bit different
    from the series, they are highly entertaining! A+++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Enjoy this series

    I really enjoy the series. I love me some Eric.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    G.reat series!!!!!!

    I was hooked on the series from book #1!!!!! I loved all 12 of them and am now watching the True Blood series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love Love Love

    I am addicted to the Sookie Stackhouse series! Way better than the TV show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2087 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 105