Customer Reviews for

Club Shadowlands: Masters of the Shadowlands 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

The Romance Reviews Top Pick

There are those books that strike a chord with you. Books that you recommend to everyone you know. Books that you think about in quiet moments. These books change you in some small way. They shape you. They don't have to be the great American novel. They could be the tr...
There are those books that strike a chord with you. Books that you recommend to everyone you know. Books that you think about in quiet moments. These books change you in some small way. They shape you. They don't have to be the great American novel. They could be the trite teenage book read. But for you, they spoke and you listened. Having such a strong passion for reading, I have a number of those special books tucked away in my literary heart. Cherise Sinclair just happens to be one of the authors who holds a prominent position in that cache. As I read Club Shadowlands, the first book in the Masters of the Shadowlands series, I could feel a part of me change.

I'll be the first to admit I am a pretty vanilla girl. My box is small and well defined and I live quite well in it. I knew what BDSM was. Bondage, right? Pain, right? Whips and leather. All stuff way outside of my box. Not much to relate to there. Nothing I would find interesting. That is, until I fell victim to the herd mentality and picked up Club Shadowlands to see what all my fellow Good Reads groupies were yammering about. In that book, I found a new understanding--a new way of looking at things. I began to understand what I couldn't understand before. Why in the world would anyone feel compelled to this lifestyle? Through Sinclair's masterful storytelling voice, comprehension took hold.

Jessica Russell was an accountant with a pretty ordinary and unfulfilling life until a storm left her stranded after another bad date. In the pouring rain, Jessica sought shelter at the closest residence only to discover that it was a private BDSM club. Curious, Jessica accepted the invitation to dry off and have a look around until her car could be towed. Master Z, the club owner, watched over his little visitor from afar only to observe her body's subtle cues that the lifestyle intrigued her. Aroused her. The more he watched, the more he came to know that inside that conservative shell lay a submissive waiting to be topped. The more he watched and learned, the more compelled he became to take her on a journey of self discovery.

Yes, Club Shadowlands is an erotic romance that takes place in a private BDSM club. The story is chock full of scenes that are sure to make the most unflappable blush. That being said, this isn't just a romance. It isn't just a wild, kinky, sex-filled story. It is a mental journey. It is heady and intelligent. It is an uncomplicated view into the psychology of BDSM and more specifically the nature of Dominant and submissive relationships. It is a peek into their minds and an introduction to the lifestyle. Sinclair shared how it isn't an easy flippant lifestyle to pursue, and that an amazing connection and opportunity to grow can arise from the right Dom/sub relationship. Club Shadowlands is most definitely a psychological journey. Since reading this series I have gone on to read many BDSM stories, but Sinclair stands out as an author with the talent and desire to help readers understand the lifestyle by climbing inside the mind of her characters.

I highly recommend Sinclair's book to anyone willing to be surprised by the compassion and caring that goes into making a successful Dom/sub relationship work or for anyone just looking to have their toes curl and their blood race. When friends are just venturing into the erotica genre, this is typically the first book I recommend. All the unfamiliar kink comes with explanation and understanding. Respect aris

posted by _Michelle_ on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointingly mild through most of the book.

I'm surprised by some of the other reviews suggesting this isn't for the faint of heart. Anyone familiar with this genre knows this book pulls it's punches. It's a romance novel with an s/m backdrop. Condoms? Really? Not in this kind of a novel. I've read worse, b...
I'm surprised by some of the other reviews suggesting this isn't for the faint of heart. Anyone familiar with this genre knows this book pulls it's punches. It's a romance novel with an s/m backdrop. Condoms? Really? Not in this kind of a novel. I've read worse, but this book is extremely timid with it's subject matter (with the exception of the doctors exam demonstration late in the book.) If you're a fan of Fabio-on-the-cover romance novels looking for something new, then it's proabably worth the read. The premise is great, it's the exectution that falls short. If you're familiar with books in bdsm erotica, then skip it.

posted by Sam014 on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 381 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    The Romance Reviews Top Pick

    There are those books that strike a chord with you. Books that you recommend to everyone you know. Books that you think about in quiet moments. These books change you in some small way. They shape you. They don't have to be the great American novel. They could be the trite teenage book read. But for you, they spoke and you listened. Having such a strong passion for reading, I have a number of those special books tucked away in my literary heart. Cherise Sinclair just happens to be one of the authors who holds a prominent position in that cache. As I read Club Shadowlands, the first book in the Masters of the Shadowlands series, I could feel a part of me change.

