Customer Reviews for

Clutter's Last Stand: It's Time to De-Junk Your Life!

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Don Aslett, a cleaning expert who built a housekeeping service e

    Don Aslett, a cleaning expert who built a housekeeping service empire, doesn't soften the blow about decluttering. He openly mocks consumerism, doesn't look at neurological or psychological foundations for cluttering behaviors, and puts the responsibility for cluttering squarely on the clutterer's shoulders, no excuse-making allowed. So he is going to make some people ANGRY. He is going to hurt other people's feelings. Many people will NOT find him funny (I did, but I have a broad-ranging sense of humor. I enjoy everything from desert-dry British wit to 13 clowns in a tiny car).

    That may be exactly why everyone should read Clutter's Last Stand. Mr. Anslett does require honesty from his readers. Honesty is an extremely valuable tool for someone who is decluttering. Those who enjoy his humor will have that benefit; those who get angry will have that incentive; those who get hurt will have the starting-point of interpreting why, and can look at how to let go of that hurt to move ahead. And everyone will get some practical advice on the how-to's of releasing items from their possession.
    Lauren Williams, Casual Uncluttering LLC, Woodinville, WA, USA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Must Read For Clutter-Bug

    This book was given to me as a gift by a fellow clutter-bug. It is one of the best books I've read. I de-cluttered from the beginning to the end of this book. I was so inspired, that I gifted the very book given to me to someone else. In the same sense, I miss my book, so here I am to get another one for MYSELF to KEEP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Great Book!

    This book so inspired me that after reading it I threw all of my long accumulated junk in the garbage so that the only thing I had left was this book. Then, determined not to any longer be burdened with the curse of materialism, I tossed it away too. This book really worked!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Good De-Junking Read

    I'm a student and this book was pretty enlightening. It gave several good insights on how to tell what the junk is. Overall, im glad i read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Cluttered...

    My way or the highway... I thought the author would give some insight into the psychology of clutter and the clutterer. Instead, he seems to berate everyone and everything that isn't to his liking or taste. He seems to be rather resentful and judgemental. There are many references to big city folk (I guess we're evil and shallow), pretentions (he seems to enjoy being, ostensibly, the anti-pretentious - like the people who bought VW Beetles in the 60s and 70s), etc..I find it strange that someone who repeatedly puts down others for hinging their identities on their belongings has to have so many bronze toilets and brushes and such to identify himself. He's pretty hypocritical. If he's so perfect, why is his briefcase a mess? Why does he have toilet brush pins on the ready to give to and clutter others' lives when he admonishes us about giving 'clutter' to others? He decries the evils of excess such as having a second home, telling us we shouldn't even think about it. In college, he bought a 60 acre farm and, then, at a later date, bought an additional property. He lets us know that we could be happy in just one home. Yeah, if you have the 60 acres full of streams and woods and such that he owned. If you live in a 200 square foot apartment, as I do, you might want a little place in the country to get away to. I had to laugh at his tirade about designer clothes and how polyester is so much better and more economical and useful than cotton. I, personally, prefer natural fabrics. They feel better and their production is less harmful to the environment. I buy, almost exclusively, designer clothes- not for snob appeal, for longevity. I have 30 year old Calvin Klein coats that look as good as new. They've been wadded up and stuffed under my seat at Yankee Stadium, slept on and under on planes, pushed and pulled on subways and they still look good. They're classically tailored and never go in or out of style. I dry-clean them twice a year. That sure beats buying a new junky coat every year or two. Linen looks fine wrinkled, that's the nature of the fabric. Again, he castigates us for caring about what others think about us, yet, he's worried that someone might think less of him if he doesn't iron his clothes. Also, I really can't abide someone preaching morality at me when he murders animals for sport. He makes too many blanket statements about people, things and their relationships. Some of us actually do read our books many times. To me, it's no different than listening to a piece of music over and over, or viewing a piece of art over and over. Because he's a 'writer' (come on, he writes about toilets), he seems to think that there's nothing wrong with accumulating 'pithy' sayings or the like and consolidating them into a complex filing system. Well, I find that egocentric and odd, but, to each his own. Just don't chastise me for collecting, and wearing and using, more than one pair of shoes. Much of his advice is obsolete or just plain wrong. For example, he exhorts us to store our towels in the bathroom, not in the linen closet. Well, if we did that, they'd become damp and mildewed. There's a reason for a linen closet. He tells us to put our medications in the medicine cabinet. Well, ask any expert or layman. Medication deteriorates from the heat and humidity in the bathroom. They should always be stored in cool, dry places. He tells us how to eat. We should drink milk- according to him, it's healthful. We should avoid alcohol- according to him it's poison. Wrong on both counts. I swear, I think he just pulls some of this nonsense out of his a$$. He pontificates on anything and everything, and, with little insight and much prejudice and way too many words and illustrations junking up the pages. Where was the editor?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Wonderful!!!!

    As a mental health therapist I have found this book VERY helpful for myself and my clients who are 'stuck' in various phases of their lives. It is amazing what energy you can get from freeing yourself from all your 'Junk'. This author has an answer for every excuse you can come up with. HIGHLY recommended!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Love this book!!

    At the heart of every disorganized home is a dedicated packrat (or several) and too much stuff! If this could be you, you need this book. It is simply the best and most motivational book on decluttering and streamlining your life that I have ever read (and I've read quite a few). I first read it several years ago, and used it as a guideline for decluttering. But I often pull it out and reread a chapter or two for inspiration in keeping my home and life clutter-free. Don Aslett's books are always easy to understand and fun to read. Another favorite book of mine is Aslett's "There Life After Housework?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    Martha Stewart Beware!

    After reading this book and analyzing the cost of clutter in your life, you will never want to fill your life with meaningless junk and silly craft projects. Instead, you will look at dejunking your life and reclaiming time and energy you never knew you had. I read this book at least once a year and get inspired to de-junk my life. Each time, it gets a little easier and I find I have less junk and more freedom. His philosophy makes such sense. His jokes and examples hit home. I highly recommend it. A forerunner of the simplfy your life movement,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 1999

    Inspires the worst packratt!

    I throughly enjoyed this book and often reread it to inspire myself declutter. Don Aslett has a wonderful way of combining humor and cleaning to make it a very appealable book. This book is a must for anyone who feels overcome with stuff! He addresses the physical and emotional aspects (drains) that things can have on a person and gives an action plan to change ones life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1