Customer Reviews for

Coach: Lessons on the Game of Life

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    great for young athletes

    This powerful little book can be read in an hour. It totally
    keeps a focus and takes the reader along.

    As an avid sports participant during the years the author
    refers to 14-18 I can appreciate his advice.

    I sent the book to my grandson and suggest every grandmother do
    the same - the insight will be obvious to any youngster involved
    in early sports competition.

    PattyPD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Sports

    This book rocks and an amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book if you have children in sports

    This quick read will put you in the proper perspective for your child's sports endeavors. As a recovering "helicopter parent" this book reminded me to back-off and let the system work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Attention, not only Parents, but Players

    It's a genuine account and very well written. Much like A Coach's Salvation but more serious in its approach. Athletes, too, must start trying to understand their coaches better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Everyone has had a coach like this

    If you have experienced life in the sports world while growing up at all you have probably encountered a coach just like Coach Fitz. Every single parent with children in sports should read this. Especially the over zealous parents causing more harm then good. You can only protect your children from the world so much. This book proves that real men and women rise up into great human beings with the right direction in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Useful Book for Parents

    Anyone striving to teach children the most important of life's lessons would do well to read and share the wisdom found in this book. Despite its title, the book is well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    THE COURAGE BEHIND WINNING

    THERE IS ALOT TO BE SAID ABOUT THIS LITTLE BOOK,HOWEVER THE LIFE LESSONS THAT I LEARNED FROM THIS LITTLE PUBLICATION OF COURAGE . ITS ALL ABOUT WINNING AND ITS WHAT YOU MAKE OF YOURSELF ON THE INSIDE. THIS LITTLE BOOK WILL HELP YOU STAND TALL AND LEARN SOME GREAT PRINCINPLES THAT WILL HELP YOU IN YOUR WORK PLACE IN OTHER WORDS ITS A GREAT PLAYBOOK FOR THE GAME OF LIFE. IF YOU HAVE A FAMILY MEMBER WHO IS CURRENTLY IN HIGHSCHOOL,COLLEGE OR A UNIVERSITY PLEASE GET THEM THE BOOK 'COACH' OR BUY IT FOR A FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBER CAUSE IT WILL CHANGE THERE LIFE FOREVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Tough Love

    This book is short and sweet. The subject of this book is a throw-back to the old style of coaching. I'm not talking about an abusive coach, but one who knew how to get a kid's attention. His teaching was not so much about winning and loosing ballgames, but winning at the game of life by facing adversity and overcoming those hardships that they were surely going to face and taking resposibilty for ones own actions. The subject, Coach 'Fitz' built men by instilling in them the qualities of responsibility and perseverence and doing your best. Not only the author but Peyton Manning was one of his pupils and Manning aplauds 'Fitz' and his style of coaching and he credits him with making him the man and player he is today. Coach 'Fitz' does not baby his players or bow down to today's whinning parents. He is loud and tough, but make no mistake, he has his player's best intrest at heart and prepares them not so much for the major leagues but for the preasures and difficulties of life. The author illustrates that kids may not have appreciated the coach and his meathods at the time they played for him, but he prepared them for manhood and most appreciate him now and the lessons that he taught. This a good book for fathers and mothers who have kids involved in competitive sports.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Reality check for players and parents

    Michael Lewis reveals the reality to what has become of today's kids who don't expect to have to work hard for their rewards. It was also a reminder to me as a parent that while trying to protect my children, I must also let them experience the harder aspects of life in order for them to grow up to handle the pressures of being an adult later on. I e-mailed all of my husband's competitive softball team parents and the parents of my son's travel baseball team to recommend this book. Quick read - 2 hours tops!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1