    I'll be the first to admit I am a pretty vanilla girl. My box is small and well defined and I live quite well in it. I knew what BDSM was. Bondage, right? Pain, right? Whips and leather. All stuff way outside of my box. Not much to relate to there. Nothing I would find interesting. That is, until I fell victim to the herd mentality and picked up Club Shadowlands to see what all my fellow Good Reads groupies were yammering about. In that book, I found a new understanding--a new way of looking at things. I began to understand what I couldn't understand before. Why in the world would anyone feel compelled to this lifestyle? Through Sinclair's masterful storytelling voice, comprehension took hold.

    Jessica Russell was an accountant with a pretty ordinary and unfulfilling life until a storm left her stranded after another bad date. In the pouring rain, Jessica sought shelter at the closest residence only to discover that it was a private BDSM club. Curious, Jessica accepted the invitation to dry off and have a look around until her car could be towed. Master Z, the club owner, watched over his little visitor from afar only to observe her body's subtle cues that the lifestyle intrigued her. Aroused her. The more he watched, the more he came to know that inside that conservative shell lay a submissive waiting to be topped. The more he watched and learned, the more compelled he became to take her on a journey of self discovery.

    Yes, Club Shadowlands is an erotic romance that takes place in a private BDSM club. The story is chock full of scenes that are sure to make the most unflappable blush. That being said, this isn't just a romance. It isn't just a wild, kinky, sex-filled story. It is a mental journey. It is heady and intelligent. It is an uncomplicated view into the psychology of BDSM and more specifically the nature of Dominant and submissive relationships. It is a peek into their minds and an introduction to the lifestyle. Sinclair shared how it isn't an easy flippant lifestyle to pursue, and that an amazing connection and opportunity to grow can arise from the right Dom/sub relationship. Club Shadowlands is most definitely a psychological journey. Since reading this series I have gone on to read many BDSM stories, but Sinclair stands out as an author with the talent and desire to help readers understand the lifestyle by climbing inside the mind of her characters.

    I highly recommend Sinclair's book to anyone willing to be surprised by the compassion and caring that goes into making a successful Dom/sub relationship work or for anyone just looking to have their toes curl and their blood race. When friends are just venturing into the erotica genre, this is typically the first book I recommend. All the unfamiliar kink comes with explanation and understanding. Respect aris

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Lived it.

    It was s great follow-up from the loss I felt after reading Fifty Shades.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Um...yes please

    Amazing book! I started reading this late Friday night and as of Sunday evening I'm about to start book 4. This series is a real pleasure to read and not over the top scary BDSM just a peak inside a lot of women's fantasies. If you like 50 shades you will love this series! Definitely recommend it! Enjoy reading ;)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Master Z & Jessica

    Every once in a while a book comes along that grabs at your the literary brain cells. That you read and immediately want to read again, that while you're reading it, you can't put it down, you don't want it to end, you want to shout to everyone you know that they MUST, MUST read this book! You think about where the story is going to go next when you aren't sitting down holding it in your hands... well this is one of those books for me... one of those authors actually. Everything I've read by Cherise Sinclair (I recently finished the Mountain Masters series), and I do mean EVERYTHING has done this to me! I put one book down, only to start the next one! I've rounded a new literary corner and the sex is HOT!

    Okay, I'm vanilla girl living in a vanilla world, plain and simple. I enjoyed Paranormal Romance.. then I moved a little further outside of my vanilla world and stepped into Paranormal Erotica... I thought I'd never get enough of that... then I found a group of ladies on Goodreads that read *Erotica*... *GASP* I picked up some pretty good recomendations from them, then I saw where they were talking about Cherise Sinclair and her Mountain Masters and Masters of Shadowland and I felt wicked just reading the blurbs! I couldn't understand why someone would want to read about such things as BDSM. There couldn't be any love or real romance, no HEA, just people torturing each other, or controling each other... right? RIGHT?

