Customer Reviews for

Clues to Christie: An Introductory Guide to Miss Marple, Hercule Poirot, Tommy & Tuppence and All of Agatha Christie's Mysteries

Average Rating 3
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Misleading

It wasn't exactly as portrayed in the synopsis. This book is a brief bio of the highlights of Ms Christie's life and career and includes 3 excerpts from her series and stand alone books. Not bad, but not what it said it was.

posted by Kirconnell on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

BLEH

Three short stories. Minimal biographical information. Buy a collection of her shortstories or her book "An Autobiography"

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Misleading

    It wasn't exactly as portrayed in the synopsis. This book is a brief bio of the highlights of Ms Christie's life and career and includes 3 excerpts from her series and stand alone books. Not bad, but not what it said it was.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    BLEH



    Three short stories. Minimal biographical information. Buy a collection of her shortstories or her book "An Autobiography"

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Not worth it

    I would not have purchased this if I had been able to recieve a solid sample of it. Much of the book contains lists that I could have pulled up on the internet. This is the first nook purchase I've made that I was really disappointed with :(

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Do Not Waste your money most of short book is listing Titles of Agatha Christie's stories!

    RIP OFF

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Nothing new here

    Brief history of her life, but does not live up to the promise of the title.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Agatha is always good....

    but this seems much shorter than the title would have you believe. I can't say I'm disappointed, just a little surprised. Still, a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Good for information, but not my kind of book.

    I had watched a documentary of Agatha Christie a few years ago and found the book to come short of the whole story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    An excellent starting point for reading Christie

    This is a short introduction (77 pages) to all of the First Lady of Mystery's works. It also includes three lesser known stories of three of her best known characters. It was a very interesting read that filled in some details that I never knew about Christie. She wrote more widely than I'd ever realized. Christie fans should read this. Mystery fans should read this as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    good-but expected more

    expected more insite to her stories,but still interesting

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    It was OK for real fans.

    This book was fun and silly, just like Agatha's stuff. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Bbecky

    Very entertaining and informative. A quick and fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    It was okay

    I expected more about Agatha Christie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    not worth the cost. i bought it, skimmed through it. and never l

    not worth the cost. i bought it, skimmed through it. and never looked at it again. it only has three of her short stories, and a minimal amount of information. certainly not a good start off for new Christie readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Informational

    Interesting book for learning more about Agatha Christie, her career, and her inspiration. Includes introductory stories for her primary detective characters---"The Affair at the Victory Ball" for Poirot, "Greenshaw's Folly" for Miss Marple, and "A Fairy in the Flat" for Tommy and Tuppence. The section on Christie's work in a dispensary and subsequent education in poisons was quite interesting, and the "Agatha Christie A to Z" was charming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Unread Agatha

    For those who don't know much about Ag. Chr., this is a good introduction. Was glad to learn about here, but also glad it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    recommend

    nice addition to Christie library

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Recommend this book to all Agatha Christie fans.

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Very interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2