    Wrong...

    Enter Jessica, whose car breaks down in a storm, she walks and comes upon an estate where she askes to use the phone... one situation leads to another and she finds warmth, dry clothes... and Master Z. What she's stumbled into is a private BDSM club. Couriosity... ahh yes, couriosity is what keeps Jessica hanging around "just until she can get her car towed out of the ditch". Master Z takes good care of Jessica, and finds she is a true "Submissive" and now isn't it just lucky that he is the purrrrfect Dom? There are a lot of "scenes", and Jessica is scared, terrified... and well, turned on by it all... you'll have to read the rest to she how it goes. No spoilers here!

    But I must tell you, this isn't for the faint of heart. It's raw and powerful. It will make you blush, laugh out loud, cringe, but I'll bet you won't be able to put it down!

    Go on, I dare you.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    NICE INTRODUCTION TO THE SHADOWLANDS SERIES! I CANT WAIT TO READ THE OTHERS! <3

    I give this book four stars! I think it was a nice intruduction to the series introducing you the the world and the rules but it ended abruptly... only 130 pages on my nook. Also i dont understand why they have books 1,2,4, and then make me sir witch follows (lean on me, the 4th book) Where is book 3 "breaking free"? Anyways i hope they have it soon because im starting the second book as soon as im dont typing this lol. I wouldnt suggest this too anyone thats easily offended, that doesnt like erotica, or bondage! (BOOK 1 CLUB SHADOWLANDS, BOOK 2 DARK CITADEL, BOOK 3 BREAKING FREE, BOOK 4 LEAN ON ME, BOOK 5 MAKE ME SIR)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Disappointingly mild through most of the book.

    I'm surprised by some of the other reviews suggesting this isn't for the faint of heart. Anyone familiar with this genre knows this book pulls it's punches. It's a romance novel with an s/m backdrop. Condoms? Really? Not in this kind of a novel. I've read worse, but this book is extremely timid with it's subject matter (with the exception of the doctors exam demonstration late in the book.) If you're a fan of Fabio-on-the-cover romance novels looking for something new, then it's proabably worth the read. The premise is great, it's the exectution that falls short. If you're familiar with books in bdsm erotica, then skip it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Best understanding book about sub/dom relationships

    I Loved this book....i so wish there was more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Good book

    This book explored BDSM from a good angle. I liked the people in the story. I liked the loved story. I liked how the relationship was from beginning to end. However I did not like how the book ended. I feel that it could have ended differently. I would recommend the book but if a reader is not into BDSM then the book is not for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Good beginning for the entire series

    I have read this entire series now. The first two books are similar and shorter, but the books get better and longer. Read them in order. You will come to really enjoy all of the Masters (and subs!) and will get to revisit them as the books proceed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Better than 50 Shades of grey.

    This is the first book in the series. I would suggest reading them in order so you understand who is who.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    If you like Erotic Love Stories, this is a great series

    This book deals with BSMD. I liked the whole series. I couldn't stop reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Shadowlands...

    I can only say that i wish there was one around here!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great book

    Cherise Sinclair is my new favorite and I recommend all of her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Love this series

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Hmmmm

    Good but short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Loved this book

    Omg if this doesn't get you turned on and your emotions going then you didn't read every word. I'm lost in this book and I wish I could find a master z of my very own.

    TOTAL MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Don't bother...it was not what I thought it would be.

    I did not review or give any stars to this book. It is cheesy and not worth the time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Master Z can come and make a house call.

    Sexy and smart strong women. Good story and lots more to come with this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Cherise Sinclair introduces us to a different lifestyle with style. Her world and characters draw you in with "love". You laugh, cry and gasp with a smile. I run to my closest eretailer when I know a new book is available. I encourage you to do so as well. Happy reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    I've read this whole series. Love it. Love the characters and

    I've read this whole series. Love it. Love the characters and the unfolding plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 381 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20